We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves and relaxation”
Review of Casa de las Olas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de las Olas
Ranked #2 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Casa de las Olas is wonderful. We stayed in the big suite on the ground floor, which was so spacious and great if you wanted to cook for yourself (which we did). The property is right at the end of the beach road, and so a little distance from most of the restaurants and bars. You probably need a bike or a car to get around, as it gets dark quite early and there aren't many lights down in Tulum beach. But this is a really lovely place, so peaceful and slightly off the beaten track. There is something really unique about having the waves crashing only about 15m from your bed...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TJOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Manager at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear TJOxford,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and for the gracious review. We're happy to hear that your family had a lovely time in Tulum on our property. Please know you are all always welcome here whenever you find you need a space to rejuvenate.

Cheers from Tulum!
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 362 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took a trip down to Riviera Maya late August. First stop was Casa De Las Olas in Tulum.

First off, it is not as hard to get to as you may think. Make sure to use the concrete arch as your benchmark. If you pass it, then you have gone too far.

Now for the good stuff: This was without a doubt one of our best stays ever. The location is unbeatable, the accommodations fantastic and you practically have the beach all to your self.

Additionally, Jim (or Jimmy), the owner is a wonderful and gracious host. He directed us to the best places to eat which where fantastic (make sure to ask about the cochinita pibil place and the adoboada tacos!). He was also instrumental in some sightseeing places. COBA was magnificent and we would not have gone there had it not been for Jim.

But, if you just go and stay at Casa De Las Olas and never leave this place, believe me, you will absolutely more than fine!

Thank you Jim! We had a fantastic time and definitely will be back. Came as guests, left as friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Director of Possibilities at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Allen A,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so happy we were able to provide an excellent experience for both you and your wife.

Looking forward to hosting you in the future and sharing more incredible tacos at our top secret cochinita pibil spot!

Sam & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What can I say but I return again and again to Casa de las Olas. The rooms are comfortable, beautiful and clean. Love the beach too! Tulum is a great spot to unwind, but also a good home base for so many excursions.

Room Tip: I've stayed in almost every room. I really like them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Director of Possibilities at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Jaja,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Casa de las Olas with other travelers. We are so glad that you had yet another excellent stay with us. We're looking forward to hosting you for our upcoming sustainable food workshop.

See you soon for a week of exquisite meals, beach relaxation, adventures and fun!

Sam & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my second time staying at Casa de las Olas and just like the first time I stayed here in 2012, I had a great time. I was in Mexico for about a week and a half and spent most of it in Playa Del Carmen. After spending 3 days in Tulum at the casa, I realized how much more I enjoyed Tulum. One of the main reasons why I enjoyed Tulum was because of the staff at Casa de las Olas.

Sam was very helpful and friendly with the bookings. The rest of the staff was always warm, friendly and inviting. Antonio brought a fresh coconut on the beach after I spent hours bodyboarding in the water. Jimmy knows all the best places to eat. He took me and 2 other guests to the best Tacos Al Pastor place we've ever had. The next morning we had the best pork tacos. They were so good that I ate 6 of them and still wanted more. On my last day there, he took me to a great seafood restaurant where we ordered takeout.

The rooms were very clean and refreshing. It was great to sleep and wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing on the shore. If you are looking for a relaxing place to spend your time in Tulum, this is the place. If you need anything, the staff and Jimmy will go above and beyond to give you what you need. You will never get this kind of value in Mexico. I have stayed in a lot of places in Mexico and by far Casa de las Olas is my favourite. I am looking forward to my next rejuvenating stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Director of Possibilities at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Joe30s,

Thank you for choosing Casa de las Olas again for your stay in Tulum and for the kind words regarding our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you as always and we're glad you enjoyed your quick getaway. We look forward to seeing you in the future and sharing more hidden gems and great eats with you in Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very private and environmentally friendly property, well serviced by a personalized team of 4 (Jimmy, Sam, Antonio & Mara). It's comfortable & casual - do whatever you want, whenever you want. As a solo traveller, I felt very at home and safe. The sound of the waves (24 x 7) was absolutely refreshing and invigorating............easy access to the beach and it was amazing that I could be a "beach-bum" for 5 days!!!! A fantastic place to rest, relax & rejuvenate. Loved it....:)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jong_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Manager at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Jong_66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Casa de las Olas with other travelers. We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay and were able to successfully unplug and relax! It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing a few special dinners together. Please know you are always welcome here whenever you find you need a space to rejuvenate. We look forward to hosting you and your wonderful friend in the future!

Warm Regards from Tulum,
Casa de las Olas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After much thoughts and preparations about vacationing in Mexico, we finally found Casa de las Olas, exactly what we were looking for for a perfect summer vacation. Away from mass tourism, adventure (Fabian's boat tours), the friendliest staff (thanks Jimmy, Sam and Antonio!!), exclusivity and the most beautiful location in Tulum (love our veranda in the Master suite). One of our biggest highlights, observing a big turtle lay its eggs right in front of us late one night. Amazing!!! Words can not describe our week-long stay there. A perfect combination of relaxation, adventure, sports and culture!! Would definitely come back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank till_ic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadelasolas, Manager at Casa de las Olas, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear New Friends,

Thank you for choosing Casa de las Olas for your stay in Tulum and for such a beautiful review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family for your vacation, sharing our BBQ dinner and being able to guide you through our favorite adventures and local restaurants. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Casa de las Olas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't go to Olas if you want Yoga under a Plapa although I do hear that it's coming. Don't go if you want Cabana boys waiting on you. Don't go if you want to pay ridiculous prices for an ECO-Sheik environment. Olas is very ECO, just not sheik or pretentious. If you want the massages Jimmy will bring the best to your room. He's got all the connections. Go to the Market the first day you get there and buy all the fresh veggies and organic meats you can and cook your own meals cause' the best part of the experience is grilling your own food and hanging out with Jimmy and the other guests. It'd kind of like a East Coast family Bar-B-Q but in paradise. We had a great time. The Master suite is stellar with ridiculously perfect views, great decor and a nice relaxing vibe. This is a real do-it-yourself place without a lot of frills but really well put together. The first day, my wife wanted to leave and find a resort but after a couple of days (of course with me cooking for her), she loved the experience. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpagego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
924 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 101 in Tulum
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
3.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#23 of 101 in Tulum
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Olas

Address: Tulum beach road | Solidaridad, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $150 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Olas is a boutique, 7-suite bed and breakfast tucked away along a private stretch of pristine beach in Tulum, Mexico. Casa de las Olas only accepts reservations in advance (they do not encourage walk-ins), thus ensuring that their guests privacy is absolutely paramount. Priding themselves on their personalized approach to hosting their guests - whom are considered and treated as friends rather than clients, they attract a set of like-minded travelers who continue returning to their slice of paradise year after year. Due to their environmental consciousness and location, they cater to a group of forward-thinking, eco aware travelers that are ahead of the curve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Olas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing