We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Scuba Libre

Scuba Libre
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Isla Mujeres Sailing Adventure from Riviera Maya
More Info
$90.00*
and up
ATV and Cenote Tour from Playa del Carmen
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving Course in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba Libre has been operating in Playa del Carmen since 1998.Currently Scuba Libre operates two dive centers, one located in the heart of Playa del Carmen only 30m/100ft from the sea and the other inside of the Sandos Caracol Eco Resort and Spa, 6km/4mi north of Playa del Carmen. Scuba Libre is a PADI 5* Gold Palm Resort and active member of APSA (Riviera Maya Association of Dive & Water Sports Operators.)Scuba Libre's Dive Masters and Instructors are very familiar with the diverse dive sites along Playa del Carmen and are very experienced in training and guiding divers. Scuba Libre teaches all levels of PADI courses in German, English, Italian, Spanish, French and Dutch. A maximum of 6 divers per Dive Master or 4 students per Instructor are taken into the ocean, this way Scuba Libre can give full attention to all clients and ensure them the safest and most exciting dive experience possible.Scuba Libre's boats have been specially customized for diving activities, providing all the space and comfort that a diver may expect, plus all of the necessary safety equipment that an open sea operation requires.The boats and dive centers are fitted with state of the art radio communications with direct access to the Local SSS Recompression Chamber of Playa del Carmen and DAN Americas.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I did 4 dives with these guys a few weeks ago. The divemasters and instructors are top notch and speak very good English. Rental gear is much better than I expected. The fins they rent are shoe type, so if you like the type you wear booties with, bring your own. They did change our trip time at the last minute, but we hadn't fully paid the deposit and were very flexible anyway.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    69
    21
    4
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, but probably not better than the many dive shops in Playa”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Pros: Safe, small groups (in our experience), responsible dive master, fun people at the shop, good response time via e-mail, reservation online yields 10% discount (deposit via paypal required)

- Price seems to be at par with other dive shops

Cons:
- relatively short dives (in cenotes) based on a time schedule not on amount of leftover air (people in the group had enough air for at least another 15 minutes)
- Although the dive master told us that there are many different cenotes prepared to dive in with groups they took us to those that where quite crowded with divers. There where at least 20 vans from dive different companies coming and going, and underwater we would continuously see other groups. Also there where people taking pictures underwater of the groups which they tried to sell for a lot of money (80 USD for 20 or so pictures and a movie of the group). Dive master seemed to have an incentive to make us at least consider buying these pictures
- No running over the gear, no communication underwater about remaining air or route to take. Lot of weight was put on most people. Not a dive in which you actually enhance your skills.

Conclusion: Comparable to most shops in playa del carmen. Definitely safe but quite touristic.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Loo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adventure Diving”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Small group diving, guide and two to four divers. Dive locations as requested. Guides very involved and fun to work with. Shop staff first class with info and assistance. Dive boat crew very nice, very helpful and fun to talk and ride with!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a high calibre scuba operation....our best choice ever!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our scuba divers club, over the past 5 years has been traveling to "vacation" destinations in the Dominican Republic and Mexico, and we were extremely impressed with our vacation this year....partially because of the excellent dive operator in Playa Del Carmen called Scuba Libre. They were unbelievable in looking after our group which is large and diverse and, dare I say, a bit high maintenance at times! The manager of the dive shop is Simona and is a fantastic organizer...taking care of every little detail you could possibly imagine. Their boats are excellent and while not all brand new, they are all in excellent condition and very clean. And what can you say about the dive masters.....awesome! It's hard to imagine a more fun, knowledgeable bunch of dive leaders than this. Thanks again to Rigo, Samy, Geraldine, Rico and all the rest! Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that they gave us the best prices in the country! We had 26 people on this vacation of which 17 were certified scuba divers (with one diver achieving his OW during the vacation) and we can say on behalf of everyone that this was the best dive operation we have ever used. Thanks Scuba Libre! We'll see you next year!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun dives, well orchestrated”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Took 6 dives and a refresher. The equipment was not the best, but the crew was wonderful. Good sites and the cenotes were special.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank meyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuba Libre also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Scuba Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing