We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
716
200
46
9
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
200
46
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa bananala zebraocean breezebanana breadevery morningbeach bedsbeach servicehanging bedseco lodgesalt watertulum beachfresh fruitoutdoor showerthe security guardmosquito netsea turtlessound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 986 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A family destination wedding brought 16 of us to this fantastic hotel! The beach is superb, the service was excellent, and the rooms (we had a variety of them) were quite comfortable. Some of them had magnificent beach views; others faced the jungle. The restaurant, Casa Banana, was one of the best we tried in Tulum -- and the breakfast fruit and bread were fresh and appetizing. My first room was "Lost Horizon" -- a second story room with a huge bed and a deck that was right over the beach. Later in the week I moved into a room on the ground level with two double beds, as my daughter in law had joined us by then. The bathrooms were spacious and clean. I highly recommend the hotel and plan to come back!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a beach view, ask for it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay Sprinkel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just what we were looking for! For my 70 B'day husband and I took our 3 daughters(daddies and babies@home) for a week of visiting nearby ruins, lying around in hammocks and such, and consuming some excellent food and drinks. We stayed in the unit named Casa Mexicana and found it delightful. Nueva Vida de Ramiro enjoys a beautiful location toward the end of the beach strip and you can walk up the beach to several excellent beach and beachside restaurants with an atmosphere reminiscent of the south seas. Their restaurant "Bananas"is across the street and also has a great atmosphere with even better and pricier food -- cash only, so get some more pesos.
They had 24 hr security but there would be small chance of problems in this very safe location. In our Casa there was a giant water dispenser in kitchen and they always left plenty of bottled water when they cleaned daily. Water from tap is desal so don't expect many suds. No aircon but steady breezes and fans, no TV so you can hear the rustle of the palms and the birds. Breakfast was great, the large and delightful staff was there for anything you wanted but your privacy was never intruded on, and they have the best spending the day on the beach furnishings ever. I did have to give them a very good for value instead of excellent because all of these places along this gorgeous strip of beach are quite pricey.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared well placed for views and breeze. Be sure to rent a car, good roads, and loads of fun things to do. If you go on out the road to Puenta Allen that road is rough but we saw coatimundi, deserted beaches, birds, a great fishing bridge, roadside Mayan ruins and when we thought it would never appear ... finally the quaint little town of Puenta Allen with its cabezas frio and shrimp tacos.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My spouse and I spent two nights at NVDR towards the end of a week-long trip to the Yucatan. It is a lovely boutique resort set on a pristine, relatively low-traffic beach. Our cabana was rustic but very classy, with a terrace about thirty feet or so from the water equpped with two chairs and a comfortable hammock. There is round-the-clock security (including a guard on the beach), so we always felt quite safe. They also appear to take sustainability seriously and treat their staff well.

NVDR is not cheap, however. I thought it was worth the money, but not a bargain. Also, the restaurant is overpriced. We liked the food (especially the ceviche), but it cost about as much as the food at Altamar (a high-end restaurant in town where we ate our second night) and was not as good. The wait staff are pleasant but use an odd system where they are all responsible for every table, which can lead some tables to slip through the cracks. Finally, the "included" breakfast was the least satisfying of any we had on our trip -- basically half a fruit plate and a repurposed dinner roll (they even charge for coffee refills). The goal is clearly to get you to order more off the menu, which is a bit tacky given how much the place costs. I would eat somewhere else -- preferably in town (cabs are plentiful and the ride costs about 100 pesos or, better yet, rent a car so you can do your own sight-seeing).

The above being said, we were still quite happy with the overall experience, and would consider another stay.

Room Tip: Based on our observations, not all the rooms that technically front on the beach actually have good beach views, as some are set back a ways behind other buildings. If watching the waves from your own private terrace is important, use the aerial map on the hotel's website to pick your room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a most idyllic, relaxed and beautiful place to stay. There are 30 rooms or cabanas in thatched wooden bungalows or 2 storey cement thatched buildings and are either on the beach or a little further back in well preserved 'jungle'. We stayed in Carazon suspiro which was 2nd floor on the beach with a very private balcony and fantastic view of beach and sea. It can be a liitle windy on the balcony when it is coming off the sea and a lower floor may be more protected then, but we would stay in this room again. The hotel staff were very attentive and courteous, as were the restaurant staff (casa banana) and the breakfast was excellent. The surrounding hotels are all fairly similar and 'eco friendly' with some good restaurants in addition to casa banana, making for very pleasant walks along the absolutely superb beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandjanet40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

All the glowing reviews are deserved for this eco-resort which delivers the full relaxed atmosphere of Tulum. Hotel site allows you to book your specific cabana- I choose Viento del Mar, beach side and an upper unit which gives you beautiful views and a large terrace to lounge on. Having the terrace allowed us to watch the amazing stars overhead, and watch the sunrise in absolute privacy. Overgrown plants and trees surround you as you walk through this property. Some tips/information you will find handy:
- Get a flashlight app on your phone. Impossible to walk at night without
- Sunday Salsa at Zebra a must. Walk on the beach and dance under the stars!
- Casa Banana excellent breakfast included, anything else, bring cash, no credit card
- Lunch options Casa Violeta, short walk on the beach or half hour longer Be Tulum
- Loved our large room, bed was hard - we were happy anyway!

Room Tip: Choose beach side, and upper level
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews