We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Snorkel Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edventure Tours

Edventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 94 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the ancient Mayan Ruins, to the pristine turquoise waters of the Caribbean- and so much more in between. Snorkel, zipline, Jungle ATV ride, Mayan Ruins~ and ALL in one day if you like!! We want to show you the best this area has to offer! Experience the cenotes- the amazing underground river, snorkel a natural aquarium full of brilliant colored tropical fish. Swim with the majestic sea turtles- watch as they glide effortlessly, eating the sea grasses in their own natural environment. Zipline deep in the jungle with connecting hanging bridges, rappel, rock climb, cliff jump… all in a day’s play! Let us customize a day for you! We’d be honored to share with you, this wonderful Paradise!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Snorkel Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We took their Snorkel + Optional Turtle tour: Dos Ojos cenote, Akumal Bay to swim with the turtles, and Yal Ku to swim with the fish. All admission fees, transportation, all the snorkel equipment, a wet suit (recommended as the cenote water is about 75 degrees and it also prevents sunburn on the back and shoulders when snorkeling outside), a flashlight, lunch, snacks and plenty of drinks were included.

Everything was outstanding from pickup to drop off. Our guide, Javier, epitomizes what an outstanding guide should be. He is very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, worked hard to insure everyone had a great time and his English was very good. We recommend asking for him.

We have snorkeled many times so we will try to put what we saw into perspective:
The cenote snorkel was fascinating as one is actually swimming in a cave with stalagmites and stalagtites, hence very different than a reef. Since the cenotes are limestone holes/caves, the colors are shades of beige and gray with a few small fish. This is probably as close as a snorkeler can come to experiencing cave diving. Akumal Beach is very pretty and one walks into the water to snorkel in an indicated area. We saw about 6 turtles grazing on the sea floor grass. They were medium size turtles, about 18 - 20 inches long. The reef there is nice and most newer snorkelers should enjoy it. It was a good experience. Yal Ku is called the "natural aquarium" because it is one of the places the underground rivers meet the sea in a natural lagoon setting. When we were there, tens of thousands of sardines (really) were in the lagoon. We have never seen anything like it before. In addition, pelicans dove into the water only a few feet from us, several times. Javier said they like to do that. It must be a new species, "show time pelicans". :) You will sleep very well that night.

NET: An excellent tour company, an outstanding guide and a fun day snorkeling. Their email communication was excellent and the tour was run very well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    55
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This "Edventure" had it all!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This tour is fantastic people - don't even spend the time to look further! This was our first time using this tour outfit. Eddie at Edventure Tours and his knowledgable, courteous, professional, and completely on-the-ball staff were honestly the best ever and we were a big private group of 18 ranging in age from early 50's down to 7 yrs old. We did the whole enchilada - the "Extreme" tour - started 7:30 and returned ~6pm - it was a great, full day.
They pick you up at your hotel and return you home at end of day and it is included in price - totally nice!
Our driver Carlos was awesome - thanks for all the history re Mayan and Aztec culture and letting us talk your ears off on the drive :0)
Eddie was thorough and knew his stuff like clockwork! Him and his staff processed us through swiftly with minimal waiting. They provide ALL the equipment you need (unless you bring your own) and it's included in the 1 fee + lunch. No nickel and dining you! All the bottled water we could want was included in the price! Also soda and beer!
Do yourself a favor and spend the $40 to have your guide take the pictures. It's a minimal price to ensure that there are great shots of everyone in your party. You get all the photos on a disc at days end. We had just under 500 photos on our disc! You may think you'll be able to get the shots but you won't!!
Our guides Edgar and Gabriel were absolutely outstanding! THey were walking encyclopedias - and took excellent care of us!! Edgar took great great shots of us all, including some 2 and 3 person group shots, was playful and he engaged with all ages of our group. Both gentlemen were in there with us play by play all day, explaining, informing, and helping us understand what we were seeing, and helping us with our Spanish during the travel times to the different event sites.
Wall climbing and repelling was before lunch - if you're not interested there is plenty of space to sit back and watch the others! ( at any point you can do this really!)
The lunch provided was very very good! Sorry - can't remember the cooks name but it was great!
Btw - The staff at Selva Maya Expeditions where we ziplined/rock climbed/repelled/cenote swam were wonderful! Cesar and his co-guides were excellent - they ran the zip line portion like a well oiled machine! Can't remember the cenote guide but he was patient and knowledgeable as well! Safety first is clearly apparent and yet all the guys were very friendly and had fun with us as well!
The cenote swimming/snorkeling was really fun - both in an open cenote and in an underground one.
Back to the ocean at Akumal for swimming/snorkeling with the turtles, fish, etc. - the turtles were very cool - calmly oblivious of all of us around them!
The "brackish" water snorkeling was just amazing!! A sea of sardines that moved around you! The kids loved this and so did the big 'kids' :0)
You don't need to horse water around but do remember to bring some snacks because none are provided and you are kept busy and will get hungry!!
Best, most packed day - many activities but at no time did anyone get bored or kids whiny - we were kept busy all day and the team good excellent care of us. Thank you sooooo much!! -
Signed: "la hermana mayor" :0)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Edventure Tour's Guide, Moses, Delivers Visitors to Promised Land - Absolutely Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The day we spent with Edventure and our guide Moses was an amazing day for our family of 5. From my first email contact with Ed and Bonnie, the owners of the tour company, I knew we were in great hands. They responded to my initial inquiry and subsequent questions immediately and the whole process, even paying a deposit online- was as easy as could be. Everything was exactly as described. Our driver in a Mercedes van was even early picking us up at our hotel for the ride to Tulum and the Edventure shop. We met Ed and Moses our terrific guide and toured the Tulum ruins where Moses navigated the crowds like a pro and gave us more info than we could possible remember. Our snorkel adventure included the Cenotes which were otherworldly and beautiful, Akumal with the tortoises (Moses found 4 of them and one even surfaced near us) and the lagoon. Moses was charming, helpful and patient especially with me, a novice snorkeler, holding my hand and encouraging me through all the snorkel trips. It was clear that Moses would do anything to make our day the best day of our vacation- which it was. So glad we found Edventures and you will be too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank susanrobin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are in the Riviera Maya definitely do this. We were 2 couples and arranged a private tour which was reasonably priced for what we got. We skipped Tulum ruins because we have been there before though that is one of the options. On our tour they picked us up at our hotel, took us to their office in Tultm to get outfitted with snorkeling gear and to meet our guide. We had a driver and a guide in a van. First stop was snorkeling in cenotes which are underground waterways that go through caves. We saw beautiful formations of stalactites coming down from the ceiling of the cave. We had lights which we could shine up to look at all the formations because it was dark in there. Then off to Akumal to snorkel with turtles. This is an easy snorkel, the water is calm and the turtles were not that far from the shore. They are there eating the grass that is growing under the water. Next stop is snorkeling in a lagoon which we had been to before on another trip but which we wanted to experience again. This time it was very different! We had expected a variety of tropical fish which we had seen on our first trip a number of years ago. This time the lagoon was loaded with literally thousands of sardines! They were everywhere swimming in schools and it was quite a sight. There were only a few tropical fish there this time. After all this activity we went to a beach restaurant. The restaurant charges are not included in the trip cost. We were returned to our hotel totally satisfied with our adventure. Don't miss it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One fun filled day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a fantastic adventure! Our family of four, including kids ages 7 and 10, did the full day tour, along with Akumal turtles and Tulum (unguided).
Our tour started a little quickly when our alarms did not go off and we awoke to a call from the front desk stating that our van was there! Because of this, we went with only our suits and the clothes on our backs. We forgot sunscreen and towels and didn't even have time for breakfast! It worked out fine, though. Our tour started at Tulum where we had to buy biodegradable sunscreen anyway and there was food there for purchase - having no towels was a little weird but worked out fine, too!
Tulum was a little crazy crowded. We had been there in 2003 and it has certainly changed a lot. We went through it pretty quickly which was fine because it was hot and our kids were not really into it. :)
After that, Eduardo took us in his personal vehicle to the jungle portion of the tour. Then Cesar, the "King of the Jungle!" drove us to the starting point. What a fun ride! My 7yr old was screeching with joy as we bounced and raced down 4miles of Jungle roads!
When we arrived deep in the jungle at our meeting place, we were met by Javier, Omar, Raul and a few others (I am so sorry that I forgot their names!), along with another group of 6. From there we zip-lined, swam the cenotes, rock climbed and rappelled! It was so much fun and the kids had a blast - they even let us zip line upside-down!
After the cenotes, we were served a WONDERFUL lunch and then we returned back to the entrance where we were shuttled over to Akumal for our sea turtle adventure! At Akumal, Javier took us past the roped off area and the tourists and took us right to the turtles! We saw so many (which was great kept missing them in Maui and Oahu!)!
All in all, the day was exactly what we had hoped for. Eduardo and his guys do a FANTASTIC job of making the whole adventure fun and personalized. And, at the end of it all, we purchased all the pics from the trip for only $30!
Thanks, Edventure Tours and Selva Adventures for such a GREAT day!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edventure Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Edventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing