We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Having breakfast on the balcony with a sunrise view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Having breakfast on the balcony with a sunrise view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in the corazon area (room 24 with view over the ocean) and had the time of our lives.

Room: spacious room with a fan inside the mosquito net (which fits the medium hardness bed perfectly), 1 power outlet, in- and outside shower.

Food: Breakfast (lots of fresh fruit, bread, coffee and juice) was ordered on our balcony every morning and optional drinks/lunch were kindly served at the beach. It is arranged by the boys from Casa Banana which is located on the 'main' road which connects all hotels. Dinner there is very nice also, very Argentinian feel to it.

Beach: there is a lifeguard on duty on this part of the beach (haven't seen this elsewhere in Tulum), beach is cleaned every day by hotel personnel, so free of glass, weed and other stuff that messes up pictures. There are enough sunbeds/chairs and parasols for all guests, so don't worry about getting up early and 'claiming' one with beachtowels, just ask the personnel to put up something if everything is taken. The sea was choppy during our stay, which doesnt make for easy swimming, although just floating in the water is pretty easy.

The outlay of the hotel is generally spacious, so between the cabanas/houses and also on the beach you don't really notice other

The location of the hotel is really nice also, with the spacious La Zebra adjecent, and no kite-boarding schools in the area (which can be pretty dangerous in windy conditions + beginners).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, extasis corazon, which has an unobstructed view of the beach/sunrise. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christiaan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    163
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
95
575
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at NVR Jan 21-25 in #11, Amor Eterno. We loved the room, simple in design but one of the most comfortable beds and pillow ever! We watched the sun come up from bed and listened to the waves roar and lull us to sleep at night. I wish there was a large locking screen door because I did not want to wake up with a critter in our room but I wanted to hear the Caribbean at night. We did have an ant or two but its to be expected in the jungle. The staff was polite however we really didn't ask for much so I can't chime in about service. Our stay included a couple of rain days but we used that time to sit on the deck to read and converse.NVR let us store our bags at the lobby while we enjoyed the beach and sun on our last day (it was already past the check out time...thank you so much) Would I recommend NVR?? Absolutely...BUT at $270 a night on such a prime piece of real estate let me say that you should not plan anything else (we did Xel Ha, Tulum ruins and Altamar cooking school in the 4 days we were there) and we should have just stayed at NVR and relaxed. Their jungle setting makes you feel very secluded, it's fabulous - even when the sun is out there is no one next to you on the beach!) Also...we took some cabs for transportation which added to the expense but maybe bikes would have been fine....the zona hotelera road is extremely busy with vehicles and bike riders seemed like they would be run down (not the case though) So, yes stay at NVR and don't leave!

Room Tip: #11 is rustic, i loved it but we live in a log home so we are used to a darker ambiance. I bet all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I took the new ADO bus line that connects Belize City to Tulum and Cancun. This bus is sold as an over night bus that will land you in Tulum the next morning. Unfortunately the reality is that you arrive at 3:00 AM in a country where we know very little Spanish. We took our chances with having a taxi take us to the hotel. We felt terrible for the flustered night guard at the hotel because he knew no English and my Spanish was useless at that time of the night. But he was able to get a hold of the hotel owner (it is family run unlike some of the places around there) and he had us placed in an amazing suite until things could be sorted in the morning. They were so nice and understanding to the mix up and even gave us a large discounted price on the extra room night.

We stayed at the hotel for a week and our room was right by the pristine beach. They take a lot of pride in the hotel and are a true eco hotel. This means that they take care to move the chairs in at night for the sea turtles, and the whole complex is built in the mangroves. It's not manicured and artificial like some of the places around there so it retains a lot of charm.

Also, I found the hotel to be a great value for the location, price, etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Took the ADO down from PDC for a day trip an d decided to stay the night with NVR being our first selection. We stayed in the Proa Al Mar unit and it was fantastic, super clean with modern finishes and a great deck. Plenty of ocean breeze kept us cool at night but is wasn't particularly hot that evening anyway. We did need bug spray but I'm certain every resort would need this as well. The breakfast was outstanding and included lots of fresh fruit, bread, juice, coffee and some little sweet toast points. Great stretch of beach just out your door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RastamanInKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I don't know where to begin. First, Ricardo the manager on duty during our stay went out of his was to accommodate our every request. From ice to bicycles to directions he was very very helpful. We stayed in the room closest to the beach and we could not believe how close we actually were. It was stunning! Our room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed, including an awesome hammock. Our room was cleaned everyday and the housekeepers did an excellent job. Every morning we would wake up to our beach chairs and beach bed set up for a relaxing day. They raked the beach every morning so it was spotless. Our continental breakfast was served promptly every morning and it was more than enough food! Their lobby is clean and the wifi service works perfectly. This hotel is set in the middle of a jungle so pack flash lights! It's so beautiful at night!! I have never seen so many stars. Security patrol the beach every night so we felt safe the entire time. Ramiro is located within walking distance to many restaurants and they have bikes available on a first come first serve basis. We will definitely be back and cannot say enough good things about this hotel and Tulum!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaWCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent 10 nights at nueva vida with my family and it was a great stay. It was my first visit to Tulum so I can't compare it with other bungalow hotels at the strip, but here's some pro's och con's!

+
-Great value for price
-Very spacious rooms (we had both beachfront and "jungle"rooms)and the bungalows are so beautiful with verandas and hammocks
-Amazing beach with very much space between so you get your privacy. (Most hotels on the beach has a smaller area) You can choose from sunchairs, comfy beachbed or hammock- heaven! A waiter is around to take your order from the restaurant and serve it to you.

-
-It does get very dark both in the rooms and the hotel area (don't forget flashlight at night!) I understand it's because they want to minimize energy consumption but after a while I started to get bother by the lack of light, especially in the bathroom.
-Everytime we got our sheets changed they had small orange stains on them (same on the curtains) I could tell the sheets were clean but I don't understand why they can't get rid of the dried in stains (or buy new sheets!).
-The staff were all very friendly and especially Ricardo (who speaks great english) helped out a lot, however, they weren' great on tips for restaurants and things to do etc, we were mainly "guided" by tripadvisor:)

Restaurant Casa Banana: the continental is good with loads of fruit and freshly made bread, also a they have a very nice yoghurt with granola. Otherwise I wasn't blown away by the food, pretty standard and a bit underseasoned I thought. But very nice atmosphere!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms in the "jungle" is not bad at all but I would definitly recommend stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narcick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travel to Tulum about every 3 months as we have property there but no house yet. We usually stay in town but splurged for a short beach stay this time, and could not have been happier. Nueva is friendly, cozy, comfortable and kind. The service is fantastic and everyone who works at the hotel goes way out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and any concerns you have are addressed immediately. We arrived very very late at night (almost 1am) due to multiple flight cancellations and nonetheless were greeted warmly and immediately by the night time security. The price of our room was extremely reasonable and the continental breakfast was substantial and delicious. Highly recommend this lovely place for beach stays! The service at Casa Banana was not so good, but the hotel itself could not have been better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Property: Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing