We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent, Creative Food - Slow Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Ranked #61 of 349 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, Creative Food - Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food at El Tabano is very good. Dishes are creative and very flavorful. The ambiance is very nice, but as other reviewers have mentioned, there are lots of mosquitos. I had repellent, so this was not so much of an issue.
The restaurant is clearly very successful and by 7:00 pm is extremely busy.
We waited with our 2-year-old for 35 minutes for the check to come. Besides that, however, the experience was great, and I will be going back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajero9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    179
    72
    34
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant place, but very odd service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

El Tabano is located on the beach strip southeast of Tulum, and it definitely has a beach vibe - very laid back. The meal was very good, and the setting is charming, but we were pretty sure our server was stoned. It was quite bizarre. We would defiitely go back for the food and setting, but it is difficult to whole-heartedly endorse a place when the server had trouble finding our table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant setup changed since last year.. Not for the best. I the past you were eating in a sort of organized jungle.. Now nothing really special.
The food was just ok.. But definitely not the kind of food you expect for same price as new york.
So the overall experience was more than disapointing.
The service was just ok, the waitresse was vry nice and helpful.
So i recommend to find another place to eat...

Helpful?
Thank Nquaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was great and so was the service. The wine selection is excellent as well.
Bring your mosquito spray! If you forget they usually have some. Most of the restaurants in Tulum that are not on the breezy beach front will have mosquitos. There is only so much one can do to keep them away.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HBNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We didn;t even bother to sit down.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Service was so poor (we got shoved to the bar to wait to be seated, then watched people arrive and get seated before us) that we left and went elsewhere. Had a lovely experience there a year ago. Now they've added a bar and other new bits and the place is buzzing but the whole friendly vibe has disappeared. Seems like they may be a victim of their own success. For a more enjoyable experience try the place next door. We did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank have_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing