We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice ecolodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nueva Vida de Remiro is a very nice ecolodge with a variety of villas offered. This was our first visit to the region. The beach is beyond wonderful, and a very nice breakfast is included at the restaurant/bar across the street. We travelled in the first half of May and elected to rent the only unit with a kitchen. Unfortunately, as soon as we got off of the beach, we found that the temperature was very hot, and the mosquitoes or gnats were out in force. Our advice to travelers would be to rent a unit that is right on the beach with a porch and only go out for dinner on the other side of the seaside road late after the bugs are asleep for the night, or in the town of Tulum, where there are no bugs. As long as you are aware that you are in the jungle, that the jungle vegetation means bugs, and that it is hot hot hot in certain months, you won't be disappointed. It is really a very nice place and we would definitely recommend it, just not in hot season.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a porch on the beach, especially in hot weather. The breeze means no bugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsokolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 886 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful beach side villas, great restaurant and centrally located!

Friendly staff. Good food.

Serene surroundings with natural beauty.

Lovely natural toiletries provided!

Private but close to lots.

I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room number 7 was easy to get to from reception and perfect beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

So, you can read my review about Piedra Escondido, where we had quite the noisy and restless experience. NVR is the opposite -- totally peaceful and tranquil. All you can hear at night is the ocean waves and all you can see is endless beach and endless sea. (PE has an enclosed beach)

The highlights or NVR are manifold: first the cabanas are all set way back from the main road -- separated by a healthy amount of "jungle," so there is absolutely no road noise. Second, the cabanas are all very clean, well-designed, properly maintained. Third, the beach is gorgeous -- sandy white and expansive. Fourth, the hospitality is high-standard.

Perhaps the only quibble is that the breakfast is a bit limited (starch and fruit, some eggs would be nice) and the restaurant (where you have breakfast) is not facing the ocean but is street side. But you can have breakfast delivered to your room, which is a nice service.

This is *the* getaway for couples. A bit pricey but worth it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank shanghaidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear shaghaidc:

Thank you for taking a minute of your time to review Nueva Vida de Ramiro. It is comforting to know that our guests value the privacy and romanticism of the grounds and rooms. We thrive to offer the best service possible to ensure the guests feel at home, safe and taken care off and to see the word high-standard service is most rewarding. We now offer another choice of breakfast as well, say a little more brunchy at a restaurant in downtown Tulum. The idea is for the guest to have another choice. Some prefer to get the voucher for the restaurant downtown specally if planning to have a long day visiting the infinate choices of activities that can be found around Quintana Roo.
Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a lovely week staying at this hotel in April 2013. We stayed in the affordable Ave de Paraiso studio, which had screened in sliding doors that opened onto a balcony that was literally inside the palm trees. The very pink room was large and featured a high vaulted ceiling, a kitchenette with a small refrigerator that we were ever so grateful for, a small dressing area and a bathroom with an indoor and an outdoor shower. I read another review that mentioned the odor of the water, and yeah, it's not the most pleasant, and don't drink it, drink the water that they supply for you! We didn't have many bugs, but we did have geckos running around. they didn't bother us and i found their clicking at night amusing.

The beach was a quick walk through the palms, and if you watch closely you will see iguanas or even the awesome Jesus Lizard that runs on his little hind legs!! The beach beds are wonderful and so are the stick cabanas that supply much needed shade in that bright bright sun! Some have hammocks. The hanging beach beds are a great place to read.

Casa Banana... Great for your free breakfast. The homemade hearth baked bread is outstanding. On our last day we asked to buy another loaf for our drive to the airport and the sweet waitress just gave us one. The bread, the fresh-squeezed juice du jour, coffee, and the fruit platter are typically plenty of breakfast for two, however if you know you will be exerting energy later (cenotes, snorkeling, hiking, paddling, or for the truly adventurous kite-boarding) you might want to order a little protein to go with it. I think we ordered one dish to split 2 or 3 times, but the rest of the time we happily ate the bread and fruit. damn, i miss that bread. We never once got the promised banana bread, but we were only minimally disappointed. Dinner at Casa Banana is another experience all together. We went our first night as it was dark (this is no lie, it is very dark there. Bring flashlights, you will be glad you did) and we were tired and hungry and it was just right there. The ambiance is great. The food is not. over priced and not that good. Go to Simple! it's great! El Tabano is very good too. Mezzanine Thai was amazing and is right on the beach. Ginger is in town and worth it. Zamas is good for lunch. One of our best meals was at Cesiak, in Sian-Ka'an. We went on a boat out around the mangroves, saw birds and crocodiles, floated for about an hour which was sweet relief after a hot boat ride and checking out a small mayan temple. Our lunch was simply grilled fish with a garlic sauce, some rice and tortillas. it was so so good.
During our week we went to numerous cenotes and akumal, and one day we got an ocean kayak, but we were always so happy to come back to Nueva Vida de Ramiro afterwards. We would load up our cooler with the cold drinks from our fridge, grab our books and settle down onto a beach bed for a few hours of relaxation before getting ready for dinner. It was bliss.

Room Tip: the rooms on the beach were out of our price range... maybe next time!! our room was hot during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is our second year in a row to NVDR. We stayed in room 18 (sister room to 19) both times. We find both of these rooms to be an excellent value.

NVDR is run by wonderful people. It is readily apparent that the staff enjoys their jobs. I assume that it is reflective of the family atmosphere of the hotel. I think that guests need to understand you will not be fawned over at NVDR. What you will find are genuine people that will share themselves with you if you just take the time to try and get to know them. This opens up a whole new world. That's what traveling is all about.

I have to admit that when I read complaints I chuckle a bit. I found the breakfasts to be very good. The fruit was always fresh and the bread portion was more than plentiful (and tasty and fresh) for my wife and myself. I saw no problem paying for an x-tra cup of coffee. Sure Americans like their free refills but this is another country with its traditions. The beach lunches were great. Guac, calamari, club sammy and burgers were sampled. Chino took fine care of us.

One thing that changed from our 2012 trip was that there was always a security guard on the beach. The guard was neither intrusive or threatening. Frankly, it was somewhat comforting. We walked the beach in both directions every day and this was the only hotel where I saw any security. I was thankful the day that security asked a dog walker to clean up his dog's mess on our beach. There was also security at night. When we retured to room after dark we were asked to show our key. This gave us a good sense of security. Also, there was a lifeguard. Again, the only place that one was seen.

I was able to view some of the other rooms during our last stay. NVDR is a place that well suited for all budgets. I found the Corazon rooms to be quite luxurious. Perhaps, if you are used to 4 and 5 star places then this might be roughing it for you. Aside from a few places in Tulum, you're not going to get that type of luxury in the area. You will have slightly salty water, the occasional bug and lizard (they live there) and wind. If you want a pool, look somewhere else.

Our first two trips to Tulum were spent at other locations. Both had their high points but overall there was no comparison with NVDR.

Of course, a review would not be complete without suggestions. It would be great if there would be a couple of kayaks for use by the guests. This was offered next door at LaZebra. My only other offering would be if the staff would pick up what trash blows onto the beach during the overnight. That's really all I can think of.

I encourage readers to read my friend Jeremy Gearries' reviews. He's a regular. Jeremy is incredibly thorough and posts great photos.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear BruceV:

Thank you for such a thoughful and inspired review. You truly captured what Nueva Vida de Ramiro is all about. We do enjoy our jobs as you well stated and even more when we receive compliments like yours. I will make sure to tell all our wonderful and dedicated staff that their great vibe doesn't go unnoticed.
Regarding the coffee situation, it has changed after the reviews you mentioned and now the coffee as well as the fruit and bread offered at breakfast are unlimited and without a drecrease in the quality.
You were, are and will be more than welcomed everytime !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went in April and had a great time relaxing on the beach. Room was litterally steps from the beach with an incredible view and there was a constant ocean breeze. Only draw back was the bathroom which smells weird because of the water which you can't drink so get some bottled water. Location is excellent with lots of things nearby. Casa Banana across the street has great food and people are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had read what to expect. No A/C, water pressure could be so so, electricity could be spotty. Being the priss I am, I am pretty surprised at how well it went.

I loved the grounds and my room at NVR. The staff was great, always smiling. The beach is amazing, there were always plenty of chairs, umbrellas and not much of the "towel game." A continental breakfast is included with your stay at Casa Banana where you get juice/coffee/tea (juice is fresh squeezed), fresh fruit and typically a small loaf of bread served with butter and a very good jam (for sale at the bar if you want to bring some home).

The view and sound of the ocean from my room was great (Viento del Mar), the stars were unbelievable as I had forgotten what the night sky can look like. Being in the jungle it was neat to see some of the creatures on the grounds as well. Remember you're basically in the jungle that we share. Fortunately I didn't have to share my room with said creatures.

If there was one complaint it would be I had a hard time sleeping. The beds are a bit stiff for my liking but I think this is a mexico thing as the previous 3 beds I have used in mexico were similar. And of course the heat didn't help. I left my patio doors open at night and used the fan but still couldn't generate enough air flow with the front door closed. If they would put a lockable screen door on the front it would allow for plenty of airflow and keep the room much cooler and I'd be returning for certain on my next trip to Mexico (on top of not having to use the fan)!

Don't visit Tulum if you want Air Conditioned villas, a bug/critter free zone, perfect wireless service, electrical outlets, steaming hot well pressured showers and to flush everything in the toilet.

Visit Tulum and NVR if you want a great getaway from reality with amazing beaches and a gorgeous hotel setting.

PS
I lied, one more complaint, no Tortugas during my stay! All kidding aside the hotel and the region does a great job promoting the well being on the mama turtles I just wish I would have been lucky enough to have seen it in action.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattleguy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 98 in Tulum
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $145 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing