We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Anywhere!”
Review of Casa de las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de las Olas
Ranked #2 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Casa de las Olas is so close to my heart I hesitate to tell anyone about this amazing secret.

As Tulum is increasingly 'discovered', Olas maintains that classic-Tulum feel of remote perfection, almost too good to be true. This beautiful beach house is tucked at the end of the beach road and out of the fray (which is still fun to visit!), and feels more like staying with a [very lucky] friend than at a hotel or B&B. Jimmy and Sam are both amazing and a part of the Tulum fabric, full of awesome insider tips (like cochinita pibil tucked into a side street in town) and hospitality. Lulu will serve you amazing breakfast at the communal picnic table, down to which you can stumble in the morning before a post-breakfast dip in the Caribbean. And, Antonio will pop down shortly after to grab you a coconut from a nearby tree and hack it open for a refreshing drink.

The house itself is gorgeous, and the rooms have beautiful wood floors, decor, and views of the sea. The power you get is solar generated, which means being both eco-conscious and free of generator noise which is increasingly common at other spots nearby.

I've now stayed at Olas twice and will never stay anywhere else in Tulum.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We loved Casa de las Olas. On the best part of the beach in Tulum it is remote, private, low key, off the gird and special. Very special. Not a hotel really, not a resort, just a rustic but elegant low key beach hacienda in paradise. It is high end (but not obnoxious) and yet still rustic. Like I said special. So if you are looking for something honest and personal, real and memorable, I highly recommend.

Jimmy and Sam really care about Tulum and the property and YOU! and your stay and they will do everything they can to host you as hosting should be done. They are not there to serve you, they are there to host you. It's really wonderful. There is no BS here, no overt pampering, but they have a way about them that is super chill and cool, attentive and well nuturing. The second day I felt like I had known them for 25 years. It felt like we were staying with old friends. But they also get it. They are there for you when you need them but they also let you do your thing if you're looking to be anonymous. Good people.

LuLu's food out of her small kitchen is some of the best in Tulum so get ready for some serious breakfast too.

If you get it and you are not a dummy a snob or a moron, but still like the good life, well then go to Casa de las Olas and say hello to that perfect beach for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a beach vacation but wanted something beyond the all-inclusive we had experienced in the past.

What we found was Casa de las Olas and the Sustainable Food Workshop. We didn’t just go on a vacation, we went on an adventure. The accommodations are not the Four Seasons, but at Casa you leave a very small footprint. We have never slept so close to the ocean and “jungle”, and in such a beautiful and quiet location.

The staff at the property is top notch. Owner/host Jimmy is gregarious, funny, and very welcoming. Sam is super friendly and lovely, and amazingly organized, efficient and accommodating. Antonio and Mari keep the grounds beautiful and the rooms fresh and spotless. There is plenty of space if you want to be alone and just chill, and friendly enough that if there is a run for pork tacos you are invited to grab a spot at the community table, where conversation is easy and laughs are plenty. It really is quite special.

OMG -- THE FOOD! I read about Hartwood in Bon Appetit, June 2011 issue. The article stayed on my nightstand for two years. The food workshop included Hartwood! -- two very hands-on cooking classes followed by the most amazing lunches. And the final dinner with wine pairings was utterly mind-blowing. Chef Eric Werner and his very friendly and knowledgeable staff exceeded all expectations.

Our experience with Chef Claudia, owner of Cetli, was almost spiritual. She glows with her lust for life and love of her culture – and she can cook. Chef Claudia had us in her kitchen making the most incredible and traditional Day of the Dead bread and hand rolling tamales -- all very hands-on and very authentic Mexican cooking.

And, if that wasn’t enough, Jimmy shared some of the most ridiculously amazing food from his favorite local spots through the week. Pork tacos to-die-for, knock-your-socks-off Bloody Marys, whole roasted fish, ceviche (that you cannot stop eating!) and a roasted chicken that had me singing “I’m in heaven”. Seriously good stuff!

So if you are looking for something beyond the cookie-cutter beach vacation try the majorly laid back atmosphere at the Casa. Make it an adventure!

Peggy and Fred
Chicago, Il and Louisville, Ky

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was definitely one of those skeptical one, worried about the lack of “modern amenities” (largely A/C related), before signing up for a 3 nights stay at Casa de las Olas. And to ease my anxiety, I split my week long trip to Mayan Riviera into two (Tulum followed by an all-inclusive luxury resort in Playa del Carmen). But what a big mistake! As soon as we drove into the courtyard of Casa de las Olas, we knew we were at home away from home with Sam greeted us warmly and Herschel (resident dachshund) followed with her wiggling tail!

Everything at Casa de las Olas is effortless and at ease. We stayed at ocean from junior suite, which was clean and comfortably appointed without any unnecessary clutter or frills. Also, with only a few rooms available, both the ground and the beach front area are always quiet/well maintained and we felt like we were at our own beach front house. Furthermore, to our surprise, they now have an excellent chef who whips up amazing breakfast and lunch at your request, which you can eat at the communal picnic table in the tree covered courtyard. Since we were curious of Tulum food scene, we weren’t as keen on “hotel” served breakfast at first. But once again, what a big mistake! From its rustic / cozy kitchen, they serve fantastic dishes and the signature salsa verde is so addictive!!!

As other reviewers have testified many times, Sam provided amazing tips for things to do and restaurants to try out, which included hole-in-the-wall type places in Pueblo (fantastic places!). But most importantly, Sam and all other staffs at Casa de las Olas made me feel at home and helped me to relax and appreciate “slow pace of living."

I know for fact that this is only the beginning and I will return to Casa de las Olas for more wonderful stories to share…

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomwalk_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Director of Possibilities at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hola randomwalk_nyc,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and very thorough review! I'm so glad your stay was memorable and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our chef, Lulu also thanks you tremendously for your kind words about her cooking. She creates every order from scratch, and all are made with her passion and love. She is thrilled that she was able to introduce you to her traditional mexican cooking!

On behalf of the entire team here, thank you so much for all your kind thoughts. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and sharing more hidden gems in Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We enjoyed a stay with the family at the Casa de las Olas early last November.
As newlyweds, we were looking for a place to resource after the wedding madness, a place that would offer us a unique experience for our Honeymoon.
We are young adults that were looking for anything but an all-included resort experience, hoping for a place that would reflect our values and our way to see life.
All of the above were completely fulfilled with our stay at Casa de las Olas and as we enroll to be part of Food Workshop that took place in Tulum for the Dia del muertos Festival.

The workshop was tha’ bomb!! We had the chance to part of a small group of awesome people who all share great love for food and a desire to learn about Mexico local & sustainable approach. The workshop gave us the opportunity to work closely with the chef and the staff of 2 famous restaurants in Tulum: Hartwood & Cetli.

During the classes we had with Eric from Hartwood we learned the art of grilling meat, skinning fishes, working with seasonal ingredients, doing an exquisite ceviche, and it goes on! Everybody is put to work during classes and you have the chance to interact with the chef and is staff as you would with your own family. At the end, we all enjoyed the meal we had prepared all together. Really, really greats moments.

Then, we also had the chance to be introduce to the very intimate and warm environment of Cetli restaurant and it passionate chef Claudia.
We were welcome to her kitchen and learned to make traditional tamales, pan del muerto and chocolate (hot coco) from the beans! Our absolute favorite! Claudia taught us patiently the how-to traditional Mexican cuisine and demonstrate to us how time, love and patience is the key to delicious and tradition Mexican meals.

And it didn’t stop there, as the staff from the Casa kept introducing us to local flavors every chances they have! From Pork breakfast tacos, to the BEST chicken we ever had at Pollo El Broco, fried fresh fishes and ceviche from El Camillo Jr, without forgetting Mari’s famous guacamole! Everything we tasted was more delicious than the other!

Ohh, ohh! and I forgot to talk about the Final dinner, where our small group along with our classes facilitators enjoyed a 7 courses meal!! All paired with an exquisite selection of Mexican wines (yes! Mexico offers great wines :) Amazing!

Really, we couldn’t be more pleased with the Food Workshop we had the chance to experience and were delighted by our honeymoon in Tulum.

Thank you Casa de La Olas for putting together this fantastic workshop.

Yours truly,
Emilie & Tuan
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Director of Possibilities at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Emilie,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your sweet review! We had a blast hosting you and your husband for your honeymoon and sharing our food workshop event during such a special time. With each new intimate Eat Retreat, we enjoy the opportunity to introduce our guests to the authentic culture of Tulum and the incredible cooking techniques from both Hartwood and Cetli restaurants. We were fortunate (again!) to receive such a lovely group of like-minded and forward thinking travelers to share this experience with. Thank you for all the warmth, laughs and soul you brought to everyone's trip that week. We hold it fondly in our memories and look forward to sharing more in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just spent six days at Casa de las Olas with another couple and had an absolutely wonderful time. Our friends rented a smaller room upstairs and we rented the suite, which is on the first floor with two queen beds, a beautiful bathroom, a nice kitchen and dining space, and a stunning large porch overlooking the ocean 50' away. Casa de las Olas is located just steps from the entrance to Sian Kaan biological preserve and on a wonderful beach with the most perfect sand, palm trees, 85-degree water, wonderful breezes and medium-size surf---big enough for some boogie boarding.

But I haven't even mentioned the best of Casa de las Olas---Jimmy, the owner. Jimmy is an ex-pat from New York City, street-wise with a million great stories to tell and he is just the sweetest and most helpful guy you will ever meet on vacation. We had a general idea what we wanted to do in Tulum, but Jimmy planned out each of our days and we did and saw things we otherwise would have missed. And his general manager Sam [Samantha], a very cute young blond, is fun to chat with and full of info. You won't find two better people on a vacation than Jimmy and Sam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtsaperstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in the main suite for one week. Lovely kitchen, large spacious living room with two queen beds in the rear of the area. Well lit bathroom. Plenty of hot water. Power for charging phones and cameras. Fresh drinking water provided. Right on the beach - sleep to the waves at night. Never had any unwelcomed bugs. A couple of mosquitoes - that's all. Jimmy was always available if we needed something - he owns and lives on the property. Sam handled all our organizational booking needs. Maria cleaned our room with a smile and Antonio helped with whatever we needed (baggage, preparing a coconut, lighting the barbecue) and he kept the grounds immaculate. Will we go back? Definitely.

Walked the beach everyday. By chance, witnessed a turtle hatch (70+ babies) one morning – it was over in 15 minutes so that would have been impossible to plan. Despite ensuring that they all made it to the water safely, unfortunately the hungry cormorants plucked most of the babies out the ocean.

Ate a Le Zebra twice (we stayed there last year) - very good food, familiar smiling helpful faces.

We rented a car from Payless in Tulum and had a great experience. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vball_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
923 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
3.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 101 in Tulum
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Olas

Address: Tulum beach road | Solidaridad, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $150 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Olas is a boutique, 7-suite bed and breakfast tucked away along a private stretch of pristine beach in Tulum, Mexico. Casa de las Olas only accepts reservations in advance (they do not encourage walk-ins), thus ensuring that their guests privacy is absolutely paramount. Priding themselves on their personalized approach to hosting their guests - whom are considered and treated as friends rather than clients, they attract a set of like-minded travelers who continue returning to their slice of paradise year after year. Due to their environmental consciousness and location, they cater to a group of forward-thinking, eco aware travelers that are ahead of the curve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Olas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing