We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Will stay here again.”
Review of Villas H2O

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas H2O
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Villas H20. The hosts are delightful and extremely helpful - they are very knowledgeable about the area and are always glad offer suggestions, information, etc. Our room was big and clean - very comfortable. The a/c is modern and efficient (though we rarely had it on for more than about 10 minutes), and we appreciated having an in-room safe and access to filtered water to fill our bottles. The pool is cool but lovely, particularly in the moonlight. Breakfast at Villas H20 very nice - fresh juice, coffee, fruit, baked goods, sometimes even bacon. Most of the guests seem to come out for breakfast, and the staff/hosts are around to answer as many questions as you care to ask. The hotel is slightly beyond the edge of town. It is an ok (but unpreposessing) walk along the highway. We often took a cab, which is not expensive. Cabs turn around on the highway a block from the hotel, so they're always easy to find if you want a ride into the centre of town. The hotel is right at the edge of a jungley area, so there were lots of nice birds around - woodpeckers, grackels (of course) and many hummingbirds (who were fighting over a flowering bush next to the breakfast area). I hope to stay here again in future - it was an ideal home base.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 220 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

The hotel design is spectacular. Suprinsingly, it is located on a dirt road at the limit of the village. The place is not so easy to find, even the taxi drivers had a hard time to locate it.

The owner, Minh, welcomed us with fresh orange juice and was very helpful in suggesting places to eat. We loved the food at the Mezzanine, a fine asian restaurant located on the beautiful beach of Tulum.

We had the room with three beds. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the place was very quiet (no tv, no noisy neighbors). The breakfast was very good and the staff (Elisa & Reina) was very pleasant and helpful.

Despite the remote location of this hotel, we would recommand it and would certainly go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Tulum is a beautiful place.

The small town's infrastructure, however, is still incomplete. For example, this hotel cannot process credit card payments because they are waiting for a land line. So be prepared to pay with cash or a work-around like PayPal.

The most important fact about this place is the diving connection. The owners and the multi-lingual staff came to Tulum for the diving. They run diving tours out of the hotel and are extremely knowledgeable about cenote and reef diving in the area. If you have any interest in diving, these are the people to see about it.

The place is at the edge of town and you practically need high-clearance 4WD to traverse the very short distance from the highway to the facility over the diabolically rutted dirt road. Also, the fastidious should know that this otherwise first-world facility suffers from the peculiar Latin American plumbing design which requires that you deposit used toilet tissue in a waste basket rather than flush it down the commode.

The things that the owners can control, are great. The benefits of avoiding the Spring break juvenalia of Cancun, the proximity of a spectacular Mayan ruin along an equally spectacular beach, and the superb support for the diving enthusiast far outweigh the minor departures from 1st world convenience.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawnshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We booked this place after everything else we wanted (along the beach) was full. The place is in town, right at the end. On the positive side it's near shops, services and local places to eat; on the negative side it's quite a trek to the beach and the ruins. The place itself is very nice: it's at the end of a street and quiet. The rooms are simple but spacious, very clean, and have air-con. Breakfast is included and it's OK, but our first minor niggle had is that it's served a bit late and we missed it most of the time because we wanted to visit the ruins in and around Tulum early. The owners and staff are very laid back, there's a coffee machine and stereo for guests to use, as well as wireless internet, and Marco gives good and honest information about the local region. Our second minor niggle is the charge to send money through paypal when paying a deposit and the bill - we weren't told that they don't accept credit cards and because of this didn't come prepared with US dollars cash for our five night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlet_ibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon in April 2009. Marco went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. He made great recommendations and gave good advice about renting a car. We were in Tulum as the swine flu outbreak began and marco kept us up to date on travel information. Overall a great stay, nothing overly luxurious but comfortable, minimalist design, relaxing, clean and just what we wanted for this part of our trip. I should also mention one of the few places to stay in Tulum with air conditioning.

Our room was decorated beautifully with candles and flower petals to celebrate our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dharmabum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The hotel has a modern white stucco and concrete design with a guest palapa, swimming pool, and a beautifully designed garden. Rooms are nicely furnished, clean, and air conditioned. The owners go out of their way to make your stay, both at the hotel and in the Yucatan, special.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Great hosts, Marco and Min, were incredibly helpful to us first time visitors to Mexico's Yucatan, helping us feel safe and advising us how to stay that way, helping us stay off the beaten path enough to get a real sense of the place. Ex-patriots themselves, they were well equipped to allay to our "beginner" frets.
The hotel is beautifully kept, architecturally interesting, quiet and clean. Great bed, excellent air-conditioning, with a spare, aesthetic zen-like decor. Our hosts had many suggestions for places to go, including the wonderful cenote caverns for cooling snorkeling and amazing rock formations, ruins, beaches and restaurants. We wish them success and recommend this lovely boutique hotel to all who would like to avoid the hectic crowds on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 98 in Tulum
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#34 of 98 in Tulum
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 98 in Tulum
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 98 in Tulum
559 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
875 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas H2O

Address: Calle Chichen Itza Mz. 24 Lt. 001, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $90 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas H2O 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villas H2O in Tulum! Setting a new standard for boutique hotels in Tulum town, Villas H2O combines modern, minimalist design with locally crafted detailing and furnishings to create an atmosphere of urban chic with a friendly, relaxing vibe. Our location on the southern edge of town provides easy access to restaurants and shopping, without sacrificing rural quiet and jungle views. Villas H2O offers 3 types of rooms, all stylishly decorated and with private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villas H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas h2o Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing