We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet with a Personal Touch”
Review of Cetli

Cetli
Ranked #49 of 389 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gourmet with a Personal Touch”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

High end Mexican food from a highly trained chef that is very talented and inspiring. She does everything, from cooking and taking your order to greeting you and designing the stylish hacienda look and feel.

In a packed dinner setting, she spent 30 minutes talking to my wife and I about the food, how she found the recipes, and more. We enjoyed her company as much as we enjoyed the food. Its a very homey feeling, as the kitchen was the real kitchen of the original hacienda and you sit in the patio, so you feel like you're in someone's house. Everything was also super detailed. The decorations, the appetizer, the drinks, and even the post dessert chocolates were individually wrapped in customized paper with ribbons.

Here's the summary:
The food was very good (but not outstanding), the drinks were delicious, the food presentation was impecable, the candle lit outdoor space was romantic and the service was as personal and warm as it could possibly be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdenTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    63
    31
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and went here on our last evening. We were really dissapointed, at first we got a table right by the mens toilett, and you could here everything from there, not very nice when you are having dinner. We ordered their special poblano dish and tortillas,the poblano was ok, but nothing special at all. The tortilla were covered in some almond sauce, it wasnt tasty at all and we didnt even eat it all even though we were very hungry. Dont understand the good reviews at all, the restaurant is expensive and the food is not very good, you can get much better in tulum and we will not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andersson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fantastic gourmet Mexican food - a truly memorable meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an amazing meal at Cetli, definitely the best meal of our trip in Mexico. The restaurant is owned by a woman who trained at the top culinary school in Mexico City. She has been running the restaurant for over 10 years and was a palpable presence throughout our meal (she personally greeted us, took our order, and brought out some of our food). The atmosphere is intimate, romantic, and beautiful.

The menu is quite small (soup/salads, 2 vegetarian entrees, and 5 non-vegetarian entrees; four of these were stuffed chicken breast with one of the chef's fine mole sauces or jellies). The advantage of this is that it means the food comes out quickly and each of the items is prepared with expertise. To start, the chef brought us an amazing appetizer plate with empanadas, bread, salsa, and cheese. Our citrus salad with chaya and fruit was superb. My fiance had a vegetarian stuffed pepper with a peanut mole sauce that was out of this world; I had tacos with chicken and an excellent almond mole sauce. For dessert, we had corn cake with chocolate kahlua sauce.

We ended up paying around $60 USD for a completely meal with salad, 2 entrees, drinks, and dessert. It's definitely true that these prices are high for Mexico, but a comparable meal in the U.S. would have cost twice that much.

All in all, this was a very memorable meal, one that we will remember fondly. If you want to dine here, you *absolutely* must make reservations over the phone - we saw the chef turn several people away who did not have reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't be fooled by its location off the main drag, because Cetli is the likely the best gourmet cuisine you can find in all of Tulum. My wife and I wanted to bathe in the sopa de lima it was so good. If you're up for a pricier dinner, I highly suggest this restaurant! Great setting, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Treasure in Tulum and surrounding area”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is something magical about Celti. You leave the busy and noisy streets and enter into a candlelit, peaceful, tranquil environment that is very welcoming. My husband and I were the only diners in the restaurant but it was only 5:30 pm. We had checked out the menu posted outside a couple of days before and knew we needed to try Celti. We were not disappointed. The margaritas were the best I have experienced up and down the coast. The complimentary tasting plate was filled with little treasures. The bread and queso fresco with beet jam were delicious as were the spicy sauces which accompanied the corncakes topped with frijoles and empanadas stuffed with cheese. We did not leave a crumb and were totally surprised by the quality of the food and the presentation. My husband ordered the house speciality which is a stuffed poblano - it is stuffed with beef, raisins and pineapple and covered with a queso fresco sauce, white nuts, pomegranate seeds and cilantro. The balance of flavors was amazing and the presentation absolutely beautiful. I ordered the chicken stuffed with chaya and served with a peanut mole sauce. It was also delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered another round of margaritas and decided we should try the "celti" dessert which is a corn cake served with chocolate kahlua sauce and fresh berries. It was not overly sweet but was rich and flavorful. Celti will be on our list of "not to miss" restaurants the next time we visit Tulum.

If you are close to Tulum and it is dinner time (except for Wednesday) don't pass up an opportunity to visit Celti. Claudia has been in the current location for six years and we are sorry that we did not visit sooner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cetli also viewed

 

Been to Cetli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing