We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more to wish for”
Review of Posada Margherita

Posada Margherita
Ranked #30 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing more to wish for”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

During our stay in Tulum we were there 3 times because it was the best. The place is very beautiful, cosy and stylish. The owners and waiters are very nice, they come sit with you to explain the menu and make the alteration you wish for. The three times we were there my husbands had pasta, different each time and always delicious. I wanted simple fish, as I eat very light : they boiled it in sea water with aromas, it was one the best I ever had. And the vegetables very excellent too, with tomatoes inside : usually I'm happy when cooks just stick to what I ask for, but that the only time I had one trying to be inventive to make the meal better. Antipasti are free, desserts were good.
My advise : go, and then go again, because there is no better place to eat in Tulum

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    481
    244
    116
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning location and fantastic food”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Came here for dinner with wife and children (5 and 8) after being let down by Tulum ruins (they shut at 4.30pm, not 7 like our guide book said!). So we arrived relatively early, but went through the restaurant onto the stunning beach first - perhaps the most incredible, gorgeous beach I've ever been on. Like the West Highlands of Scotland, only with hot weather!
As we were all covered in sand at "eating time", I didn't feel comfortable going into the restaurant proper, but there's a fantastic, "relaxed" bench/table virtually on the beach which was perfect for the family. The hostess and serving staff were brilliant - very welcoming (as was the cash machine in the restaurant lobby - another "cash only" restaurant).
A lovely plate of breads/cheeses (and pistachio nuts) was served without asking and free of charge, kids shared a plain pasta dish, we had prawns (shrimps if you're American!) - I don't remember exactly what else we ate, but I do remember it was all stunningly fresh (at least in taste, if not in reality) with home-made pasta. No pizzas - which was a bit of a surprise - we'd assumed an Italian restaurant would have pizza for the kids, but they were *more* than happy with their pasta.
Cocktails were also fantastic. And strong! :)
For me, the combination of food, beach location and relaxed atmosphere made this the best restaurant/meal we had in Mexico!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Tulum”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The menu is small, but the atmosphere is awesome. Right on the beach. Great wine list and while a little pricier than most in Tulum the quality of the food is outstanding. Fresh pasta and wine, what's not to like? We got there on the early side so we had pick of our seats, but it did fill up by 730.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, great food!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It felt like we had stepped right out of Mexico and into the Italian coast.

The food was amazing, and the appetizer of bread, cheese, and cauliflower beforehand was delicious.

Get there before 730pm, it was super busy when we left!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went to this funky beach front restaurant for our anniversary, I brought a bottle of wine that I had saved for this event. My first impression of the eclectic ambience and beautiful view was favorable. After being seated I was quoted a ridiculous corkage and opted to order from their wine list, instead of bringing the wine I ordered the manager stopped by to open my bottle and wave the corkage. Our server came back with a creative presentation of the menu, both of our meals were tremendous and service remained excellent throughout the evening. If you favor chain restaurants this is definitely not for you, if you enjoy truly good food made from the best ingredients you will love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada Margherita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing