We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It took my breathe away!!!!!”
Review of Casa de las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de las Olas
Ranked #1 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“It took my breathe away!!!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I was expecting to see beauty when i decided to vacation to the Sian ka'an .... But my experience at this hotel superceeded my expectations. The beachfront view literally just a few feet from the window. Clear blue skies, white sand, blue ocean. It seemed as if we were getting a private sunrise every morning. There is a cenote directly across the road. My boyfriend and some of the other guest actually swam out to the reef from the beach... The staff including the proprietor were very helpful and accommedating. David and Antonio were always smiling and ready to be of service. They always made you feel welcome. We where easily connected to other establishments. They knew where most of the best places to eat whether in town or on the beach. David would even prepare small culinary work of art every know and then for lunch/ snack. I lost my camera near the property, in the driveway, in the sand UNKNOWINGLY. Antonio found it and brought it in to JImmy who then later returned it to me. It was like finding a $100 bill in a NY alleyway, I am still very grateful. It was absolute Paradise. I will be going back

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
204
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My wife and I visited for the first time this January and were blown away. The rooms, staff, and beachfront are second to none. This is truly the place to escape and "get off the grid" so to speak from the hustle and bustle of urban life. If you are looking for a place to completely unwind and reconnect to what is important this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViperTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed at Casa de las Olas back in November and had an absolutely lovely trip. If you haven't already been to the Tulum area, you should unquestionably go. Casa de Las Olas is an ideal place to stay while you are there. The House is located on one of the most private tropical beaches I've ever been too! It is literally the last establishment before you reach the beginning of a huge natural reserve where you will find miles and miles of incredibly private white sandy beaches. You can see and hear the beach from the rooms, which are spotless, comfortable and incredibly tasteful. (really pretty tiled bathrooms, great kitchens comfy beds. Overall just a really elegant environment.)

The proprietor was super helpful and knew a lot about the lay of the land. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and gave us great suggestions. He is also friends with many of the locals, so everywhere we went we got VIP treatment. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a beautiful, discreet place to enjoy this magical area.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

It has been two weeks since we have returned from our wonderful vacation at Casa de las olas. The tan is fading but the glow is not. From the time we made our reservations with Heather to the time we sadly left it was perfect. Heather answered all our questions. . Her emails with information about car rental, directions, money exchange and everything else we needed to know eased our worried minds about travel in Mexico. When we arrived we were greeted by Jimmy and the "boys". Our room was on the second floor and had everything we needed. A little kitchen area stocked with coffee, wine, a couple bottles of beer and some limes, a comfey bed and a view to die for. Just steps away was the beach with powder white sand and the bluest of water, aaahhhhh.
I was afraid that my daughter (25) would be bored. But just a walk down the beach were shops and restaurants and she didn't want to leave as much as we did. Jimmy and staff were wonderful, providing us with afternoon bites to eat and great remommedations of things to do. I am ready to go back already.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
Thank vacation1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

our stay was great,it was exactly what we were looking for to re-energize ourselves from a busy and cold winter...the rooms were simple and fuctional with a small kitchenete(i dont think i would do christmas dinner there)but it was adequate for our needs.we had a nice little balcomy in which we were able to have coffee and catch a couple of sunrises as we had bad weather for a coupe of days with a little rain.The staff was helpful and informative,we especially liked Antonio with his sweet deposition and his coconut harvesting talents...nothing beats a good book and fresh coconut water on the beach.The only thing a would reccomend is a small flashlight and bug spray as tulum beach in general is not well lit and some of the restaurants are in jungle type enviroments.our favorite restaurant there was Hartwood a little $$$,but the food was delicious(my wife went back just for the peach crisp the next night which was unfortuneatly sold out)...Tulum beach is a magical spot in the world

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodRegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Casa de las Olas was an amazing experience. The room was wonderful, and the staff was great. Pull up a book and a lounge chair and enjoy the beach for a couple days.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60878Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong/USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Casa de las olas was great. From Heather in her email communications to Jimmy & Matt who lived onsite, the beach, room.... all was great. The staff took very good care of us and gave us plenty of tips and recommendations. We also got a chance to hang out with them, super cool people.

Accommodation:
There is one building where Jimmy & Matt live, while the other building is for guests. There is about a 5 rooms in the guest building and we had the 2nd floor oceanview suite. I got to see 2 other rooms, one which was similar to mine but with a balacony, but if you have the $$$ the downstairs suite is amazing. It has a huge porch, hammocks, king bed(s), beautiful bathroom. Each suite has a small kitchen, fridge, cutlery, etc, not the most modern, but all in good condition. Its a bit pricier than what I would have expected, but over all no complaints. Bathrooms are working condition, but slightly different to what you would expect if you were to stay at a hilton type of place. Beds were fine (actually while visiting they were replacing all rooms with new mattresses) There is wireless and ipod docking station.

Location
Is perfect! Quiet. 20 feet from white sand & turquoise waters. Totally something you would see in a corona commercial. CDLO is at the end of the beach strip, so I highly recommend renting a car. Its right next to the bioreserve entrance gate. If you get a chance you should see sunset at the restaurant inside the reserve. They have great ceviche and margaritas. The city town is just about 10 -15 minutes drive from the resort.

Recommendations:
If you can afford, reserve the master suite
Rent a Car
Bring snacks, drinks, etc. the suites have kitchen amenities but you will still need to do a grocery run or rely on the restaurants on the road for your meals.
Mosquito Spray
Eat at El Tabano for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#22 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Olas

Property: Casa de las Olas
Address: Tulum beach road | Solidaridad, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Olas is a boutique, 7-suite bed and breakfast tucked away along a private stretch of pristine beach in Tulum, Mexico. Casa de las Olas only accepts reservations in advance (they do not encourage walk-ins), thus ensuring that their guests privacy is absolutely paramount. Priding themselves on their personalized approach to hosting their guests - whom are considered and treated as friends rather than clients, they attract a set of like-minded travelers who continue returning to their slice of paradise year after year. Due to their environmental consciousness and location, they cater to a group of forward-thinking, eco aware travelers that are ahead of the curve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Olas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing