We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two For One Margaritas Next to Tulum public beach”

Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar
Ranked #20 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two For One Margaritas Next to Tulum public beach”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a great break from the sun...we took our family of four to The Mezzanine as a break from the intense sun. They accept credit cards and the food / drinks are first class. This is not the cheapest food in Tulum, but the beautiful location and the music from the band gave them a pass on the price. This may be one of the most beautiful views from a restaurant patio deck that I have ever seen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dim G, Thai Food Consultant at Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.
We are delighted that you and your family enjoying the Mezzanine. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    291
    87
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The service is spotty at best, but the faux Thai food was simply horrible, greasy fried "Spring Rolls", Of the three "gilled" fish tacos, could not finish one, they had so much grease you could have fried some french fries and those were just the appetizers... It was down hill from there.... At least the mineral water and tequila were normal !!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dim G, Thai Food Consultant at Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and for your comments.
We normally get rave reviews for our spring rolls and fish tacos so we were very disappointed to hear that you were not completely happy.
As a result of your review we have made corrections to ensure that you will be pleased with these two dishes on your next visit to the Mezzanine.
Please let me know personally when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pompous and Overrated. Give it a miss!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The owner of our condo suggested trying this place for breakfast. We were here last year for appetizers and wasn't impressed then. Something about this place just doesn't feel right. Well we tried it again this morning. There is little shade and only have a sliver of a sail type thing which is of no use. Trendy though. You get picture. The waiter could barely be bothered, as well as the other staff.

Ok. It's morning, say good morning. Ask if we want a coffee. Nothing. The waiters act as though they are doing you a service. Nope. Got better places to spend our time and money. Went to Azafran! Now that is a place that has it all together! Good coffee too, with bottomless cup and a smile! What a concept!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceqween13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We always eat at the Mezzanine when on holiday in Tulum. It was the place we chose this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Firstly, and not the restaurant's fault, the wind was so severe that we nearly left, due to being blown to bits!! But the very kind waiter moved us to a more sheltered spot. But this year the whole ambience of the place had changed. What had previously been an elegant and sophisticated restaurant with subdued lighting and a serene atmosphere, was now a garishly lit and noisy place! There was a large party of particularly noisy people in that night, but I feel that if the ambience had been 'managed' better, if the place presented itself as one of sophistication and elegance, the assembled party might have behaved likewise! But worst of all, the bright lighting enabled us to really see how dirty the place was! The floor next to where we were seated had spilled food on it and shredded napkins, and the paper covers from straws were being blown around the floor. No one stopped to pick anything up! It looked awful, and we could have been in a local McDonald's (although they might actually have better standards of cleaning!!) I was shocked! The food was delicious if pricey. We expected that and would have been happy to pay for a more upmarket evening. But we were not happy with the poor value this offered! If i buy something that is substandard I would take it back. Why are restaurants exempt from that?! I wrote to the hotel the following day, but heard nothing. I feel that the management has become complacent as they own so much upmarket property in Tulum. But there is good competition and we will certainly not return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had dinner at Mezzanine last week and most of our group enjoyed their dinner very much. The appetizers were very good and service was excellent. I ordered a fish dish that was terrible - overcooked and swimming in a sickly sweet sauce. Another at our table ordered the same and agreed it was horrible. Best to stick with the curries. Lovely setting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourist-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dim G, Manager at Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your your comments.
We are , of course, delighted that your group enjoyed dinner our restaurant.
We have had many good comments about our fish dishes so it concerns us when a guest is less than pleased. We are looking into this and will respond to you shortly.
Thank you for visiting Mezzanine restaurant. We look forward to impressing you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Martini Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing