We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Mambo
Nearby Hotels
$343
$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$261
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$274
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zamas(Tulum)
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
$561
$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$546
$530
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
$637
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
175
58
25
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
58
25
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco cabanasconvenience storebeach frontother hotelsbeautiful beachlow keybeach barthatched roofrented bikeslaid backcevichewater pressurepalm treesmexicobreezepaypalcenote
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 277 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Playa Mambo last week, and we had a fabulous time. The rooms are rustic but very clean and comfortable. Richi cleaned our room each day, and provided us with fresh linens and towels as needed. The price was reasonable, the beach is fantastic, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. A delicious cooked breakfast with fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice was included. We brought our own fleece blanket, which was nice to have on the first night, which was cool. Our room was within 25 yards of the water...what else could you ask for? As noted by another reviewer, the beach furniture is in need of some repair, but that was not at all a serious problem for us. We did not notice the "generator noise" that a reviewer has complained of, so if that was a real concern, it's been fixed.
We ate several times at Casa Violeta, 100 yards down the beach which was very good.

Room Tip: Bring candles for the room, and a flashlight for the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJSL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay at Playa Mambo. Based on reviews we had seen on tripadvisor, we weren't expecting a 5 star holiday. Having been to Tulum before, it's that amazing beach which drew us back for a second visit. We stayed in the orange room which has a fabulous porch overlooking the beach. Only problem with that room is that the home next door had people who get up at 6am every day and talked loudly the entire day. Not PM's fault, but I would choose the green room or the honeymoon suite. We stayed one night in the honeymoon suite and it is by far the nicest room. The only drawback to that room is if you need to visit the bathroom at night, the bathroom is down a steep flight of 16 stairs with no hand railing. Deserving praise is the staff member Richi who sort of does everything, including making breakfast, taking care of the grounds,cleaning the rooms, and all with a gracious smile. Breakfast was plentiful and good every day; it you don't like eggs, fruit and toast you are welcome to go to other restaurants closeby. Also we found Christian the manager to be extremely friendly and helpful as well. Former reviews mention the lack of blankets, torn down beach chairs, lack of privacy in bathrooms and these comments are all valid. Another major annoyance is that the palapa roofs are in pretty bad shape. The first night there was a huge thunderstorm and our whole cabana, including bedding and most clothing got soaked. I would think after so many negative comments regarding these items that the owners would buckle down and make some much needed changes. We still had a wonderful time and Polly the dog adopted us for the entire week, which made our week magical and we were heartbroken when we had to part ways. We would probably go back; if the owners would make some improvements. We look forward to seeing if and when they do.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is by far the best room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coricoert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano123, Manager at Playa Mambo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for your review and it pleases us that you did enjoy the Playamambo and its surroundings. We are little by little trying to renovate all pending details but over the last months the property suffered a lot since we had more rain then ever. The rain does a lot of damage and we have to fix the roofs, windows and doors and this will happen as soon as the occupancy goes down a bit. but as you mentioned, the place is at a great beach and as long as the sun shines all is wonderful and in piece.
We defenitely are working on the pending issues and on your next visit you defenitely will see the difference. Again thank you so much for your comments and as a repeat client next time dont forget to mention it in your request so we can give you the 5% discount on any rate as a repeat client.
Warmest regards, Richi, Cristian and Corrina (Manager/Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

After too many emails from slow and disorganised management we arrived only to be told our room had been given to someone else. They found something else for us, but this was not ideal when we were made to pay in advance. The rooms were pretty rustic and the bed only had a sheet (not even a bed spread). The weather was unfortunately quite cool and so I asked the manager if he could find a blanket for me. He gave a dismissive response saying "yeah the laundry didn't come today, I probably should have called them". He eventually delivered a bedspread that was as thin as a sheet and I spent the first night of our romantic stay sleeping in tights, socks and a hoodie with our bath and beach towels spread out on the bed. The next day I politely told him how cold we had been and asked if he could arrange a blanket for us during the day. He told me "yeah the laundry didn't come again" and didn't organise any blanket. We ended up buying a duvet from the supermarket. For an overpriced US$160 a night, I expected more - and they can certainly afford to spend US$15 on a duvet.

The following day another couple arrived and the same thing happened - with a room mix up, no blanket, and them frustrated by a manager who didn't care. They also complained about an uncomfortable old bed.

The second morning there was no water (no shower, toilet, sink) for a couple of hours.

The rooms are very dark, with no glass, just shutters that you need to keep closed for privacy. At night it's also very dark, with poor lighting in the rooms and no bedside lamps. The rooms are also open, meaning there's no door to the bathroom or toilet. Rooms weren't serviced day to day.

All the rooms are less than 50m to the beach which is the only plus to staying here, and the beach is gorgeous.

It's definitely worth staying by the beach (not in town) but there are hundreds of hotels and cabanas along the beach and you should be able to find somewhere better.

Room Tip: The Orange and Green rooms are nice as they are right on the beach, but they are overpriced and no nicer inside than the other rooms (perhaps a little less dark).
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We did enjoy our stay at Playa Mambo, but a few things didn't fullfil our expectations. The Cabanas are nicely decorated, but the bathrooms (we stayed in different cabanas during our stay) were worn down, and one of them stank of dirty drain. The moskitonets on the lofts was useless. The sunbeds could need a treat. We were freezing cold at night but we couldn't get any blancets - 'we dont have any' was the answer when we asked the manager, and we had to get a taxi to Tulum Town to buy our own blanchets for all of us (two adults and two children).
However we did have a good time, at the manager and his collegaue fired up the babecue and made hotdogs and let us use the barbecue for free.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejseklaraltid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Firstly, PM has a great location in Tulum, on a very pleasant section of the beach. Also, Christian, who looks after guests staying was a great asset to this small B&B, always pleasant and ready to help guests in any way needed.

My wife and I have stayed in Tulum many times and adore some of the rustic cabanas on the beach. As mentioned in other reviews below the beach furniture here is in need of repair, not a big deal, but they could move some of the less useable loungers and cushions out of site and tidy this area up a bit more. We had some problems with a leaky roof during a night of rain that actually caused some problems with our lugage. Alas rain is rain and it's not PM's fault. One room we stayed in had doors to a patio that were problematic to open at times.

For the price PM delivers great value, with nice touches, such as complimentary wine on arrival and they offer a breafast included in the cost with decent coffee. I would definitely stay again and believe with a bit of attention to some minor infrastructure issues this place would be among the best of Tulum, especially given Christian's ability to look after guests.

Room Tip: Penthouse room is by far the best and very reasonably priced
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backbeat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews