We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service, interesting food”
Review of Hechizo

Hechizo
Ranked #84 of 389 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, interesting food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very pretty place, right on the water. 2 tablecloth restaurant, but you needed dress up if you don't want to. The chef, Stephan, was very personable, came from the Ritz Carlton in Cancun, Dubai, and Shanghai. We had the prix fixe menu and it was fantastic. Each course was well thought out with flavor mixtures which were unusual and really worked well. We especially liked the mild goat cheese with watermelon in a balsamic reduction and the shrimp in a sweet/sour sauce. Every course was different in a really good way. The chef took our order personally and came by several times to chat and make sure all was well. This meal was the best of our visit. If it hadn't been so windy, the outdoor tables would have been great as they we almost hanging over the edge of the sea. This was the kind of fine dining we seldom see any more. Great service, great food and at $80 US each including 2 glasses of very nice wine and a martini, it was well worth it. Thanks, Stephan, for a lovely evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntAnnie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    32
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manhattan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our meal was spoiled by ridiculous waits, especially for the check. With one drink and two courses, it took over 2 1/2 hours to eat. That would be fine if we weren't waiting while the owner chatted with a buddy.

Food was a mixed bag. The scallop app is a strange combination of flavors, and though the scallops were advertised as seared, they were very pale. The curried shrimp was tasty, as was the special man, veal cheeks with risotto. The best single thing was the bread, which was never replenished.

Not cheap.

No desserts because we were already annoyed at the lack of service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Thank god we went here! It was THE highlight of our trip, truly a magical place, chef Stefan is an artist and his staff the best

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jadair57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 1990s”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Hechizo is hilarious and the glowing reviews for it here are even more funny. Its food, preparation and decor is stuck in the 1990s. if you hear Duran Duran music playing, its not just a coincidence. our experience went like this:

1) its in an out of way spot that once you find, you think will have a stylish beach or mexican vibe like all the nearby properties. Instead you enter a room thats got shelves of sea shells and a large acquarium like a typical strip mall suburban sea food restaurant. not a good sign.
2) its always nice when the chef explains the menu which makes the plates sound amazing...however when the food arrives its anything but. my fish had 0 flavor, 0 seasonings, 0 inventive sauces, and came atop mash potatotes, smattering of lima beans and balsemic vinegar. it looked like a plate from 20 years ago. my wife's beef plate was blah at best. the side of cheese and rice it came with was a not so funny joke. this was the kind of dish that was popular ages ago before people became foodies and knew what is good food.
3) when the waiter brought out my second iced tea 30 minutes after i ordered it and 10 minutes after we had finished our meal, he said to me with a full on serious face - senor its on the house....haha thanks for the free iced tea buddy
4) the chef never asked us how the food was, but if he did i wouldve loved to tell him the truth - the bread was great.

we left a little hungry and had dessert back at our hotel on the beach in front of a live band playing cuban jazz...it was an awesome ending to a bad night.

dont believe the hype....Hechizo is definitely not gourmet, it is retro with a price. chef Stefan needs to embrace 2013 cause its not just a new year, it'll be a new decade for him.

Helpful?
4 Thank AdenTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been eating at Hechizo for years. It used to be just for special occasions, but now just going there is an occasion. Stephan and Hui are incredible hosts. The food is wonderful. I love the watermelon and goat cheese salad.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank locogringocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hechizo also viewed

 

Been to Hechizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing