We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable rooms with great design”
Review of Villas H2O

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas H2O
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable rooms with great design”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We've stayed at Villas H2O a few times. While the location is a little off the beaten path, it is a hidden gem. When traveling for extended periods, it feels good to go to Villas H2O because we know the rooms will be very clean and comfortable. They offer a nice breakfast and very helpful service. Last time we were there we needed internet service that wasn't working in the common areas so the owner offered his office for us to do our work. The Villas aren't located on the amazing Tulum beach but this keeps the cost reasonable and also gives you electricity after dark. The pool is gorgeous and so is the architecture/design work. Very contemporary, clean, natural and well done. I would say the only negative would be the dog which serves as a sort of guard dog. It can be a little intimidating at times so you just have to be cautious. The owner has become more attentive to keeping it away from guests and that is good. We love the Villas H2O and highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great reasonable getaway in Tulum.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaNorthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    54
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
47
96
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Min and Marco, who own the hotel, have successfully created a place which is a modern hotel that seems like staying with friends.

The grounds are beautifully designed with nice landscaping, a refreshing pool, and a large pleasant courtyard palapa (with breakfast tables and a relaxing conversation seating area). The fragrance of sweet jasmine flows through the air and a bird-of-paradise plant was just breaking into bloom (at least when we were there in April!!!). All of this makes a great setting for breakfast (rolls, juice, fruit, and coffee) each morning with a view of the Mexican morning blue sky. Fresh drinking water is available all day in the palapa.

The rooms are spacious in a pleasant, clean, simple, refreshing way -- a minimalist dream!. This is a perfect room for exploring the local geography -- you can snorkel the cenotes, hang out on the beach or explore the ruins and then come home to crash in a relaxing comfortable bed. The bathrooms are functional -- though it can take a while for the hot water to appear (just like Marco said it would!!). Air conditioning keeps the room pleasantly cool. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool/courtyard which was especially nice in the mornings and early evenings.

Min and Marco are full of helpful advice and wisdom about what to see (and what not to see), as well as how and when to go. They gave us great advice on activities, restaurants, tips on visiting the ruins, and even set up reservations for us to go on a canal tour in the BioSphere Reserve. Marco is a dive instructor, so he was an expert on both diving and snorkeling in cenotes (and they have snorkel equipment they can loan you for the day!).

OVERALL: It's a great place to stay Tulum. You'll feel like you're staying with friends who want you to have a great time visiting on your stay. If H20 has any downsides its the slight distance into town (we had a car, so it wasn't a problem) and the time it takes for hot water to appear in the shower.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Went april 6 - 9 with my fiance. the hotel and its location were excellent. The rooms were clean with air conditioning and ceiling fan; also, each room had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. the hotel was very close to town and a short drive to the beach. We found it ideal and convenient.

The owners Min and Marco were really great. They were very hospitable and helpful in regards to daily itineraries and suggestions. We really enjoyed their company and friendliness.

What people may not know about this place is that it's highly connected to the diving community in and around Tulum - just an fyi.

All in all, a very great , relaxing place in the tranquil area known as Tulum. We will be sure to return.

Patrick & Gemma

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebo1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed at Villas H2O for two nights in April. The hotel is very nice with a minimalist decor. It's a little hard to find if you arrive at night, as we did. It is just outside of the main part of Tulum down an unlit dirt street. The rooms have A/C and a comfy bed and nice pillows (a rarity here). Min and Marco were excellent hosts with a ton of information about restaurants and other information in Tulum. If you are staying for longer than a few days, the breakfast may get a little boring as it is the same every day. Overall, I would recommend staying here when you are visiting the town of Tulum.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one week after travelling the yucatan peninsula for two weeks. We we're looking out for a clean room and found this @Villa H20. The hosts are really friendly and helpfull. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the breakfast. Its continental and after 5 days of toast or a croissant (which are tasty) with marmelade I was craving cheese or something on my toast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripNicaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

The owners Min and Marco are the best hosts I've ever encountered - helpful, kind, welcoming. One of them was always around to recommend a good restaurant, best part of the beach, or loan beach towels or snorket gear. Min answers emails right away, which was a plus for our last-minute trip. The hotel is beautiful (one of the few where its website photos are entirely accurate), the pool large, rooms and beds very comfortable. Minor issues included night noise (we had to use the AC because of raucous rooster crowing starting at 3AM, but I doubt any hotel in town would be quieter), a hotel dog that one poster said had "character" but I would characterize as potentially mean (an odd choice for a dog to be around the public although they try to keep the dog away from most guests) and it's definitely a drive from the beach, as well as town. Regardless, it was possibly the most beautiful hotel I've stayed at in years and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2009

From the friendliness, warmth, and knowledge of the hosts to the cleanliness and minimalist designs of the rooms, every aspect of H2O is thoughtfully planned out. The room was immaculate and location was convenient to downtown. Min and Marco gave great advice about the beaches and restaurants. They were the perfect hosts for the perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafe_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#47 of 96 in Tulum
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 96 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#16 of 96 in Tulum
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#34 of 96 in Tulum
183 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#53 of 96 in Tulum
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas H2O

Property: Villas H2O
Address: Calle Chichen Itza Mz. 24 Lt. 001, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas H2O 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villas H2O in Tulum! Setting a new standard for boutique hotels in Tulum town, Villas H2O combines modern, minimalist design with locally crafted detailing and furnishings to create an atmosphere of urban chic with a friendly, relaxing vibe. Our location on the southern edge of town provides easy access to restaurants and shopping, without sacrificing rural quiet and jungle views. Villas H2O offers 3 types of rooms, all stylishly decorated and with private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas h2o Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing