We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Off the beaten path but rewarding ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but rewarding ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are looking for the all-inclusive resort experience or a boutique hotel on the beach, Tulum has plenty of that. Posada Yum Kin is not that. Come here if you want a sensible, centrally located base of operations to explore the area, reasonably priced. The beach is a 10 to 15 minute drive, same with cenotes (caves with refreshing pools for swimming and snorkeling) and the main drag with plenty of restaurants about 5 minutes away driving. The other major street along the beach, with higher-end restaurants and spas, is 10 minutes away. Not much around Posada, in fact it is very much in the regular folk neighborhood. But inside it has a decent size courtyard pool, very helpful and friendly staff, a good buffet breakfast. We had 3 kids and the rooms were big enough to accommodate us comfortably. You will feel away from the action, because you are, but that is either good or bad, depending on what you seek. We found it nice to get away from all the tourists and come back to a comfortable, cozy hotel and hang out in the courtyard. Bottom line, if you don't plan to spend all day at the hotel this is fine, if the hotel experience is part of what you look for, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you RC A! We couldn't have said it better! We're glad you and your family had a great time at PYK and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    119
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
173
253
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the hotel. It's small, the service is impeccable, rooms are beautiful and clean, shower has great pressure/flow, breakfasts are yummy with great variety/choice, and the kitchen in the room is helpful.

This hotel is definitely a better pick for families (pool, kitchen etc), and for people who come with a car. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the town and the hotel charges $5 for renting bikes.

Some things I didn't like -
- CONSTRUCTION. All the beauty is lost when you're trying to relax/read/sunbathe with sounds of people building on the property.
- Lack of kitchen basics. The hotel doesn't provide any salt, spices, oil etc - which would help when cooking just 1 or 2 meals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first visit in 2010 was outstanding so we booked again this year. We arrived late in the afternoon ready to relax after a long day. Unfortunately, there was a mix up with our room and our beloved #8 was taken by other guests. We were put in room #9 but were dissapointed that our room may not be available for our stay. Ricardo was very apologetic and even brought us some of his dinner and a couple of Coronas to make amends. Fortunately, he worked it out so that we were able to get in to #8 on the 3rd night of our 5 night stay so we were happy with this solution. I have to say that Ricardo is one of the most helpful and accomodating people we encountered on our 10 night stay in Mexico, not to mention incredibly hardworking. We also met Dan's wife and co-owner, Balvina. Nice lady...we spent a lot of time visiting with her. She even made some special tea for me as I was recovering from a 24 hour intestinal disburbance. Very nice.
Although we didn't make use of the kitchen this time it is a great feature and well equipped. Breakfast was tasty and adequate. The new pool and breakfast area is beautiful and nicely landscaped. The only complaint we had was that the water was too cold so we never did swim but did spend some time just relaxing by the pool. They were also finishing up a new small room with no kitchen overlooking the pool as well as a 2 bedroom casita. The latter would be a great deal for families traveling together.
Last but not least, we loved the new kitten, Lucy. What an adorable, feisty girl. She quickly discovered that we are cat lovers and became our best friend!
Overall, a great second visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hola Trish,
It was great having you stay with us again. We're happy that Ricardo was able to straighten the room arrangements out for you and get you #8 again. Balvi says 'hi' and she is glad that you liked her tea. It is truly one of her specialties.
The pool temp can be a bit hit and miss this time of year. Hopefully, Mother Nature will help you out on your next visit to PYK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a gem of a hotel. Each room is a one-of....and we had a spacious well appointed Mexican tiled room next to the gorgeous clean and large swimming pool. We had a full kitchen, in case we felt like making meals at home with our pollos asados from town....
The manager was a wealth of useful information and staff all friendly and accomodating. My 88 year old mother thinks we should return ...but next time for a month!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverhome53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're so happy to hear that even your mother enjoyed your stay at Posada Yum Kin. Indeed we hope to see you back here for a month next time, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great hotel that is full of atmosphere and charm. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tulum and was easy to locate; parking is available on the road outside the hotel. The centre of Tulum is about 10-15 minutes walk away so a car is probably useful in this area especially when visiting the beaches or the ruins at Coba and Tulum. The room we had was comfortable as well having character with the wooden beams. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom a good size with hot water always available. The room was well appointed with a table and chairs, fridge, coffee maker, filtered water, a 2 ring cooker as well as a good range of plates, cutlery, pots and pans. There is a nice pool with a separate sun terrace with sun loungers, a great place to unwind after site seeing that is a good alternative to the beach. The staff are helpful and friendly providing useful information such as where to eat, as well as being able to satisfactorily answer any question asked. Breakfast was adequate. The hotel provides good value for money; overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! Yes, if you have a car, which we recommend, our location is nicely situated. We chose this location to avoid downtown noise and congestion. It’s close enough to town to walk, you have a birds-eye view of the nearby ‘local flavor’ and its easily accessible to the many activities nearby.
We hope you visit Yum Kin again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel was by far, the best value and greatest experience we had in Mexico. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. The beds were decently comfortable, they give you like 5gallons of water, the breakfast (included) was great, they let you use their bikes to ride to restaurants, tulum or the beach.

Plus the manager gave us great advice on how to travel, where to go and recommendations. They were extremely accommodating and great price! i would definitely stay there! The only bad thing was the location, it was slightly away from downtown. But well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thanks for your great comments. We are glad you had a great vacation and that we could be a part of it. We’re glad you found the bikes handy to get around. Yes, our location is on the edge of Tulum where our guests can experience the ‘real Tulum’ and its people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As with all the other hotels we stayed at during our time in Mexico we used Tripadvisor to help us choose where to stay in Tulum. We finally chose Posada Yum Kin because it was the best rated property which would take a booking for only 2 nights, which is all the time we had to spare. Consequently, we did not check the exact location of the hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel in the dark, it was a little difficult to find - there are sign posts on the road, but no sign by the building itself, which would have been useful.
Our welcome at the hotel was efficient and polite. Our room was spacious, airy and very clean, complete with a small kitchen. And each room has it's own terrace, with chairs and hammock, which overlooks the internal courtyard. Overall the atmosphere was calm and peaceful.
However, the hotel is on edge of Tulum town - at least a 10 minute walk away from the main street where main of the bars and restaurants are situated and about 3km from Tulum's beautiful beaches. For us, this was a definite disadvantage.
The buffet breakfast was served on a terrace by pool, which was very pleasant. However the quality and choice of the food available was the poorest of all the breakfasts we had in Mexico. Also the member of staff preparing the food did not seem to want to communicate with guests in any language.
Overall, Posada Yum KIn is a very pleasant hotel, but it is not the best choice for people who want to be closer to Tulum and it's beaches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mi Amor
Mi Amor
#4 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Pez
El Pez
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
3.2 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing