We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent, and beautiful every time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent, and beautiful every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Posada Yum Kin last spring and decided to come back for our winter get-away. Now, we've decided that we'll come back to Posada Yum Kin every time we're in Mexico. It just feels like home. The staff is so warm and friendly. We don't really speak much spanish, but we have a great time 'chatting' with Arianna, Delia, Ascension and everyone. On this trip we learned that Delia speaks Mayan and she was happy to teach us a few words. 'El Telequech' means welcome.

The location, which last spring felt a bit out of the way, now seems perfectly positioned for our excursions each day. With a rented car, we just take two lefts and we're in position to go to Coba (another left) or to the beach -that's a right and then straight for a couple of miles. The hotel is far enough from the downtown area to be relatively quiet (the previous contributor mentioned a dog barking, but I think downtown you'd hear traffic all night -I'll take the random dog.) We like to walk in to town in the morning and along the way enjoy seeing how everyone lives -soaking up the culture.

I'm not sure how 'PYK' keeps everything so spotless, except for the fact that no one ever seems to stop doing things around the hotel. The gardens are beautiful and the exquisite pool is the best I've seen in this area. We were pleasantly surprised with bananas, papaya and mangoes for breakfast (complimentary each day). These just days before were hanging from the tree near the pool. Talk about a low eco-footprint!

The rooms! I forgot to mention the rooms! They are gorgeous! The thick adobe out walls enclose you in a literal cocoon of comfort. Each suite is an apartment to itself with a secluded little porch to laze your days away. The rooms are spacious, culturally perfect and immaculately maintained. The bathroom decor, designed with glass block and Mexican tiles, are a treat for any traveler. The kitchens are pretty much condo-like and have served our purposes well. We like to make a pot of coffee in the morning and prepare an occasional meal when we've run out of steam. It sure comes in handy!

Yes, we stayed at Posada Yum Kin last spring, last time with family and now again, just the two of us. Each time we felt well-cared for, comfortable and like we've 'found our people'. We plan to make this our place each time we come down. For us, it's a no-brainer -and we never get tired of Mexico!

-Vivian

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and each is unique. The top floor is airy with easy access to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    127
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
182
269
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here in the 2nd week of January. Stayed 2 nights.

Location
- located in the provincial areas
- difficult to get to as the streets are not clearly marked.
- isolated area.

Service
- Staff was very helpful and attentive. Carlo brought up our bags to our room, and helped us get settled in
- The room was clean
- Complementary breakfast was provided. Just bread, juice, coffee, and fruits.

Room
- We stayed in room # 9.
- Small room, felt like a studio apartment. The room had a kitchenette.
- Water was provided for us so we didnt' have to buy.
- Balcony view to the outside.
- Dogs barking outside in the first night made it difficult to sleep

The whole ambiance felt very homely. Did not feel commercialized at all.

For what we paid, it was decent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycelestial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I can't think of a bad thing to say about Posada Yum Kin, and I've tried to think of something. All I can come up with is that the tires on the rental bikes needed some serious pumping up.

I don't think that counts as much of a criticism. (Especially because the staff happily produced a pump in no time.)

The rooms are lovely, the staff is lovely, the pool is great, and the location is nicely positioned away from the bustle. It's a pleasant 30 minute bike ride to the beach, or a quick drive. The beds were comfy, the kitchenette was great, and we had a hammock in front of our room.

A note to LGBT travellers: The folks at Posada Yum Kin were absolutely gracious to my husband and me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The place is really beautiful. The entire staff is attentive, and especially the manager.
We enjoyed our stay at Posada Yum Kin. The only flaw is the location that is not easily accessible by walking.

Room Tip: swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryRatovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay in the wonderful Posada Yum Kin in Tulum. Spacious rooms, fully equipped with excellent taste in a green ambient, clean and safe. Breakfast could be improved, but next to a nice small pool. Helpful and very friendly owner family. Short 15 min walk to Tulum centre. Take minibus or taxi to Tulum ruinas and taxi to Tulum playa (try El Paraiso beach bar).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I honestly don't know where to begin. Walking through the door to Posada Yum Kin is like walking into a fairytale enchanted garden (I dreamed of places like this as a little girl). Dan and Balvi and the boys make you feel so at home in this magical place. The staff are warm, friendly and happy to meet your every need. Even with the language barrier we were never lost in translation. I spent a lot of time just taking in the place with complete awe as EVERY attention to detail was immaculate. My husband and I have spent a lot of time in the Eastern Caribbean and even lived in Dominica for a little while and none of it compared to this little part of the world. The ocean IS bluer here, the people ARE friendlier here and NO place compares to the beauty and charm of Posada Yum Kin...Thank you PYK for a wonderful, memorable family vacation...Shiona & Randy Quick
P.S. My daughter said this was her #1 most memorable family destination vacation :0)

Room Tip: Depending on the size of your family...each room caters to a different family setting but no room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShionaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have traveled and stayed in many places in Mexico over the past 30 years and Posada Yum Kin was by far the best overall experience I have ever had. It is spotlessly clean, staff is friendly and professional and the owners, Dan and Balvi, will do anything to make your stay the best!!!
They have an excellent breakfast and bicycles to ride off the calories. I rode everyday all over town and the beach....even grocery shopping. I'll be calling Dan next year for a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
3.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing