We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, ecological place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed at Nueva Vida for 4 nights in mid May, with our 2 year old toddler daughter, and had a wunderful time.- This is a very special and truly ecological place, although it still is really in the Tulum south beach area, ie. fully sourrounded by other hotels. the hotel normally does not take families with younger kids and I can somehow see that it is not a perfect place for kids because a) the garden is in original vegetation and you have to stick to the very few paths and b) there is only very little shade on th beach.
We also missed a restaurant really at the beach or other shady hang out areas. Still, we loved the place. it is truly beautiful and has a very special athmosphere. Staff was very firendly, but less knowledgable about off-the beaten tack things to do than we expected. So better gather some information what you want to do in the area before you you or bring your laptop. E.g. you are always only sent to mega themepark like attractions like Xe-ha and it was only one our very last day that we discovered a large and turly wonderful adventurous cenote/cave for snorkling ( Cenote Caracol/Labna-ha a few miles off the highway up to Cancun) that certainly many people who enjoy a place like Nueva Vida would have liked. But ok, also nice that you can still discover wunderful things in this area.
By the way, prices off season are much lower than for high season, something like 90$/night.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank organicfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 886 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2007

When we arrived at the property we were promptly greeted by Ricardo and with a sign in the main lounge welcoming us. Ricardo was extremely nice. He brought us to our cabin, Sueno Caribeno, and sent us up some welcome drinks. Our bungalow was incredible. It was beautifully maintained, very large and had incredible views, but was very secluded at the same time. The room had a queen size bed, a ceiling fan, French doors that open to view the ocean, a clothing storage unit with a safe, a large beautiful tile shower and sink and a separate toilet area. We always had hot water in the shower and a large bottle of water for drinking and brushing our teeth. (I’ve attached pictures). The property was very well maintained. We rented a car (which I highly recommend – but not from Hertz! I’ll explain below) and when we returned after dark someone would always meet us with a flashlight and escorted us onto the property. When we were at the beach, we were basically the only people there. The beach property was also kept very well. I would highly recommend staying in Sueno Caribeno. I unfortunately cannot attest to the quality of any other bungalows.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mander2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Nueva Vida de Ramiero
When we arrived at the property we were promptly greeted by Ricardo and with a sign in the main lounge welcoming us. Ricardo was extremely nice. He brought us to our cabin, Sueno Caribeno, and sent us up some welcome drinks. Our bungalow was incredible. It was beautifully maintained, very large and had incredible views, but was very secluded at the same time. The room had a queen size bed, a ceiling fan, French doors that open to view the ocean, a clothing storage unit with a safe, a large beautiful tile shower and sink and a separate toilet area. We always had hot water in the shower and a large bottle of water for drinking and brushing our teeth. (I’ve attached pictures). The property was very well maintained. We rented a car (which I highly recommend – but not from Hertz! I’ll explain below) and when we returned after dark someone would always meet us with a flashlight and escorted us onto the property. When we were at the beach, we were basically the only people there. The beach property was also kept very well. I would highly recommend staying in Sueno Caribeno. I unfortunately cannot attest to the quality of any other bungalows.

Restaurants
Hechizo – Absolutely the BEST restaurant in Tulum. We were blown away by the quality of the food here. There are no menus here, the chef comes to the table and describes in detail all the delicious meals he had prepared. We ate here twice during our trip because it was so amazing. The choices of meals change depending on what the chef has fresh for the day. We had the mahi mahi, Chilean sea bass, lobster tail and flank steak. Everything was perfectly prepred – comparable to any NYC restaurant. You must try the flourless chocolate cake for dessert. I don’t even love chocolate and I was blown away by this.
Mezzanine – This place has great Thai food. The restaurant is very swanky looking – South Beach Miami style – but the prices are reasonable. The chicken pad thai was excellent. The portions are very large. You can easily split meals.
Zamas – I was shocked that the pizza was so good here. After living in NY and Italy I expected to be highly disappointed, but I wasn’t! And, the prices are very reasonable. They have live music every night which is so much fun! Also, the breakfast here was the best in Tulum. The coconut French toast was great!

Car Rental
I am a loyal Hertz customer and I made a reservation for a Jeep to be picked up 30 mins after our flight arrived. When we got to the rental counter (after waiting for 30 mins) the representative told us he had no cars left. Not only did they give away our reservation, but they had nothing to offer us but a Mini Van. They didn’t offer to give us a better rate or any compensation for not having the Jeep we had reserved. After about another 30 mins the Rep said he had a Jeep in the back that was “out of service” but could give us. The Jeep was so old and dirty, it had no top at all, no floorboards and looked like it was from the 1980s! Again, they offered us no discount on our rate or any compensation. We finally said we would take the Jeep. They Rep then told us we needed to pay an additional $50 a day for insurance and $1000 deposit!! I know insurance is encouraged down there but this was for a Jeep that probably wasn’t even worth $1000. After 2 hours in the store we got frustrated and walked next door to executive. They had us in a Jeep for $80 a day including insurance within 15 mins. Please save yourself the aggravation and rent from Executive. We had no problems driving to Tulum, the roads were fine and we didn’t run into any problems with the police or gas station attendants.

Overall the trip was absolutely amazing!!

9  Thank Mander2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights mid April. It felt great to be somewhere powered by the elements and in harmony with its environment. The hotel has a great philosophy and you can feel this when you stay there. It's very private and unobstrusive and safe. The tropical greenery is beautiful, and the section of beach the nicest in Tulum (no rocks). Sometimes we had it entirely to ourselves. It was often wilder and windier and choppier here than further up the coast. Generally it's a brilliant place to kick back, watch the Pelican armies do mission runs up and down the beach, and "do nothing" as the hotel brochure suggests.
And as per other reviewers, we loved the marvellous people who work here, including among the many Ricardo at front desk and Sebastian, who rescued us the first night we arrived.

We moved from the beachfront (magico amancaer) which felt a bit exposed, to luna di miel - a fantastic and very big first floor cabana with a long balcony and view of the sea. The toilets in the newer cabanas are in the room just behind a shower curtain, which is a little strange and not for the shy, hot water was sparse later in the evening (lots in the morning) , and there are no power sources in the room, but you kind of deal with it because already you love the place and what it's about.
The restaurant over the road is pretty expensive (NY and London prices) and the service was sometimes super slow , but always gracious. The reception is wireless, but they don't have any UK adapters and they are impossible to find anywhere, so be warned! They have on site massage but no yoga. Next time I would try and find out good nearby places for both. I am really fussy and really like this place and would definitely return. It's special.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank CLEARWATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We spent one wonderful week at Nueva Vida. This was our first trip to Tulum and it was just what we needed. Nueva Vida is located pretty far down the beach road, so the beach is a bit more private than the areas to the north. The beach is wide and beautiful and felt like velvet under your feet!

We stayed in bungalow #2, "nave inquieta." The bungalow was pretty basic with a full size and a twin bed, a sink and bathroom with a toilet and shower. We had hot water the whole time and were left a bottle of water everyday for brushing/drinking. #2 is raised up higher and set back a bit from the beach. We loved sitting on our porch looking out over the trees, out to the sea. The only problem was that the beach chairs are stored under #2 and every night the staff dutifully puts the chairs away only to be taken out again at 7am. This was a little loud, but nothing too bad. I would still opt for #2 over the other beach front bungalows simply b/c it felt more secluded.

We ate the the restauarant across the street, Casa Banana, at least once a day. it is owned by the same people as the lodge. Food was good and the prices were typical for the beach places. The guacamole, mushroom taquitos, sopes and sopa de lima were our favorites. Even though it is 100 degrees, try the sopa!!And they make delicious margaritas and mixed juices.

NV is a little more expensive than many of the other places we considered in Tulum, but since I have not stayed at any of the other places I can't compare the value. I do know that we felt our money was well spent. NV is immaculately maintained. The staff was amazing, they were very helpful and courteous and took great pride in the place. It was really such a wonderful experience. We would go back in heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank er240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gglib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank johannaBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 98 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $151 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing