We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Yum Kin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
463
135
24
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathyogurtwater dispenserfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbeautiful poolbreakfast was deliciousevery morningdirt roadtree houseshort driverented a carmini fridgesmall hotelplaya del carmentulum ruins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 629 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As with all the other hotels we stayed at during our time in Mexico we used Tripadvisor to help us choose where to stay in Tulum. We finally chose Posada Yum Kin because it was the best rated property which would take a booking for only 2 nights, which is all the time we had to spare. Consequently, we did not check the exact location of the hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel in the dark, it was a little difficult to find - there are sign posts on the road, but no sign by the building itself, which would have been useful.
Our welcome at the hotel was efficient and polite. Our room was spacious, airy and very clean, complete with a small kitchen. And each room has it's own terrace, with chairs and hammock, which overlooks the internal courtyard. Overall the atmosphere was calm and peaceful.
However, the hotel is on edge of Tulum town - at least a 10 minute walk away from the main street where main of the bars and restaurants are situated and about 3km from Tulum's beautiful beaches. For us, this was a definite disadvantage.
The buffet breakfast was served on a terrace by pool, which was very pleasant. However the quality and choice of the food available was the poorest of all the breakfasts we had in Mexico. Also the member of staff preparing the food did not seem to want to communicate with guests in any language.
Overall, Posada Yum KIn is a very pleasant hotel, but it is not the best choice for people who want to be closer to Tulum and it's beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It´s a beautiful place woww, I really don´t have words to explain what I felt when I was there, It was a trip of relaxation and tranquility, excellent facilities, the incredible and very agreeable vegetation, undoubtedly a place 100% advisable!! excellent hotel service and location make it even better,

Room Tip: For my the entire hotel is advisable and sincerely an excellent option
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your enthusiastic response! We hope to have you back soon. PYK will be waiting for you…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had read other reviews of this hotel and was looking forwrd to staying here. After a few hours there I thought "This is why I spent all this money here?" The place is physically lovely and the rooms pretty to look at. But a hotel is more than the visual. The first room the hotelier gave me was next to a screaming parrot or two in a cage. Is this really necessary? Do we really need to be annoyed by screaming birds so the hotel can 'prove' we are in the jungle. So I changed rooms. This was a room in the front right next to a COW BELL that is used to signal someone is at the gate. Do the people working here not realize how irritating this noise is, and why don't they have a direct intercom system. The noise insulation is horrible and every sound you hear is experienced as if it is coming from your own room. Like barking dogs? You'll hear them as if they were your own. Even with a white noise machine and ear plugs, you heard everything. And as for sleep- good luck. The paper thin curtains- white, no less, are useless to block out the lights coming from the outside either day or night. My sleep mask was not very effective. One more thing- this property is non-smoking and yet that didn't stop rude Europeans from smoking on the property. And the management did nothing to stop them. I might add that this hotel is very far from the only town restaurants (and this is one unappealing town in and around the restaurants) so you will need a 20 minute walk to get some grub.
Enjoy if you must! I will pass next time and forgoe Tulum or this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe in the back and an upper floor will be quieter. Bring a few white noise machines and plenty of ear plugs and a sleep mask to block out the light.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We're disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in Tulum or at Posada Yum Kin. Frankly, this area of Mexico just isn't for everybody. As is evident from our many positive guest reviews, not everyone feels the way that you do, but we would like to thank you for your feedback. We take each comment seriously and strive to improve the hotel everyday.

We think of our hotel as offering a culture-based experience for travelers that like to experience 'real' Mexico while being safe, comfortable and even a little pampered. A culture-based vacation in Mexico means sun, people, bird & animal watching, lots of activity, and experiencing a bit of the day-to-day life. And yes, sometimes it's a bit noisy. We often wonder why the birds or the dogs are issues. If one stays in the downtown area the noise is much louder and consists of car and truck traffic, complete with speakers mounted on cars during political campaigns. But thank you! We will do what we can to make PYK a bit more quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There's just good to say about this hotel. Best price-value in a while and in whole Tulum! The owner has been super-friendly and even allowed us to stay another night on the discounted rate from booking that was initially only for one night. LOVED the breakfast, cozy pool, could use the (top) snorkeling gear for free, free bikes to ride around town. Big, beautiful rooms with kitchen and all you need. The courtyard with exotic birds is simply awesome! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your high praise, it is much appreciated! We hope to see you back here sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the price is great (call directly, do not book online as it is more expensive), the location is away from the noisy main street, but make sure you have a reservation confirmation as the reception tends to be a little too relaxed. The tile floors could use a good sweeping or moping, but given that you are in a beach town, it's not a big deal.

We stayed at the suite (1 king and 1 queen beds) with a kitchenette and it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews