We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Ranked #70 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
Cuauhtémoc, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This restaurant is perfect for breakfasts as you do not find that many around the area, El Tábano serves delicious breakfasts as well as juices. I had a mango-ginger juice, mmmmh! delicious...

Los huevos de cazuela and enfrijoladas are the best options, though the egg yolk in the Cazuela Eggs were a little bit overcooked,

The prices at breakfast are quite acceptable,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    185
    74
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience, Amazing Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Tabano Ohh if i just have the space to tell you the story of this restaurant, one of the fist nice restaurants in Tulum beach, it is a place that you need to experience, you need to be there, the service is very personal and the team really take care of you, The food will include such a special combinations, take your time to read the blackboard menu , please it is a place that can be crowded so best to arrive early, in case you get there late there is a new beautiful bar where you can have a drink before you get your table...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShambalaTulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We hosted our rehearsal dinner at El Tabano and had the most wonderful experience! The food was outstanding,the drinks sublime, and the staff so gracious and accommodating! We can't wait to go back and enjoy another memorable meal there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A bit of disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to this restaurant after being reccommended by trip advisor and other reviewing sites. Sorry but the service here is deep below average. We ordered a fish filet al Papian which was suggested by our waiter. When we tasted it, the fish had the consistency of cardboard as it seemed to be thrown on the skillet right after coming out of the frezer. When we told this to the waiter he barely said a word, took the plate, and not even a sorry or an offering for a new fish came out of his mouth. We also ordered fish tacos which were good. We also complained to the waiter when he tried to charge us for the dish we sent back.
Despite the poor service and below average food, our check included a 15% charge for service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great atmosphere. Good music. I had the Mexican meatballs and they were fantastic. My kids loved them too! It is outdoors, so if it's hot, know that you'll be outside. They accept cash only, so make sure you have cash too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mamacjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing