We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The locals eat here”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #31 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The locals eat here”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fantastic food, obviously typical given the number of locals who eat here! Portions are huge, meat is delicious, lots of spice if you want. Bring your appetite and enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,796
    1,132
    246
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ameliasburg, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We came in to Playa to pick up a few provisions at Mega and crossed Av. Constituentes to have a bite of lunch at El Fogon on the recommendation of someone who visits the area frequently. The atmosphere is not what draws one to this local eatery because it opens onto a busy street and there was barely a breeze on the hot afternoon that we were there. It is the tasty Mexican dishes that attract diners. We ordered a couple of well-chilled coronas to accompany our tacos al pastor and tacos al arrachera, both of which were delicious. As we sipped our beers and waited for the tacos, the server brought us a complimentary plate of warm nopal [cactus.] It was tender and juicy. I look forward to trying more of the menu items in the future.

Our server was friendly and helpful, the service was prompt, and the price was right..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I love going to local places and that's exactly what this reminded us of. There were some tourist but, it looked like a lot of Locals that were eating there. I just got the Taco's and they were alright, I'm just not a fan of corn tortilla's. I prefer the flour ones. The Queso Fundito with Chorizo, on the other hand, was out of this world. I could have made a meal out of that alone. My husband got the grilled meats for 2 and that was very good also. I just liked the vibe of the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oxonhillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best ”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Hollllly taco this place is amazing. Pastors are delicious, chicken is so tasty and piña coladas were the best in the whole of Mexico. We came here every night we were in playa.

Helpful?
Thank Fritha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh, local,on a budget”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

it is a must.30th and 6 corner.Grill smoke smells 2 blocks away.Delicious.Have to try ojo rojo it is only $3.50.Thuis is my second time here in a week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raimonda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing