We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
717
200
46
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
200
46
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa banana la zebra ocean breeze banana bread every morning beach beds beach service hanging beds eco lodge salt water tulum beach fresh fruit outdoor shower the security guard mosquito net sea turtles sound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 988 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave! You are on the beach, have access to private cabanas and get to experience the beach and jungle at the same time. We stayed in the Coral room - great size, beautiful room and nice size deck. The only let down was that the bed is a full size and not comfy. Everytime you move the bed would squeak. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, and I would recommend you having them deliver it to you on the beach. Prettier view and you don't have ot deal with the flies or mosquitos. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Most rooms are just a few steps away from the beach. They are roomy with comfortable king size beds and nice, clean, airy bathrooms. The service is terrific; every morning there is a wonderful tray of fresh fruit, freshly baked bread and the best coffee at the Casa Banana restaurant, beach beds are placed about the beach and under shaded canopies, and umbrellas are placed on request. Ricardo and Jorge are quick to help make the stay wonderful, accommodating special requests and helping with concierge services.

Room Tip: Zona Corazone has terrific views, rooms are nicely proportioned and the price is mid-range.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEM726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about Nueva Vida was fantastic - the beach is amazing, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and totally unique depending on which one you pick. For those looking for a typical antiseptic hotel experience, this is not the place however. NV is eco-friendly luxury - no outlets in the rooms, wifi only in the lobby area, and no A/C.

We sprung for a private beach-front bungalow, which was well worth the additional cost - literally on the beach, raised up on stilts so we'd wake up to completely unobstructed views of the sunrise over the ocean every morning. The smaller accommodations looked nice as well and you'll be on the beach the whole day and eating at one of the several great restaurants in Tulum at night anyway, so those could be a solid budget option.

The property is really spread out, so you have plenty of room to stretch out under an umbrella or pergola on the beach mattresses and chairs that the staff brings out every day after they rake the seaweed off the sand (that's the level of dedication from the people who work here). There's also a waiter from the affiliated Casa Banana restaurant stationed on the beach to bring you food and drink. I highly recommend having a ceviche and a Sol around 3pm to tide you over until dinner :)

As mentioned in other reviews, the property feels completely safe with 24/7 security staff and parking is indeed free if you drive in from Cancun (super easy drive). The managers are the most helpful I've ever encountered. They hooked us up with rental bikes right away, champagne and a mariachi band on the beach for my girlfriend's birthday, and were always ready to help with whatever we needed.

It was truly an amazing vacation and I would recommend Nueva Vida to anybody looking for a truly peaceful getaway. One parting tip: bring a flashlight! Or two - it gets really dark at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in the corazon area (room 24 with view over the ocean) and had the time of our lives.

Room: spacious room with a fan inside the mosquito net (which fits the medium hardness bed perfectly), 1 power outlet, in- and outside shower.

Food: Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit, bread, coffee and juice) was ordered on our balcony every morning and optional drinks/lunch were kindly served at the beach. It is arranged by the boys from Casa Banana which is located on the 'main' road which connects all hotels. Dinner there is very nice also, very Argentinian feel to it.

Beach: there is a lifeguard on duty on this part of the beach (haven't seen this elsewhere in Tulum), beach is cleaned every day by hotel personnel, so free of glass, weed and other stuff that messes up pictures. There are enough sunbeds/chairs and parasols for all guests, so don't worry about getting up early and 'claiming' one with beachtowels, just ask the personnel to put up something if everything is taken. The sea was choppy during our stay, which doesnt make for easy swimming, although just floating in the water is pretty easy.

The outlay of the hotel is generally spacious, so between the cabanas/houses and also on the beach you don't really notice other

The location of the hotel is really nice also, with the spacious La Zebra adjecent, and no kite-boarding schools in the area (which can be pretty dangerous in windy conditions + beginners).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, extasis corazon, which has an unobstructed view of the beach/sunrise. The other corazon-rooms on the beach (25 and up) don't, which have many palm trees in front. Rooms 28 and 29 apparently have refrigerators.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christiaan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at NVR Jan 21-25 in #11, Amor Eterno. We loved the room, simple in design but one of the most comfortable beds and pillow ever! We watched the sun come up from bed and listened to the waves roar and lull us to sleep at night. I wish there was a large locking screen door because I did not want to wake up with a critter in our room but I wanted to hear the Caribbean at night. We did have an ant or two but its to be expected in the jungle. The staff was polite however we really didn't ask for much so I can't chime in about service. Our stay included a couple of rain days but we used that time to sit on the deck to read and converse.NVR let us store our bags at the lobby while we enjoyed the beach and sun on our last day (it was already past the check out time...thank you so much) Would I recommend NVR?? Absolutely...BUT at $270 a night on such a prime piece of real estate let me say that you should not plan anything else (we did Xel Ha, Tulum ruins and Altamar cooking school in the 4 days we were there) and we should have just stayed at NVR and relaxed. Their jungle setting makes you feel very secluded, it's fabulous - even when the sun is out there is no one next to you on the beach!) Also...we took some cabs for transportation which added to the expense but maybe bikes would have been fine....the zona hotelera road is extremely busy with vehicles and bike riders seemed like they would be run down (not the case though) So, yes stay at NVR and don't leave!

Room Tip: #11 is rustic, i loved it but we live in a log home so we are used to a darker ambiance. I bet all the rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews