We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Mambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Mambo
Ranked #21 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in the Ochre cabana for 7 nights. It was very large and had lots of space to keep our clothes, etc. A chair in the room would be a nice addition. The bed was pretty comfortable but the pillows were rather small and flat. There was no drinking water in the room but when asked, they did say they would fill our water bottles daily. We got a very large bottle of water in town for a couple dollars and that lasted us for the entire week. There aren't beach towels in the rooms either but they will give you another bath towel if you ask. The staff was very nice and accommodating. They spoke very little English and we don't speak Spanish but we always figured things out. The beach was beautiful. There were 6 of us and there was always enough beach chairs. And the deck on the beach was a great place for breakfast or evening card games. We also never had issue with the WIFI, it even worked in our cabana because we were close to dining area.

Playa Mambo is simple place that doesn't many frills. But it is a great value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinydogtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    55
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
157
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Playa Mambo. We had previously stayed here two years ago as a couple. This year we brought our two children, 13 and 16. We were in the verde cabana. They set up a comfortable cot for our 13 year old and our 16 year old stayed in the loft. There was plenty of room in the cabana for all of us and our things.
Andrea and the whole staff were very accommodating. We had wonderful breakfasts, pizza, and a BBQ one night. The cabana and the whole property was clean and beautiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Playa Mambo is quiet, peaceful and cozy. Our cabana (Chocolate) was roomy and comfortable and the beach was beautiful and private. The staff was attentive and friendly. The cost was quite reasonable. The only thing that would have made it better was drinking water. None was provided so we purchased a large jug at the chedraui that lasted the week. (The website indicates that Chocolate has a partial ocean view, but you can't actually see the ocean. However you can hear it and feel the ocean breeze.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimMc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Bottom line is, you walk out of your cabana and toes are in the sand...you're on Tulum beach, so life is good! The eight cabanas are simple and comfortable enough, but not luxurious in any way. We stayed in both Fuschia and Ochre, and while Ochre was the cheapest (closest to the parking and farthest from the beach), the room was more comfortable than Fuchsia. The showers in both were pretty poor (my husband said it was like someone had poked holes in the top of a tin can, and that's how the water dribbled out), but they got the job done. The included daily continental breakfast included a rotating plate of fresh tropical fruit (great), accompanied by a dense pastry which had the slightly bitter flavor of baking soda (not very tasty). Coffee was average quality drip. Each morning there was some strawberry jam and butter to accompany the pastry. There was also a more extensive menu with eggs etc, for extra charge. The owners were very friendly, but spoke almost zero English. This was a surprise considering that English is spoken almost everywhere through the Mayan Riviera. Wifi was only available near the reception area, and on most days worked. Not highly reliable though, in case you're trying to keep in touch with people back home.

Walking the Tulum Beach was a daily routine, and in doing so we could see that all of the cabana resorts were much better set up for enjoying the beach. All had comfortable looking beach chairs, and many had sun and wind protection. In this department Playa Mambo was sorely lacking and really showed its lack of amenities - the beach chairs were old and heavy, with peeling paint and thin cushions. There also were not enough to allow for two people per eight cabanas, assuming all were full and everyone wanted to lay out on the beach. There were two palapa 'umbrellas' for shade, but only if you got a chair early enough. And speaking of covering a chair, don't forget a sarong or a cheap beach towel, as none were included with the cabanas.

We found Tulum kind of 'awkward' in that the beach is such a long way from the pueblo. Without a rental car (or scooter) to go in to town to eat, one is at the mercy of the much more expensive restaurants along the beach road. Another option would be to take taxis, which would also be expensive if done daily. Playa Mambo is a looong way along the beach road, and driving in took about fifteen minutes each way. Still, staying along the beach is, IMO, the way to go - the opposite predicament would arise if one were to stay in the pueblo and wish to go to the beach for even part of each day. Which brings us back to walking out of your cabana and toes are in the sand - on this count Playa Mambo delivered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Playa Mambo is a quiet, peaceful place to stay in Tulum, with cute and cosey rooms for a good price. A perfect place to get away from the daily rush we are usually in. We found this place by coincidence, at first we did not plan to stay for more than one day in Tulum but Playa Mambo changed our thoughts, we stayed for more than a week here.
The crew is great, the family that runs the place(Andrea, Rodrigo, Augustin and Avril) as well as the other crew(Augustin, Ana and Luvia) will do anything to help and make you feel at home. Thanks guys you know how to make people feel welcome!
The breakfast is simple but very good, fresh fruit with toast and various homemade jams. The beach is beautiful , turquoise ocean and you'll always have a chair as the beach is private. Good restaurants are close, walking distance, and if you want to do tours in Sian Ka'an it's 5 min by taxi.
We will visit thia place again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemvdN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed four nights at Playa Mambo in January 2013. One night in Ochre and three nights in the Penthouse.

This was our first trip to Tulum and a short one for my birthday. I researched pretty extensively where to stay, and it ended up being a choice between Playa Mambo, La Zebra and Nueva Vida de Ramiro. I wanted to be on that area of the beach since I read that it was the nicest. I ultimately decided on Playa Mambo due to the price difference, reviews and speedy email communications, and it was a great choice. Driving through the little busier section of the hotel zone made me happy that I had chosen this location -- it was just way too busy further up the beach for my taste.

The property is small and intimate. The cabanas are cuter than I expected and pretty tastefully decorated. What I like about PM is that it's not trying to be anything it's not, and it's pretty perfect that way it is. Definitely a barefoot-in-the-sand experience with -- like another reviewer said -- enough creature comforts to make it pleasant (24 hour electricity, electrical outlets in the cabanas, and -- at least in the Penthouse -- SUPER hot water). The beds were surprisingly very comfortable (though the pillows not so much -- bring your own if that's a big issue for you).

It's just felt very easy and comfortable, and we felt at home and welcomed the entire time. There are only about eight cabanas, so it never feels crowded. At most, there were usually a total of 3 or 4 people on the beach loungers, and it was very, very quiet, day and night (ps: there WAS construction going on on either side of the property while we were there, so there was a lot of hammering and chainsawing going on during the days making it impossible to nap or sleep late, but that's not PM's fault).

The Uruguayan family that runs PM is incredibly nice and accommodating. If you don't speak Spanish, there may be a few communication bumps, but nothing that can't be figured out -- and their young son speaks English, so he can translate when needed. I speak very limited Spanish, and it was really a non-issue (and I need to learn more Spanish...).

If I had to do over, I probably wouldn't bother spending the extra money on the Penthouse. Even though Ochre was the furthest away from the water, it was plenty cute and comfortable, and we wish we had just stayed there the entire time. The Penthouse was nice and roomy, but going up and down the somewhat tricky staircase to the bathroom was annoying after a while (though it was nice having a bit more bathroom privacy).

FYI: the parking is pretty limited and tight, but they make it work. You leave your car key at the reception area, and if they need to move your car, they do it. Also, the gate is closed after a certain point, but there is a way to open it from the outside. But, a car really isn't necessary -- there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

All in all, a really special place -- thank you!

Room Tip: All the cabanas are close to the water, so I don't think it matters that much to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tulum has transformed from the undeveloped idyll I remembered from 15 years ago. But I am no longer a hardy backpacker happy to sleep in an unlit shack. Playa Mambo proved an ideal choice this time: that simple hut-on-the-beach experience enhanced by just enough creature comforts, including 24-hour electricity and hot water, an ensuite bathroom, decent beds, and delicious breakfasts on our cabana terrace, among coconut palms right on the beach.
It's very quiet. There's no pretension. No scene. No restaurant or bar. But the wonderful staff and family who run the place will bring you fresh juices and simple food on the beach. And it's a short walk to La Zebra and Casa Violeta, where we had excellent meals.

Room Tip: The green cabana, where we stayed, seems the best as it's right on the beach and has a terrace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.9 mi away
Playa Canek Boutique Eco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
#42 of 119 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Agua Hotel Tulum
Agua Hotel Tulum
#47 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alma Tulum Hotel Boutique
4.7 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 119 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mambo

Property: Playa Mambo
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Mambo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Mambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Mambo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing