We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a most idyllic, relaxed and beautiful place to stay. There are 30 rooms or cabanas in thatched wooden bungalows or 2 storey cement thatched buildings and are either on the beach or a little further back in well preserved 'jungle'. We stayed in Carazon suspiro which was 2nd floor on the beach with a very private balcony and fantastic view of beach and sea. It can be a liitle windy on the balcony when it is coming off the sea and a lower floor may be more protected then, but we would stay in this room again. The hotel staff were very attentive and courteous, as were the restaurant staff (casa banana) and the breakfast was excellent. The surrounding hotels are all fairly similar and 'eco friendly' with some good restaurants in addition to casa banana, making for very pleasant walks along the absolutely superb beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandjanet40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

All the glowing reviews are deserved for this eco-resort which delivers the full relaxed atmosphere of Tulum. Hotel site allows you to book your specific cabana- I choose Viento del Mar, beach side and an upper unit which gives you beautiful views and a large terrace to lounge on. Having the terrace allowed us to watch the amazing stars overhead, and watch the sunrise in absolute privacy. Overgrown plants and trees surround you as you walk through this property. Some tips/information you will find handy:
- Get a flashlight app on your phone. Impossible to walk at night without
- Sunday Salsa at Zebra a must. Walk on the beach and dance under the stars!
- Casa Banana excellent breakfast included, anything else, bring cash, no credit card
- Lunch options Casa Violeta, short walk on the beach or half hour longer Be Tulum
- Loved our large room, bed was hard - we were happy anyway!

Room Tip: Choose beach side, and upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! You are on the beach, have access to private cabanas and get to experience the beach and jungle at the same time. We stayed in the Coral room - great size, beautiful room and nice size deck. The only let down was that the bed is a full size and not comfy. Everytime you move the bed would squeak. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, and I would recommend you having them deliver it to you on the beach. Prettier view and you don't have ot deal with the flies or mosquitos. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Most rooms are just a few steps away from the beach. They are roomy with comfortable king size beds and nice, clean, airy bathrooms. The service is terrific; every morning there is a wonderful tray of fresh fruit, freshly baked bread and the best coffee at the Casa Banana restaurant, beach beds are placed about the beach and under shaded canopies, and umbrellas are placed on request. Ricardo and Jorge are quick to help make the stay wonderful, accommodating special requests and helping with concierge services.

Room Tip: Zona Corazone has terrific views, rooms are nicely proportioned and the price is mid-range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about Nueva Vida was fantastic - the beach is amazing, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and totally unique depending on which one you pick. For those looking for a typical antiseptic hotel experience, this is not the place however. NV is eco-friendly luxury - no outlets in the rooms, wifi only in the lobby area, and no A/C.

We sprung for a private beach-front bungalow, which was well worth the additional cost - literally on the beach, raised up on stilts so we'd wake up to completely unobstructed views of the sunrise over the ocean every morning. The smaller accommodations looked nice as well and you'll be on the beach the whole day and eating at one of the several great restaurants in Tulum at night anyway, so those could be a solid budget option.

The property is really spread out, so you have plenty of room to stretch out under an umbrella or pergola on the beach mattresses and chairs that the staff brings out every day after they rake the seaweed off the sand (that's the level of dedication from the people who work here). There's also a waiter from the affiliated Casa Banana restaurant stationed on the beach to bring you food and drink. I highly recommend having a ceviche and a Sol around 3pm to tide you over until dinner :)

As mentioned in other reviews, the property feels completely safe with 24/7 security staff and parking is indeed free if you drive in from Cancun (super easy drive). The managers are the most helpful I've ever encountered. They hooked us up with rental bikes right away, champagne and a mariachi band on the beach for my girlfriend's birthday, and were always ready to help with whatever we needed.

It was truly an amazing vacation and I would recommend Nueva Vida to anybody looking for a truly peaceful getaway. One parting tip: bring a flashlight! Or two - it gets really dark at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in the corazon area (room 24 with view over the ocean) and had the time of our lives.

Room: spacious room with a fan inside the mosquito net (which fits the medium hardness bed perfectly), 1 power outlet, in- and outside shower.

Food: Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit, bread, coffee and juice) was ordered on our balcony every morning and optional drinks/lunch were kindly served at the beach. It is arranged by the boys from Casa Banana which is located on the 'main' road which connects all hotels. Dinner there is very nice also, very Argentinian feel to it.

Beach: there is a lifeguard on duty on this part of the beach (haven't seen this elsewhere in Tulum), beach is cleaned every day by hotel personnel, so free of glass, weed and other stuff that messes up pictures. There are enough sunbeds/chairs and parasols for all guests, so don't worry about getting up early and 'claiming' one with beachtowels, just ask the personnel to put up something if everything is taken. The sea was choppy during our stay, which doesnt make for easy swimming, although just floating in the water is pretty easy.

The outlay of the hotel is generally spacious, so between the cabanas/houses and also on the beach you don't really notice other

The location of the hotel is really nice also, with the spacious La Zebra adjecent, and no kite-boarding schools in the area (which can be pretty dangerous in windy conditions + beginners).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, extasis corazon, which has an unobstructed view of the beach/sunrise. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christiaan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at NVR Jan 21-25 in #11, Amor Eterno. We loved the room, simple in design but one of the most comfortable beds and pillow ever! We watched the sun come up from bed and listened to the waves roar and lull us to sleep at night. I wish there was a large locking screen door because I did not want to wake up with a critter in our room but I wanted to hear the Caribbean at night. We did have an ant or two but its to be expected in the jungle. The staff was polite however we really didn't ask for much so I can't chime in about service. Our stay included a couple of rain days but we used that time to sit on the deck to read and converse.NVR let us store our bags at the lobby while we enjoyed the beach and sun on our last day (it was already past the check out time...thank you so much) Would I recommend NVR?? Absolutely...BUT at $270 a night on such a prime piece of real estate let me say that you should not plan anything else (we did Xel Ha, Tulum ruins and Altamar cooking school in the 4 days we were there) and we should have just stayed at NVR and relaxed. Their jungle setting makes you feel very secluded, it's fabulous - even when the sun is out there is no one next to you on the beach!) Also...we took some cabs for transportation which added to the expense but maybe bikes would have been fine....the zona hotelera road is extremely busy with vehicles and bike riders seemed like they would be run down (not the case though) So, yes stay at NVR and don't leave!

Room Tip: #11 is rustic, i loved it but we live in a log home so we are used to a darker ambiance. I bet all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 100 in Tulum
610 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#21 of 100 in Tulum
1,373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $189 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing