We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Greta trip with Jorge

Probably one of the most knowledgeable guides in Quintana Roo. Jorge can even HEAR ANTS. Amazing... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Inspire779834
Incredible birdwatching trip with Jorge

We had such a beautiful trip out on the boat with Jorge to look for and learn about the endless... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jia_tolentino
Read all 73 reviews
  
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
72
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna deep knowledge guide jorge sian ka'an early morning birding bird watching freshwater lagoon amazing wildlife punta laguna bird species spiritual experience gorgeous cenote quintana roo entire tour amazing tour his passion howler monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017

Jorge was kind, funny, passionate, and unbelievably knowledgeable. We went birdwatching around Tulum and despite rain saw dozens of Tulum's finest flora and fauna. Thank you to Jorge for a great trip.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Partner at Green Maya Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hello James,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience that Jorge and Green Maya created for you. Thank you for spending your time with us, Jorge had a lovely day as well. Please let us know when you plan to visit again, we have many beautiful places to explore & discover. Aho Mitakuye Oyasin..... for all our relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

.....Lightning rarely strikes in the same spot twice but in this case Jorge is a true magician. Jorge was able to recreate the same magic we felt on our previous tour in Tulum. Jorge is a master in the craft of hospitality and understands the value of a relaxed and unrehearsed tour. He speaks a universal truth that straddles the growing gap between man and nature. He is able to see nature with the gifted eyes of a seeker and experience it with the bold curiousity of a child.
The real gift here folks is that Jorge does not use smoke and mirrors to create this magic. He simply sets the table and creates a time and space where nearly anything can happen.
Jorge
Brian, Santa Rosa Cal.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank SaintRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Partner at Green Maya Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Wow, thank you for the beautiful review! Jorge is one of a kind and we are honored that you felt exactly the way we hoped you to feel. It's our intention to create an experience that you will remember for years to come. One that connects you to nature. That can't be rehearsed. Please let us know if you plan to return, I'm sure that we can make lighting strike for a third time.... we have many beautiful places to explore.
Aho Mitakuye Oyasin.... for all our relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

We spent two days touring the Sian Ka'an biosphere and Muyil with Jorge and they were the highlights of our week-long stay in Tulum. Sian Ka'an is a magical place and Jorge's knowledge & love of the area made the days truly special. We'd originally planned for a single day tour, but on the drive back to the hotel were already making plans for an additional trip with Jorge. His understanding of the history & ecology of the region, and his patience in answering all of our many questions, were much appreciated, as were his delicious foods, but his kindness & thoughtfulness (as well as Sara's, in planning our days) were what made the tours a delight, and left us with many wonderful memories.

Date of experience: March 2017
3  Thank F4001KJchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Partner at Green Maya Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words and for extending your adventures! Jorge enjoyed the lovely two days out in nature with your family. We are beyond grateful to have the opportunity to live/work in such a magical place. It's also ecologically sensitive and very important for the health of the planet and of life. We feel it is our responsibility to share. We are very pleased to hear of your wonderful memories, our mission is to create an unforgettable experience(s) with our guests. If your travels bring you back to the area please reach out, we are constantly finding new places to explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We took the daylong excursion to Punta Allen and it was magical. It allowed us to absorb and understand the riches and delicacy of the beautiful ecosystem In Sian Ka'an. Jorge was a gracious and expert guide who garnered our deepest respect. He knows and loves the land and was able to give us a personal experience of the land, sea, wildlife, plant life, Mayan culture and the current culture. We saw sea turtles, dolphins, rays, fish, lobster, beautiful sea birds all in the wild. That is no easy feat. We swam and snorkeled in gorgeous waters. His hospitality in terms of food and drink was amazing. He shared fresh fruits from his garden and more. It was fluid working with he and Sara to arrange the excursion and get all our questions handled. His team is truly professional. Of all the beautiful experiences we have had in the Rivera Maya, this is the most meaningful and the one that captured my heart.

Date of experience: March 2017
3  Thank MaryLothrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Partner at Green Maya Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We were honored to share the magic and beauty of the area. The full day to Punta Allen is the excursion that offers the most in terms of what you will see and experience. It is truly a full day in nature's playgrounds! We are beyond grateful for your families contributions to the experience. We learn from our guests as well. Our mission is to create an experience and capture your heart, we are very pleased to hear this. If your travels bring you back to the area please look us up, we are always discovering new adventures. Blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We spent a very interesting and informative day with Jorges touring the Sian Ka'an biosphere by boat. Jorges took us to places we could never have explored by ourselves and his knowledge of the plants. birds and wildlife is second to none. He is a passionate environmentalist and his love for the region was infectious. My only reservations would be that the tour was expensive in comparison to other trips that we took (that were equally good) and his talks became slightly too much of a polemic at times.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Partner at Green Maya Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you kindly for your review. We are beyond grateful for the opportunity to live and work in an area where the beauty of nature is still visible. Jorge is honored to share his knowledge and passion for the environment. The area is very ecologically sensitive and it's important to connect our human behaviors to the destruction of the natural world. We do understand that our prices are higher than other local tour companies. However that is because we offer our guests quality food and beverage, we take care of the third parties
that we work with (transportation for instance), and we also buy carbon credits to offset the environmental footprint of the excursion. If your travels bring you to the area again we would love an opportunity to make you feel you received your moneys worth - we can customize an excursion for your family. Blessings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews