We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveler rating
718
200
46
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
200
46
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa banana la zebra ocean breeze banana bread every morning beach beds beach service hanging beds eco lodge salt water tulum beach fresh fruit outdoor shower the security guard mosquito net sea turtles sound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 989 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Estrella and 9 in Viento.

The rooms were both great value - excellent views and met or exceeded our expectations. The only complaint with the rooms are the beds, they are a bit uncomfortable which we found more so in Viento than Estrella.

Upon checking in we were not really told much - not even how to use the safe, what the property has to offer etc..no information at all.
When we were to move from Estrella to Viento I could see the housekeeper in Viento around 10:00 am so went to reception to ask when we could move, was told about an hour and that they would come find us on the beach, was probably after 12:00 when we were told we could move, but return to Estrella to find housekeepers in the room already moving our stuff around and cleaning. They seemed to want to stand and wait and we just wanted 1/2 hour to move without them standing over us or trying to clean the room.

One day we requested no housekeeping other than removing garbage, early in afternoon realized we needed TP so asked at reception, said no rush just some time that day or evening - never received.

Another day we happened to return to the room while housekeeping was there, to find they had removed our sheets from the bed (the sheets we brought!) and removed from the room. They have a system of placing an item on the bed when you want sheets changed, which we did not.
Luckily they were returned prior to being laundered.

I am very sensitive to chemicals/scents in laundry products and found their bedding/towels to be extremely scented (not so at the hotel we stayed in the pueblo).

On our check out day we requested help with our luggge at a specific time, no one showed up and my husband had to walk back to reception to ask again.

NVR is a pretty place - lovely rooms and beach. The continental breakfast was really good and more than enough to start the day. We had dinner at Casa Banana one night and although pricey it was delicious and no more costly than a similar dinner at home.

In our experience NVR was lacking in service from the management side. Requests seemed to go unheard and this was disappointing. Uncertain if we would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertagirlcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all, I want to start off by thanking the ENTIRE staff at NVR. This past trip was INCREDIBLE. The rooms were newly renovated and the service was impeccable.

This was our 3rd trip to NVR within the last 2 years and each vacation gets better and better. Each time we visit, we stay in a different room. In the past, we have stayed in #19 Viento Ocean Room , #12 Alma del Mar Caribbean Bungalow and on our last trip we stayed in #8 Nave Inquieta Caribbean Bungalow. We have some outstanding pictures of all the rooms, property, and Tulum if interested in seeing them. I am on Facebook and welcome anyone to friend me not only see pictures/videos of our trips to Tulum but pictures/videos of several islands in the Caribbean including Jamaica, Virgin Islands, Barbados, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, several islands in the Bahamas and many others. We have a passion in Caribbean/Mexico travel and feel that we have discovered some incredible boutique hotels/hidden gems like Nueva Vida de Ramiro. You can friend me Jeremy Gearries and join our fun travel page at Destinations Direct Adventure and Travel. We are NOT travel agents but more like travel advisers and have established some great relationships with people all over the Caribbean/Mexico.

As far as Tulum/NVR, there are SO many helpful tips we can assist you with. Tulum is a different type of travel (eco tourism) and not for everyone. We are not big all inclusive type of travelers which means you need to pack certain things for a trip like this. NVR is outstanding in service. The location is perfect. The beach is quite, romantic, and all yours. I have SO much to tell about NVR and Tulum and would love to be your travel friend and give you some great suggestions. Again, feel free to send me a friend request (Jeremy Gearries) or visit our fun travel page (Destinations Direct Adventure and Travel) on Facebook. We have helped several travelers with their questions along with picking out the right spot. Free of charge with nothing in return. Just a couple that loves to help along with getting your ideas of hidden travel spots. I hope to hear from you soon. Jeremy and Sara from Indianapolis Indiana (US). GO COLTS!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the summer months, you may want to choose a room close to the beach for the nice breeze. All rooms are equipped with fans but the breeze can be quite refreshing. We've stayed in 3 different rooms with lots of pictures. Send us a friend request to see the photos.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djsdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Jeremy:

Thank you very much for your review, we enjoy having you as much as you have enjoyed our little piece of paradise!!! We are honored to be one of your favorite places considering you hace traveled extensively and have many hotels to compare us to. Hope to see you soon !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second trip to NVR. We stayed in the same cabana, #8, and were very pleased to see that it had been renovated with brand new bathroom facilities. It felt clean, fresh and new. The staff is wonderful and accommodating. The only problem we encountered was with the maid/housekeeping. The second day we were there our room was not made up. Even after telling Jorge, the room still did not get made! Jorge was beside himself but that didn't help us to get a clean room. Given the amount of money paid for this stay, we really shouldn't have had to deal with this lack of service. I hope others did not have this problem and hope Jorge and staff will correct it in the future. that being said, we definitly feel as though we overpaid for that last night. Otherwise, the place is wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

La nueva vida is for sure located in the best nook of Tulum...near great restaurants like Casa Banana and Hartwood. The beach is beautiful. We stayed in the suite called Corazon Ternura...it had a great view and was beautiful, and they brought us our breakfast of fresh fruits, fresh juice, coffee, bread and yummy jam every morning to enjoy on the ocean view terrace. In the daytime they make you up a loungy "bed" on the beach with an umbrella and you can relax and order snacks and drinks. The hotel is eco and rustic...salt water in the heated showers, etc., but if you don't like that sort of thing, you are probably in the wrong town anyway. Tulum is rustic and beautiful and focused on nature. Tons of yoga around (though none at the resort itself). We had a great time.

Room Tip: We loved the corazon ternura
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynRs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for several days to relax and enjoy the beach.
We had a beautiful bungalow with a hammock on our veranda. It was very clean and neat and actually quite spaces for a bungalow. The sound of the waves of the ocean were wunderful to hear.
On the first evening we helped little turtles to get to the ocean, it was a great experience.
The beach here is lovely, the cosy beachbeds from Nueva Vida and the waiter on the beach make it a pleasure stay. The staff arranged for us some day trips to do some sightseeing. Excellent service.
A perfect stay for couples, we would do it again.

PS: free wifi in every bungalow

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews