We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it”
Review of Edventure Tours

Edventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 101 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the ancient Mayan Ruins, to the pristine turquoise waters of the Caribbean- and so much more in between. Snorkel, zipline, Jungle ATV ride, Mayan Ruins~ and ALL in one day if you like!! We want to show you the best this area has to offer! Experience the cenotes- the amazing underground river, snorkel a natural aquarium full of brilliant colored tropical fish. Swim with the majestic sea turtles- watch as they glide effortlessly, eating the sea grasses in their own natural environment. Zipline deep in the jungle with connecting hanging bridges, rappel, rock climb, cliff jump… all in a day’s play! Let us customize a day for you! We’d be honored to share with you, this wonderful Paradise!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Totally worth it”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We took a package with them and it was GREAT! Our guide Moises was a lot of fun to be with, and what he promised we will see underwater we saw it. The price is was good for all that they offer. If I comeback to Tulum I would definitely call them!

Helpful?
Thank Azuandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    57
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 days with Eds, Life couldn't be better”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had 2 amazing days with Eds!
I don't have to describe the minute to minute details of our days, but just need to let Ed, Bonnie and their amazing staff know that we loved every minute of each day. They went above and beyond when I lost my camera on the first day and they searched for hours and presented it to me at the end of our second day. I cant say enough about Raoul and Qiqe. Probably two of the most amazing guides that you can have. As we waited in the "office" the second day Raoul came up and gave hugs to say hi. We felt like family. On the ziplining day, all of the staff was fun and safe all at the same time.

A word about the second day, if you look under tours on the website there is a list of other tours, we took the Si'an Kaan, Punta Allen tour. This is an amazing tour, but be prepared, even though the sign to Punta Allen says 56k it takes 2 hours to get there.

We had 7 of us so we required 2 vehicles, the "adventure" vehicle was a jeep YJ (open air) our teenagers were beyond thrilled and stuffed themselves into it. We adults got a jeep Cherokee (or like it) we adults were thrilled (air conditioning, oh yeah!).

On the way back there was a torrential rain, the YJ jeep had a cover that didn't quite close so the kids were soaked,(Uncle Horace, who was driving us adults thought it was the funniest thing ever, we couldn't help but laugh with him). Don't get me wrong, the kids with Qiqe had the most amazing time ever and will tell stories forever, but if your looking for more comfort, maybe mention this to Ed at time of booking since I believe he rents the vehicles for this excursion.

About the excursion itself, I will say well worth the hours spent in the vehicle. Bird Island, Dolphins in the wild, snorkeling at the worlds second largest reef, swimming at the most beautiful beach I've ever seen, lunch (dinner by the time we got back) at Punta Allen and pictures and video taken by Qiqe.

So much for not going into detail, just know that the days were worth every penny!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“As advertised: could not be better”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband booked a full day of activities for us through Edventure Tours because of his research on Tripadvisor. We started by sightseeing in Tulum on our own (which was great, because it was so hot that kids flagged quickly). We met our guide, Gabriel, at the Edventures storefront at Tulum. We first went to ziplining. We each did two separate ziplines, both over small lakes. Because of the location, we had to be able to swim in order to zipline. One of the kids did not want to go ziplining, and Gabriel watched him. He also took photos with our own camera. We had paid for him to take photos with his camera which then was downloaded to a CD for us (this was $40 for the day). After ziplining to the other side, we kayaked back to land. Next was to the cenotes to snorkel. All equipment was provided. We brought our own swimming goggles as we do not like using snorkels, and they worked great. The water is brackish (salty, but not as salty as ocean water). It was so clear that we had incredible views of the stalagmites and the small fish in the water. The caves are very clean. There were few people in the water. For those timid swimmers, they provide floating noodles. Then we went to a private lake to dive from a small cliff--- maybe 20 feet. It was fun, not too intimidating. Then it was to swim with the sea turtles. This is not a casual swim. It is a swim from a beach at a protected area (although next to hotels) at Akumal Bay. You are not allowed to chase or touch turtles. You swim about 100 yards into the ocean. It is shallow, but where the turtles are, the water is about 15-20 feet deep. You do see quite a few turtles up close. Sometimes there are rays. Then we had lunch in a restaurant by the sea. It is a casual place where people eat in swimsuits, a nice place in the midst of condos and hotels, but not too expensive. The kids relaxed and enjoyed themselves. Finally, we went to a private lagoon to snorkel. Although there is a connection to the ocean, the lagoon is mostly walled off by surrounding rocks. Again, the water is brackish and crystal clear. By this time it was 4:30 to 5 PM, and the sun was setting, giving us an amazing view. No one else was there---it was our own private lagoon. The fish are tropical and large, and there are plenty of them. We were tired by the end of the day, but enjoyed every bit. Edventure tours is suitable for all ages. Those who do not want to do certain activities can opt out and not be charged. We had ages 6 to 72 with us. Everyone had a great time. An underwater camera would have come in handy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymousfortwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Edventure was amazing!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We could not have asked for a better experience with Edventures! From the time our taxi picked us up at our hotel, to when we were dropped off - the day was unforgettable.
The taxi picked us up at our hotel in Tulum - then we met up with our group and headed into the jungle! First was ziplining and crazy fun bridges, followed by the rock wall and repelling; the snorkeling in the cenotes was incredible and was topped off by a very tasty lunch. We did not buy an underwater camera - should have though as our camera decided to break : (
Most importantly, we felt safe. Our tour guides Bryan and Nosario were excellent and made our experience so much fun. Ask for them if you go!!!
Thank you to Ed and the entire Edventures family for giving us a truly great trip! I researched a lot of different tour companies prior to our trip and I am SO glad that I went with Edventures - they truly held up to the 5 star rating. I would give them a higher rating if possible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank normanjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“snorkel tour”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

WE went on a snorkel tour with edventures to the cenotes, turtels and the lagoon. Our guide, Blake was a very entertaining and knowledgeable young man. The trip was very well planned out and me, not beina snorkler, felt very comfortable doing it. The cenotes are amazing, turtel bay was incredible and the lagoon was relaxing and beautiful. We stopped for lunch at the lagoon, the lunch was pork and chicken, it was very good. It was a full day tour but it went by to fast. I would encourage anyone looking for a great tour, if you do this one or one of the other ones with edveture you would not enjoy it more. Best tour I have ever been on. Thanks Blake our driver can't remember his name and Ed. See you again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lethbridgedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edventure Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Edventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing