We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Ranked #74 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were there May 21-28, two couples, 40ish. It was a great week at a beautiful resort. I was a little nervous after reading some bad reviews in the weeks leading up to our visit, but my fears were alleviated once we arrived.

Check-in, the front desk help was terrific and able to accomodate our request for two deluxe king rooms on a top floor, near one-another. The rooms weren't actually ready until 3 PM (as stated in their policy) but we were allowed to use their facilities to change and spend a few hours at the pool and before we had lunch and went to our rooms.

Resort layout - huge, but everything is pretty much a straight shot from the lobby to the beach. We were in building 3, near the party pool. I liked the location a lot as we were close to one of the buffet restaurants (breakfast and lunch) and of course the pools were right there. The walk to the beach took maybe 5 minutes. The walk to the main building for the ala carte restaurants at night took about 10 minutes, in heels. Embrace the walking; it might be the most exercise you get for a week.

Party pool, loud but it does quiet down after 4:30. Not an issues unless you have small children who have to nap.

Beach - Go to left upon entry from the resort walkway and you have a bar, but this is also the crowded side, with more people and vendors. Go the right, walk past the volleyball court towards the activity hut and the beach is quiet. This is where we spent our days and there is a wait staff for drinks. Walk past the activity hut for a relatively rock free entry into the water.

Food/Buffets - very good with a lot of variety. I think the negative comments might be based on the preparation. The food will not always be typical of what you find at home in the US, but it is good. You might not have chicken nuggets and typical pizza every day or simple scrambled eggs, but will not go hungry. The buffets offer a lot of variety. I am super picky and was I fine the whole week. You are in Mexico, embrace it.

The Ala Carts - Favorites were Miso, the Italian and French restaurants. Just ok were the seafood and steak restaurants. What we didn't like, only being able to reserve for three days at a time as it would have been nice to just be able to do this all at once for the week. Oh well.

Nighttime - bands play most nights until 11 PM in the large courtyard between the two resorts. This was a nice alternative to the shows, which we did not see. No disco for us, too tired by 11. There is a Mexican market on Thursdays, for shopping, no band on this night.

Complimentary shuttle - Slightly painful. We reserved on Thursday for 10 AM on Friday. Went to the lobby on Friday morning only to be told it would not depart until noon. We took a cab into town instead, $19 each way. It was a small inconvenience.

Activities - Tried two person kayaking - hilarious but we had problems navigating the small waves, so we rented wave runners instead. Do this; they are a lot of fun ($65 p.p. for 1/2 hour on your own wave runner). Parasailing was a huge success too.

PDC - go for shopping if you can deal with the shop owners, or just stroll, see the town and stop for a drink or two. I always like visiting PDC.

My tips - do not buy the spray tanners they do not last as long as the lotion. We ran out of 30 by day 3 and had to spend a lot of $$ for more. Buy a raft for the pool; give it away at the end of your stay. Take lots of $$ for tips and be generous to everyone. If you can afford to go there, you can afford to tip EVERYONE. The staff works really hard so just tip. Lastly, don't sweat the small stuff. People might be annoying but it's their vacation too, so just do what you can to enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,753 - 5,759 of 9,098 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

WE WERE ROBBED FROM OUR SAFE WITHIN 24 HOURS OF CHECKING IN. 600 dollars taken from the safe. This happened many times while we were there to other guests and we're pretty sure they stole a shirt from the room as well! The front desk and "security investigation" was a joke.

Aside from this the resort was beautiful, beach was gorgeous, staff was hard working and pleasant for the most part, food was good, we made the best of it as it was a trip we had planned and looked forward to for over a month. Got ripped off at a gas station as well when we rented a car so be careful. They will rip you off if given the opportunity anywhere you go, watch your back.

Rooms were really nice. Entertainment was fun at the party pool.

We wouldnt go back only because of the robbery. If that didnt happen we would have booked again in a heartbeat. Very unfortunate!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ShawnaLeePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the hotel from May 13-20/11. We travelled for our anniversary. We had requested 3rd floor, non smoking with a kingbed. We recieved all of our requests plus we were upgraded no charge to the Rivieria side to a deluxe junior suite, it was beautiful, it was room 8206. The view from the balcony wasn't that great but we didn't mind as we were not in our room that much.
The resort itself is large and mirrors the sunset princess, each have there own lobbies etc. Check in is done on the sunset side. The hotel is beautiful, spotless, lush vegetation etc. There are tons of loungers even at 3 in the afternoon we had no problems finding a place to sit and soak up the sun. 9 pools that are open until 8pm. Swim up rooms very nice but no pool attached where there are bars so you would always have to get out. We had about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The beach is amazing, a few rocks but it is the ocean and you can walk forever, which is one reason we booked the hotel. The pools, loungers, bars, buffets etc are always clean and ready to go. We found the staff very friendly and always said hi to them. We took gifts for the maids and our room was always made up early. We did ala carts all week and had no problems with reservations. We did not like the steakhouse, the steaks were fatty and grissley, other said it was okay. We went to the italian 2 times, we found it very good. QWe enjoyed the fondue as well and the oriental and japanesse were very good, beef a little tough. They have 9 ala carts but the seafood and french are only available with certain room types. The chill out restaurant on the beach is romantic but no included you have to pay, it generally was not very busy. The spa is beautiful, although we did not use it. Large varietry of drinks and they actually made ceasers with clamato juice!!!
We walked to Playa Del Carmen one day it took about 1hour and 45 minutes nice walk, not many hotels but the ocean was beautiful. Cab back cost 20.00 US, it is a flat fee. Udes the internet cafe there as it was 20 pecos for 30 minutes and the hotel is 20.00 US for 1/2 hour and you have to use your credit card. We had no problems with bugs of any kind. Buffet for breakfast and lunched were good, lots of selection we were always full.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllistonSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

It was our experience that the staff at this resort, do not go out of their way to rectify any problems or concerns regarding their guests. We booked a two week vacation at this resort, and after our vacation was almost over, we finally were moved to a room we had requested when booking our vacation. I found if you were in any of the lounges, or the sports bar, they had staff patrolling, looking for infractions by their guests, they had no problem telling guests to remove their feet from a chair, no dozing off, looking for dress code infractions, it's not easy trying to relax, when you are looking over your shoulder for the infraction enforcer. It wouldn't be so bad if they politely asked a guest to remove their feet from a chair, or no snoozing in the lobby, or whatever the case, anytime I witness one of the incidents, and there were many, the guest was treated very rudely. We found the staff at this resort to be very confrontational, not what you would expect from a 4 or 5 star resort.
The food, what can I say......Breakfast was possibly the best meal of the day, if eaten at the the buffet closet to the beach. As for lunch, your best bet was the hot dogs or burgers on the beach, and you just hoped the burger you picked was somewhat cooked.
Dinner, well let me just say this, if you missed it, you didn't miss much. I am not a picky eater, and have been to other all inclusive's, and I must say, I have never witnessed so much food being scraped into the garbage. I would think this alone should tell management they have a problem.
Our room was nice, but was not what I expected for a 4 or 5 star hotel. The bathtub looked awesome, but we never enjoyed it, as it had black mold around it, along with the shower.
This resort is two resorts together, so there is a lot of walking, we didn't mind as the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The resort itself is beautiful, it is unfortunate the food is not very good, and the staff appears to be put out when a guest approaches them with a problem.
If you can eat anything at all, and can tolerate the rudeness of the front desk staff, this resort is for you. For us we will not be returning....our next vacation will be booked at an RIU Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank driftinggypsyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Wow where do you start...okay check in, took a while however not really the resorts error, our flight had been delayed 8 hours, so only one person on hand to check in lots of people. However once in the resort is huge, but easy to navigate, one main walkway down the centre, with each set of rooms identified with signage. There is also a trolly that runs on a road on the outside of the buildings, tell the driver where you are heading and no problem.
Rooms are all suites, with large bathrooms, now a regular suite contains no bath, deluxe suite you get a tub...and so on. Many many room catagories, we were fortunate enough to be in the platinum section which is glorious!! Separate lobby, and pool.
We spent the first day at the party pool, which we did not go back too, we did not enjoy the techno music blasting at us, as well as too many people enjoying the drinks at the swim up bar, and in fact during the afternoon we spent there, we were asked nicely by some of the staff to retrieve some of the empty glasses all over the pool area, many were blown into the pool, and too many drinks ended up in the pool.
Second and third day were spent at the beautiful beach. I was prepared to pay for the seats, $20 gets you two loungers and an umbrella, we really enjoyed the loungers, and really appreciated the umbrella. Beach is beautiful white sand, water crystal clear, fish are abundant, and a few rocks.
Food was good, there will always be those who will find fault, however I didn't have to cook, or do the dishes so it is always a treat to go away. Tried the Mexican, really enjoyed this, Japanese, really loud, and not my fav. we eat Japanese here at home alot, and the show was really just the cook banging the grill with his utensils nothing much more. Thought our chefs at home would be disgusted with the little respect for the grill and utensils. Steak house was good, as was the French a la carte. Really something for all tastes. Breakfast was the buffet, I always appreciate an omelette bar, and fresh fruit that again I didn't have to prepare.
We went into Playa for some shopping, had a great time!! Love Playa.
Went into Coco Bongos on Thursday night, what an experience that I can say I have done, however don't think I would do it again, but you should do it once as it is really an exciting show!!!
Bars, many with all kinds of drinks, however saying that I am a picky drinker and all drinks were made with fake juice which I don't like, so I drank mojitos, yummy!!!
I would and will go back, there is everything and nothing to do here, you can be as busy as you want or as laid back. I came back well rested, and ready to return to Mexico as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank missmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

stayed at gsp for 2 weeks in the first week had to move rooms 4 times because either shower flooded or toilet but overall rooms nice,food was average stayed in other hotels on riviera maya where food and resteraunts were better cleaneness excellant ,staff very frendly entertainment good would agree with other reviews that the floors are very slippy saw a few accidents had a nice stay but won't be returning will return to baha princepe next year stayed there twce and loved it .
,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bev089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Overall, the hotel was just fine. Our biggest complaint was with the Front Desk. We reserved a Deluxe Swim in. When we got to our room, we realized we backed right onto the center of the pools where they play loud music and conduct activities over megaphone from 10-5 and where the main swim up bar is. It made it very loud and full of drunks from 9-7 every day. Had we been a party couple this would have been fine, but we were hoping to relax by our swim in suite during the day without listening to club hits blasting at 10 am.
As soon as we got to our room I called and politely asked for a room change. "no problem, come see us tomorrow and we will do it."
Day 2, "we will put you in a Platinum suite on the Riveria side, expect a note under your door tonight and we will switch you tomorrow" - No note
Day 3 "We will move you down a couple buildings where it is quieter, expect a note under your door tonight and we will switch you tomorrow"
Day 3 at 9pm "We don't send the note till later, like middle of the night" - No note
Day 4 "No rooms available in the hotel. The Supervisor is away and will not call you when he returns."

Obviously I am paraphrasing, but this was the message we got. Their end goal was just to get us to leave the front desk. We were so frustrated that we just stuck with our room after that because it was ruining our stay.

Overall if you really want to just turn off your brain, this place works. Since it's so large, it's kind of like summer camp in that everything is by timetable and you are a number, not a person. Follow their rules and you won't have a problem. As long as you don't request anything beyond what is given you by the staff, you will be fine and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cgbrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#62 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Suite...
#81 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
8,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess
Family Club at Grand Riviera Pri...
#66 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $186 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing