We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aventuras Mayas - snorkeling and cenotes”
Review of Aventuras Mayas

Aventuras Mayas
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.00*
and up
Tulum Xtreme from Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 375 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are committed to create unique and unforgettable adventures for our guests by providing warm and personalized attention; our excursions aim to show you the beauty and mysticism of the Mayan culture while enjoying the adrenaline rush of our adventures in a family and eco-friendly environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Aventuras Mayas - snorkeling and cenotes”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an amazing time throughout the day on this excursion, saw freshwater caves and lagoons and overall had a great experience. Aside form beautiful lagoons, coral reefs, tons of fish and sights we'd never seen before, our tour guide, Mundo, really put the experience over the top!! Mundo was welcoming, knowledgeable, very organized and most of all, hilarious! Seriously, anyone who has second thoughts about getting up extremely early to get on a bus should ask for Mundo and know that he makes every aspect of the trip fun. We also appreciated that this tour was done with a smaller group than other excursions we went on, and the places we visited were relatively close together so everything was well-timed and easy to get to. We highly recommend asking for Mundo if you choose Aventuras Mayas!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with your fellow travelers, we are glad you enjoyed a snorkeling day in the company of Mundo who we will make sure gets your comments and the recognition he deserves. We hope you choose Mexico again on your next holiday. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,886
    581
    97
    39
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“snorkel in 3 unique ecosystems”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you like to snorkel and other in the ocean this trip is a good one to take.
We were a group of 12 in a van with the driver tour guide name Ticho. We did not know the other two families. One from Vt and the other from Maine. The kids were ages 6- about 15 years old. This is great for families.
First we went about 25 minutes to a private road then down through the jungle forest area to stop #1. It was a large Mayan sink hole. Here the guide Ticho expained the history and geo features of this sink whole which was the size of a pond. We were given life jackets and snorkel gear. There was a safe place to put our stuff.

Here we could choose to jump off the 20' high platform into the fresh water below. People could jump as many times as they wanted. Most jumped. I am over 60 years old and not the best swimmer so It took me a long time to get up the nerve to jump but I really wanted to. Ticho was very patient with me and I finally jumped and went for a second time. I felt it was very safe. It was a lot of fun watching people and kids make the jump.
Also at this area was the zip line. From a plat form, the zip line would drop you into the sink hole below. The ride was about 100 feet. It looked safe but I was afraid because I had to hold on to the bar and thought I drop too soon. If I did it would have been safe anyway but I just was scared.
The guide was patient with me but I didn't. Guest could zip as much as they wanted.
While we waited we could snorkel in the pool below to see the rocks and fish. I didn't see any fantastic fish like one sees in pictures.

There was a photographer there to take pictures. The pictures were sold at lunch. Not cheep but good quality and we felt no pressure to buy the professional ones. I took pictures with my own camera that did not come out as good.

Then we drove a short distance through the jungle to an underground river. Ticho explained the history of the caves and rivers that created the area. Quite interesting. There were lights in the cave. Here we snorkeled about 500 feet to an area looking at some fish. The photographer was there and took more family pictures.

A nice lunch of grilled chicken and salads was served in a pretty enclosed area at a central location for other groups who were in different vans. I felt the food was safe to eat since there was running water and there was plenty of food for seconds.
There was a building with rest rooms and sinks.

After lunch we drove for about 20 minutes to the last site. Because the wind was strong at the ocean we went to another location which had bathrooms and showers. At this location we snorkeled down a fresh water river that was not too deep to where the ocean met the river. The guide expained all that we should know. We saw different fish and wild life. Quite interesting and informative. After we could shower if we wanted to. Out side showers, changing rooms, pit toilets. Free drinks were available and snacks for purchase.

About the guide. Ticho was middle age and spoke English quite well. I thought he was fantastic.
There were 6 kids on the van. 3 of the parents were doctors. One boy was age 6 and quite timid and afraid of the snorkel and water. Ticho encouraged him in every way. The boy rode on Ticho's back every time so that he could enjoy the different sites. The boy's sister cut her toe through her water shoes and Ticho got a first aid kit and helped her. Ticho was friendly and joked alot with the kids. He told us a lot of the area history while driving.
There was good music in the van. The van was in good shape with seat belts. Ticho stopped on the 35 minute drive back to the hotels to get the kids snacks to eat.

The whole trip was about 7 hours long. I thought it was well organized and we felt quite safe.
We each paid about $90 (u.s.) and felt it was worth it. We gave the guide a $20 tip because he really was good and deserved it. The cheep Dr. with 3 kids gave him 50 pesos ($5 u.s.)

This adventure would be great for anyone except for those afraid of water. Fine for first time snorkelers because the guide explained how to snorkel. Not for wheelchair. Bring water shoes because there is a lot of rocks, sun screen for the ocean part. We didn't need it at the other two areas and it could harm the sea life. Bring towels and dry clothes for the ride home. They gave us bottled water. The van was locked for personal items to be safe but the areas we parked were closed to the public behind a locked gate. Enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are honored to read such nice comments and we are sure Jesus a.k.a. Ticho will be as well. On behalf os all the staff in Aventuras Mayas we want to thank you for choosing our company and we really hope we get a chance to show you another exciting day on your next visit to the Riviera Maya. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkling Tour”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a great day with Mundo. He is knowledgeable, entertaining and his english is great. This tour is well worth taking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harvey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for recomending us to the rest of the world, we will make sure to congratulate Mundo for a great job. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Tulum extreme!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This excursion was absolutely amazing!!!... It was so much fun and our tour guide JUAN was awesome!! he helped me to overcome my fears and enjoy the tour. So glad that i went!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank martha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for spending an adventure day in the company of Juan, we are so glad you were able to learn about the mayan culture and at the same time overcome your fears. We really hope you choose Mexico again for your next holiday, we will be waiting, GRACIAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Snorkeling Trip”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went on a snorkeling trip through Mayan Adventures. It was amazing. Mundo was our guide and he was awesome. He was well informed, spoke great English and had a great sense of humor. This is a great trip and well worth the money. If you are considering this trip them definitely book it and try to get Mundo as your guide!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heatherly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We thank you for recomending us to your fellow travelers and we really hope to see you again on your next visit to the Riviera Maya. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aventuras Mayas also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aventuras Mayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing