We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the Corona Commercial”
Review of Casa de las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de las Olas
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Casa de las olas was great. From Heather in her email communications to Jimmy & Matt who lived onsite, the beach, room.... all was great. The staff took very good care of us and gave us plenty of tips and recommendations. We also got a chance to hang out with them, super cool people.

Accommodation:
There is one building where Jimmy & Matt live, while the other building is for guests. There is about a 5 rooms in the guest building and we had the 2nd floor oceanview suite. I got to see 2 other rooms, one which was similar to mine but with a balacony, but if you have the $$$ the downstairs suite is amazing. It has a huge porch, hammocks, king bed(s), beautiful bathroom. Each suite has a small kitchen, fridge, cutlery, etc, not the most modern, but all in good condition. Its a bit pricier than what I would have expected, but over all no complaints. Bathrooms are working condition, but slightly different to what you would expect if you were to stay at a hilton type of place. Beds were fine (actually while visiting they were replacing all rooms with new mattresses) There is wireless and ipod docking station.

Location
Is perfect! Quiet. 20 feet from white sand & turquoise waters. Totally something you would see in a corona commercial. CDLO is at the end of the beach strip, so I highly recommend renting a car. Its right next to the bioreserve entrance gate. If you get a chance you should see sunset at the restaurant inside the reserve. They have great ceviche and margaritas. The city town is just about 10 -15 minutes drive from the resort.

Recommendations:
If you can afford, reserve the master suite
Rent a Car
Bring snacks, drinks, etc. the suites have kitchen amenities but you will still need to do a grocery run or rely on the restaurants on the road for your meals.
Mosquito Spray
Eat at El Tabano for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

If you are looking for a laid back,off the beaten path, beach vacation this is it.
Rent a car at the Cancun airport,and drive south about 90 min.. When you get to the first stop light entering Tulum turn left and go 10 k to the hotel. If your room has a kitchen shop at the large market located at the same intersection as the stop light.
Jimmy and his staff do a great job making sure your stay is hassel free, with lots of great advice on where to go, and what to see.
I can`t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is a perfect honeymoon getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. The villa is nestled in the jungle right on the beach, which is extemely private. You are bound to see tropical birds, butterflies, and flowers, due to being next to a huge biosphere reserve. The location is great because you are at the end of the beach hotel strip, but still close enough to town and the Tulum ruins. Coba' ruins are not that far away either.
If you are looking to relax, this is the place. The staff is wonderful and the people that stay here were all great. We felt right at home. We are planning on bringing our family here again sometime in the near future.
Fresh coconuts, beautiful carribean sea, falling asleep to the waves, incredible sunrises from your room, what more could you want??

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattoletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Insanely relaxing, romantic, quite, low-key with an on-premise staff that vaults this property over the top. The white sand beach pristine, the crystal blue water pristine, the property location pristine and the property operates like your own private beach home. The best part; Jimmy, Matt, Antonio, and Mattie live alongside and moreover love alongside your travel experience. They exceed every need, know the joint inside and out, keep the vibe chilled, soft, flowing, and personal. This hidden jewel should not be missed. Andrew & Meredith send our best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJLeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Casa Las Olas is a wondeful small hotel which offers perfect peace and quiet on a stunning beach. If you want a traditional large five star hotel, with numerous staff, cocktails by the pool and entertainment then this is not for you. If you want a four bedroom hotel which offers you perfect privacy, friendly service and a wonderful boutique rustic retreat then this is.

As Tulum should be - simply wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thompj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This was my third trip to Tulum (in three years) and my girlfriend's first. In the past I had stayed at villas closer to the center of Boca Paila and had a chance to visit and eat at a good number of the villas and resorts (some small, some sprawling) dotting the coast. For this trip, I was looking for someplace more secluded, more private. Casa de las Olas was exactly what I was looking for. The master suite is as good as it looks. Decadent but not extravagant - lots of sun, sound of the waves, fully stocked kitchen, and clean. No A/C or fans but the breeze did fine (and my temp runs warm). We had the run of the place to ourselves practically the entire time. Being located at the end of Boca Paila right before Sian Kaan means very little foot traffic along the beach and makes you feel like you've got your own private paradise. If you want people waiting on you hand and foot this isn't that. The owner and folks who maintain the place are great and around as much or as little as you like. Plenty of spots you can walk up the beach to and get drink service in a beach chair. I'd encourage renting a car or a moped regardless of where you stay in Tulum, but especially if you decide to stay here. Would definitely come back and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BST3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

At the casa, the perfect private white sand beach awaits just out the door. Great accommodations and incredible views. I stayed in the main room and as I awoke the incredible sunrise was awaiting. Near great restaurants or if you prefer, as I do, great kitchen to do your own meals. It truly is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
3.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 101 in Tulum
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Olas

Address: Tulum beach road | Solidaridad, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $150 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Olas is a boutique, 7-suite bed and breakfast tucked away along a private stretch of pristine beach in Tulum, Mexico. Casa de las Olas only accepts reservations in advance (they do not encourage walk-ins), thus ensuring that their guests privacy is absolutely paramount. Priding themselves on their personalized approach to hosting their guests - whom are considered and treated as friends rather than clients, they attract a set of like-minded travelers who continue returning to their slice of paradise year after year. Due to their environmental consciousness and location, they cater to a group of forward-thinking, eco aware travelers that are ahead of the curve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Olas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing