We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cetli

Cetli
Ranked #47 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were in Tulum in the offseason and ended up being the only two people at the restaurant. The food, service, and personal attention of the owner (Claudia) were hallmarks of a memorable meal. It feels very much like you have been invited in to share a meal at Claudia's home. She brought out multiple mole options for us to sample and obviously is very committed to her craft. Far and away the best meal we had in Mexico.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgauchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    63
    31
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews, this place is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner last night at Cetli. The food was awesome, the atmosphere was enchanting, the hospitality was genuine, and the wine was out of this world. We had the chiles en nogada and a sampling of different moles after staring with soup and the spinach salad. Claudia recommended a tempranillo from Mexico that blew us away. The wine was very reasonable (~$40). I would have gladly paid $120 for the wine...it was that good. Ignore all the haters and try this place when you visit Tulum!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstuartbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This great little spot is a bit more expensive than other restaurants in town, but comparable to the beach eateries and MUCH, MUCH better! First off, the owner is fantastic. She greets you, takes your order, offers suggestions and presents the food whenever possible. It is apparant that she is proud of her craft and really helps create an experience rather then just a meal. The atmosphere is perfect. The complimentary hors d'ouevres platter was a nice suprise, large and delicious. Both of our meals were beautiful and tasted great. Wonderful sauces. My one minor complaint would be that mine was served just warm, and I would have preferred in hotter. Absolutely worth spending a few extra dollars!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just came back from spending 2.5 weeks in Mexico and our best meal was at Cetli. The food is traditional Mexican but with a really nice twist in the recipes. The ambiance is great as it is also the decoration. The chef/owner comes out to your table and talks you through the menu. You can tell she is really passionate about her food and this come across on each of the dishes that she serves. Is not dirt cheap, but it is great value for money as the food that you are eating is top notch. I had the chicken with Macho banana and it was just perfect!
We would have love to go back again but we tried on our last night in Tulum. If we ever come back we will go again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious food, amazing presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Cetli two times in October during our 10-day visit. Both times Cetli was just incredible. The best restaurant we ate at on our trip. The Mexican zucchini entree was our favorite dish. All of the salads were fantastic. Let her choose the wine! Tried to go for a third dinner (it was that good!), but it was unexpectedly closed probably b/c it was low season. On one of the nights we went, we were the only people in the restaurant the entire time, which was extremely romantic, but not sure it made business sense for her to be open. So maybe call in advance to make sure she's going to be open. You won't regret going to Cetli!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonInTulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cetli also viewed

 

Been to Cetli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing