We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice value, if only there hadn't been any confusion about the booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Ranked #76 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
100
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Leaving Playa del Carmen was hard enough, but we booked a day trip to Chichen Itza/Valladolid and knew that exploring and staying in Tulum was a must. We made a last minute reservation, which was very accommodating of the quiet host family. However, between the awful taxi driver (no one generally knows the hotel or where it is) and hauling our loads of bags (from extensive travelling) upstairs, it was an odd check in. It was relief to find a sweetly designed room with cute touches like a pueblo ladder to the gods as a towel rack, a giant shell filled with bath salts for the jacuzzi bath, a vintage sewing machine and palapa details around the shower/toilet room. For the last minute deal, it was worth staying, but finding advice on what to do in the great local street food scene and feeling at ease just reading on the patio hammocks and courtyard never really happened. We will leave tomorrow to get much closer to the beach-- 50 pesos-trip each way from here adds up and the walk is a tad too long--even for us. The one block trip to the helados, liquidos, and aguas de fruitas lady, however, is totally worth a 18 peso giant liter of agua de sandia after a long day. This hotel helped us find our way to the real Tulum, which was helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are spacious and not right across from the hosts' home-- so you can feel less int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyleranneliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

A delightful little hotel with real style. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous.
Very spacious, interesting wooden furniture, colourful Mexican blankets and old Mexican photographs make really make for once of the nice places I've spent a night.

It's in a decent location just south of the main street in central downtown and pretty close to the bus station.

The only thing i would have changed is to add a roof fan in the rooms. I normally prefer fans to a/c except for a small bust of cold air. They are quieter as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stretcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewers.
One, yes the hotel was a nice little place, not far from the ADO station as that's how we traveled and it was a short 5 - 10 minute walk from there. Great places to eat and interesting places to see and the people of Tulum are great to watch. Pizza joint up the street and it was a sad place but we ate there and it was like a home made with a ready crust from the store.
The room I liked, we had the top floor facing the street and again for Tulum I though it was way over priced. This is Mexico and I am paying for the same that I would be paying for in Vegas, really? However I did like the room and this was the first time that I have ever stayed in a place where you had an open bathroom, I didn't care if my wife needed quiet time I left and she did for me, not like your standing in the snow and cold! The room was clean and Horhey (sorry I don't know how to spell it) was a clean person and really does his best. I thought there were comfy beds, nice shower, quiet, clean. No TV but the last thing I wanted to do was watch TV.
I have to agree with the other person though and say that his wife was a bit standoffish. When we said that we wanted to get a cheaper room somewhere on the water she scoffed at us like we had said something really stupid. CHEAP? IN TULUM? You have thought we were nuts. We did find cheaper the next day and left. My wife left the gate open and you would have thought that we had committed murder You know just because you own something doesn't mean you know everything. This place could be better if they found out how to be a bit more personal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegZammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

we spent 2 nights there but decided to move as the room was dark and the a/c was very noisy. not allowed to have the a/c on if you're not in your room(they tell you that at check in). we left it on and when we returned it had been shut off. the kitchen shown in the pictures is not for the guest and cooking facilities are not provided in room. the bed was comfortable and the hotel is three of blocks off the main street so very quiet. good cheap taco stands along the road to the hotel. close to everything in Tulum which is a great town to visit. lots of great restaurants to choose from...the "Bistro" is a must for breakfast, they have great coffee and friendly service. 50 peso taxi ride to the beach. 15 peso's for 2 on the collectivo to the Tulum Ruins and 20 peso's to Xel Ha (pronounced "Shel Ha" snorkel park which is also a must see. the collectivo will drop you on the highway and it's a easy 7 min walk to the park. I'd also recommend going to Akumal beach where you can swim with sea turtles. it's amazing! again catch the collectivo in Tulum and for 40 peso's for 2 it will drop you on the highway and it's a short walk to the beach. not a lot of shade so go early and claim a spot under a palm tree.

Room Tip: remember the "C" on the water taps stands for caliente (hot) and "F" is Frio (co...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Quebec
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This small hotel is conveniently located just a few blocks south of main street (Avenida Tulum) and a short walk to the ADO bus station. The rooms are furnished with, among other things, tree stumps for tables. Colourful Mexican blankets abound. There is no television but the wi-fi and air-con work perfectly. The carpentry in the hotel is lackadaisical: You feel like you will break the flimsy floorboards in the hallways just be walking. The owners are pleasant but overly demonstrative. The place has to be seen to be believed. It is not for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We booked this hotel through the internet and reading the reviews I was convinced we made a really good decision by choosing Lo Nuestro Petit Hotel.
My boyfriend and I come to Tulum every year, we love the beach, the great food and the people.
We were very surprised how unfriendly the couple who runs the hotel was (they never told their names, so I can't refer to them otherwhise)
They have an open kitchen in the courtyard with tables and chairs, we assumed we could have a coffe there in the morning, for surcharge of course. I asked the woman, she said sure, around eight in the morning.
We usually get up early, so did on this day, went for a walk and was back just before eight. As we opened the gate to the courtyard she stood there asking us to be quiet because her husband was stillasleep.(???) No word on coffe or even a suggestion where we could find a place to have one.
We stayed two nights and all that time we felt that we are intruders in their home opposed to be in a hotel.
There was no hot water in the morning and we were afraid to go outside for a walk the next morning, we did'nt want to wake them up too early.
The place was very nicely designed but it take more then just nice decor to run a business profesionally.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriella1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#81 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#79 of 95 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#71 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#57 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel

Property: Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Address: Osiris sur mz 42 lote 2, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial hotel, in Mexican style with Mayan hand-made and antiques decorations and furniture. Rooms with jacuzzi, terraces, balconies, garden with space to rest in hammock or chaise lounge, and also there is patio where you can have a breakfast or at dusk cocktail. Perfect hotel for both adult and just married people. Free internet access for hotel's visitors. Furthermore there is a laundry for comfort of the customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lo Nuestro Petit Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing