We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Playa Mambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Mambo
Ranked #26 of 82 Tulum B&B and Inns
Lavon, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great little hotel!! Rooms were as good as any higher priced hotel!
We had the green room, and 1 night in the pink room.
Our green cabana was the best room there! Front row, and a spectacular view from our window and we had a porch and a loft and a couch.
We had breakfast outside on our porch each day (included) and there was always enough beach chairs.
The property is fenced nicely on the sides, nothing obvious and the place was very clean.
Never ate at the "restaurant" there, but did get a cold bottle of wine one night for $15.
Maid was very good and prompt. Had plenty of towels and she even changed them out before we decided to.
Playa mambo was quiet and as good as any higher price place there!!!
Do go for the front rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasWilddflowerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
160
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse cabana and enjoyed the perfect location, the friendly family running the place and the great atmosphere. You are right at the beach and the view is fabulous. The penthouse is in two floors with a single bed downstairs and a queen plus a single bed upstairs. As we are a family of four, we used all the beds. My only complaint is that the two single beds were in poor condition and the pillows also. So a good advice to Playa Mambo: get som new single beds, some new pillows and make your guests really happy! The simple and rustic interior was fine and we had everything we needed.

Room Tip: The three beach front cabanas are the best. Penthouse is nice if your are ok with two floors. Nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarmaKompas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised how great this place was. We stayed in 'chocolate'. Large cabanas, spacious layout of the grounds (not jammed packed of cabanas like some places) very clean, and friendly place. Breakfast was simple yet very well done: homemade bread, homemade jam, fresh fruit, coffee. The host makes the bread and jam on site. They are happy to serve you breakfast in the restaurant area or on the beach. Very accommodating. Definitely glad we went and would highly recommend. Also a very convenient little shop with groceries and drinks right outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I will give this place top rating. But that is because I expected a eco cabana. And that is what this is. There is no bellman, there is no marble on the floor, there is no fancy soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The luxury is the simplicity, cleanliness, the positioning right on the beach. The very pleasant host (Dayana) who also is an excellent cook! ( You must try the fish..) And the cabanas are cleaned every day. There are beds, other furniture. ( The cabanas are aesthetic furnished.) there are mosquito screens, hot water in the shower, electricity 99% of the time, 20 meters to the turquoise sea, beach chairs, etc. If you like, spend the $ extra and book the Penthouse. It has an excellent tree top balcony where you can listen to the waves, the warm wind and perhaps enjoy a cold beer while you look for shooting stars in the evening. I would not stay anywhere else in Tulum... Just book before someone else does!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tribedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had the best time at Playa Mambo. The location is perfect - just far enough away from the noisy part of the hotel zone but still surrounded by restaurants and shops. It is also right next door to a connivence store (with an ATM) and an awesome coffee shop. Wifi connection is strong, breakfast delicious and our cabana was as clean as a beach front cabana can get. Breakfast was large and delicious, and if you want more then fruit and fresh bread, their egg dishes are very reasonably priced. Unlike many other beachfront lodging we shared the beach with, Playa mambo has chairs and even beds to lay out on to watch the sunrise or the stars. Falling asleep to the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves was the best alibi we could ask for. Andrea is so sweet and nice, we can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giustina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Chances are you are staying in Tulum for a reason (you hate Cancun, or just want a Mexican beach vacation without the
compromise).

Playa Mambo is Tulum personified; incredibly laid back, a gorgeous setting, and impeccable service (Diana was the best). You are literally seconds from the turquoise water, and walking distance to the beach strip (splurge and eat at Hartwood, it's worth the wait).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InternetCommenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Playa Mambo is a beautiful collection of adobe style cabanas with thatched roofs, wide beds with gauzy mosquito netting and large open bathrooms. We stayed in the ochre cabana which had two windows with intact screens and shutters. The cabanas are cleaned every day, which keeps the sand from building up in your bed or on the floor.

The complimentary breakfast is light and amazing, with homemade toast and marmalades, fresh fruit, coffee and warm cream. If you want, you can order it on your way to the beach, swim until it shows up and then eat either in a covered patio or on a cushy beach platform. We also saw people eating on their patios. Diane, the only proprietor we encountered, is sweet and very talented in the kitchen. We had dinner at the hotel once, and the homemade pasta, and fresh ceviche with bell peppers came with chips guacamole, and drinks, and was amazing.

If your goal is to enjoy the beach simply and eat incredibly well, I cannot recommend this place enough. I hope to be able to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.4 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#37 of 95 in Tulum
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
#69 of 116 in Tulum
24 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Canek Boutique Eco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 116 in Tulum
182 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agua Hotel Tulum
Agua Hotel Tulum
#52 of 82 in Tulum
33 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 82 in Tulum
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mambo

Property: Playa Mambo
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Mambo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Playa Mambo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing