We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious and beautiful”
Review of Posada Margherita

Posada Margherita
Ranked #31 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delicious and beautiful”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Completely candle lit - this place was interesting and beautiful and the food may have been the best we had on our trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,524
    489
    254
    118
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Most expensive pasta ever eaten!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I think I have found the most expensive pasta in the entire Mexico! We had been recommend to visit this little restaurant and the atmosphere was very nice, right on the beach with candle lights all over the place.

But paying 25-30 USD for a pasta plate is just not worth it!

The pasta is “home made” and portion are large but it’s just pasta. The bread was good and the service as well. ATM in the restaurant did not work and they only accept CASH so make sure you bring Cash only with you!

Wine list nothing cheaper than the pasta so go for a beer or water! Eat Italian in Italy.

But as said the atmosphere was very nice, romantic and cozy but this is an expensive place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Half8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“my birthday lunch!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were in Tulum for my birthday. We did not stay here but had heard from a few people that this was a great place to eat so I picked it for my birthday lunch and I was not disappointed. I loved the atmosphere; on the beach and pretty but casual. We had a pasta and a fish dish, we were both very happy with our selections. There was a menu with more than three choices...so I do not know if lunch is different or the menus are new?
I give it a big thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh pasta and fish”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time in Tulum and second visit to Posada Margherita. The restaurant offers a very simple, yet delicious and sophisticated menu. The pasta is perfect. Beautifully fresh, cooked with perfectly complimentary sauces. The fresh fish is sumptuous. Recommend the pasta with zucchini and shrimp and fish cooked Acqua Pazza. The atmosphere is also great - relaxed and cool. Wonderful place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

From the minute you enter the grounds of this restaurant, you are charmed by the surrounding and beautiful vegetation. It is like a botanical garden with candles and lanterns. The dining room is rustic and delightful. They make their own pasta, and all ingredients are fresh. The four of us shared two delicious salads, and then we loved our entrees -- pasta with shrimp, enormous shrimp in white wine sauce and red snapper with mushrooms. For dessert, we shared a chocolate mousse and tiramusa. We also ordered an excellent bottle of Chardonnay. We highly recommend this restaurant. It is a little pricey, but it is all worth it. This restaurant only accepts cash.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada Margherita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing