We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Community Tours Sian Ka'an
Open today: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
My favourite adventure on the Yucatan

This was the best thing I experienced during my 12 day trip to the Yucatan. Memo, our guide, was so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
macjoyous
,
United Kingdom
Mayaking tour

We did a 3 hour tour with the amazing guide, Manuel. He is a biologist and nature lover who’s... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ninag733
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 394 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tulum
from $109.00
More Info
from $170.00
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $130.00
More Info
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
328
39
9
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
328
39
9
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muyil forest float tour sian ka'an community center small museum butterfly enclosure the reserve mayan culture guide jenny pumpkin seeds boat driver observation tower baby crocodile bird species non profit outstanding guide tour ended
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 394 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Exceptional service, really wonderful tour of the archeological site at Muyil, fun boat trip, total highlight floating down the canal. So beautiful so relaxing. Very delicious food too.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Sparkleye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We loved our tour! Our guide and boat pilot were very knowledgeable. We saw more than 5 manatees, an osprey feeding its young, a crocodile, and many more birds and fish. Our guide was enthusiastic and taught us a lot about the ecology of the place and its significance to Mayan culture. Our tour ended with a wonderful homemade lunch, which was some of the best food we had in Mexico. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour to anyone.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank williamgX9636EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

We were not able to arrive at the Community Tour Sian Kaan office for their regular tour time. Luckily, we picked a tour company that was very accommodating. They scheduled a time that was convenient for us! After a brief stop at the office in Muyil our guide, Javier, brought us to the beginning of our day's adventure. We climbed aboard the 6 passenger boat and Phillipe, the boat driver, successfully fought the wind, steered us past the crocodile, and headed us off across the beautiful blue lagoon. Along the way, Phillipe and Javier would point out different things for us to see and Javier would patiently answer our many questions. Some of our group chose not to actually float down the ancient canal and Phillipe was kind enough to give them a canal tour by boat and find a nice shady place to wait for the floaters to finish. We were not fortunate to spot a manatee on our trip, but it wasn't for lack of trying. The last stop on our tour was a beautiful secluded beach where we had authentic Mayan tamales as a snack. All along the tour we saw many different kinds of birds: ospreys, herons, egrets, Great blue herons, pelicans, vultures, and were super lucky to spot a rosea spoonbill (bright pink) flying overhead. The skill of our boat driver as he navigated the back and forth twist and turns of the mangrove canals and the knowledge of our guide as he proudly told us information about this special place made our tour both enjoyable and informative. Our tour concluded back at the Muyil Community Tour building where we enjoyed a delicious and beautifully presented Mayan red snapper dinner. Kudos to both our knowledgable guide Javier, and our skillful boat driver, Phillipe. I definitely recommend both!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 350debe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

not far from playa del carmen on the yucatan is a wonderful nature preserve called the biosphere. we were staying on cozumel and took the ferry to playa del carmen and then a taxi to the biosphere. this was a last minute excursion and the taxi driver took us to the tour place there run by local people. we took a few hour boat tour of a small portion of the giant biosphere preserve. the guide was wonderful and very informative. we boated thru several beautiful lagoons but the absolute best part was just floating down the river or canal with our local guide. it was so peaceful and so, so beautiful. one of the absolute highlights of our trip .......spectacular !!! ( I am generally not one for adventurous/potentially dangerous trips but this felt very safe and so , so peaceful) and so nice to support the local people in preserving their natural heritage.
also, the taxi driver waited for us and area is very quiet and would be hard to get a cab back to town otherwise. not expensive as I recall but so worth every penny!
we were there 11/2018.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank wendypL4806BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We took a private tour combining a 2.5 hour bird watching walk and a boat tour through 3 lagoons with Sian Kaan tours.
The bird watching walk in proximity of the Sian Kaan tour headquarter yielded over 30 species of common and less common species, some endemic. One of the highlights was the observation of both local species of toucan! Antonio was an expert guide, both at spotting and identifying the local species, but also in helping us see the birds . After a hearty breakfast , we took a boat across the lagoons, an area of stunning beauty. We did a channel float, and continued wildlife watching, with highlights including flamingoes, manatees and crocodiles.
Antonio again went out of his way to help us see the animals and provide background information. The tour ended with a delicious lunch.
We highly recommend Sian Kaan tours for their deep expertise in biology and ecology, and professional organization, and of course Antonio as super knowledgeable and trusted guide.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank GerdKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews