We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET”

Dos Ceibas Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #211 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“QUIET”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Staying nearby and having enjoyed Happy Hour at Dos Ceibas several times with excellent margaritas and pina coladas (plus quality guacamole etc), we decided to try dinner. Very quiet, rustic and immediate view and sound of the ocean. Serving staff (one) knowledgeable and helpful. Soup and salads were well made and included house-grown herbs. Main courses of fresh fish were excellent with the banana wrapped special beating out the coconut fish with shrimp.

Great quiet and quality restaurant. A place to enjoy the food at a leisurely pace. Reasonably priced. Will return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terryo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Two breakfasts, one dinner - just fine”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were staying at a cabana nearby. We had pleasant service on each occasion. One can eat either outdoors or inside. We opted each time to be outside with our feet in the sand. The coffee was a bit weak, "donut shop" variety but we were given a carafe so we could have refills. Our meals were more than satisfactory and the prices reasonable.
We came for happy hour two evenings and stayed for a light supper on one of them. The Mojito and Margarita were good and the ambiance with lots of candles glowing was charming. We shared the Mexican plate and had a delicious chocolaty dessert with rompopo sauce.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so disappointing”
Reviewed March 16, 2009

I don't know ... maybe something has changed? This was not a memorable restaurant as suggested by other Tripadvisor members. Boy, were we disappointed. The Pizza tasted like one you'd find in the supermarket frozen section. Maybe it wasn't such a good idea to order a pizza in Mexico but I thought maybe it would be special. Cocktails were only fair, guacamole was very good, but other than that - don't waste your precious time having dinner here when there are so many other great places to check out in Tulum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angeline99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Tasty!”
Reviewed December 14, 2008

I really enjoyed dining at this restaurant. Although the menu is somewhat expensive, the food and atmosphere makes it worth it. Everything is fresh, healthy and absolutely delicious.

Helpful?
Thank DRPMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed May 16, 2008

There is a hidden treasure of a restaurant in Tulum called Dos Ciebas. We experienced this restaurant 2 years ago and enjoyed their pasta and pizza. We just returned from Tulum yesterday after spending 8 days at Nueva Vida, and after eating dinner twice at Dos Ciebas, we were amazed at how tasty and cheap their food is. Their pizza is to die for, and their pasta, grilled fish and grilled vegetable platter is amazing. The setting is romantic and the host Fernando is a gentleman who will make you feel at home. We're Italian and we are very critical of Italian food, but Dos Ciebas is a winner!

Helpful?
2 Thank lcoppola723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Ceibas Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dos Ceibas Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing