We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arracherra Especial”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #33 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Arracherra Especial”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We walked here based on a recommendation from our hotel front desk. He told us to order the arracherra especial and it did not disappoint! It is the 2nd best Mexican meal I've ever eaten. Despite its location away from the touristy 5th Avenue, the restaurant is very busy. We had to wait in line both times we visited. The service and the food was awesome though. The only minor complaint I have is they give you a poor exchange if you pay in U.S. dollars. So bring your pesos and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,799
    1,133
    249
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It's no joke!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

El fogon lived up to the hype. Great food, great prices and a real Mexico feel. It's nice to venture out away from the touristy areas to try something local. My only regret is that we didn't go at night. Apparently they only serve al pastor tacos at night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blind find for us & SO HAPPY WE DID!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were in Playa for just one night, stumbled upon this place & knew instinctively it would be good; lots of locals, a small wait for a table, and the staff buzzing with friendly and fast service! Crazy good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1spudfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I don't remember the name of the dish we ordered, but it was a special for 4 or 6 people. It had beef, pork, chicken and chorizo. With grilled onions, cactus and queso fundido. It came out on top of a "home made charcoal grill". Definitely worth trying....delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank babypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Food= great, Ambiance=Not so much”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

As everyone else has written, food is awesome and cheap. The restaurant is packed (with a line to boot) and I thought the service was very good. However, while we did come back here for several lunches during our trip, we just found that the ambiance did not justify a return trip for dinner. For just a bit more money, there were several other restaurants that delivered food that was on par with El Fogon (For example, Los Carboncitas) with actual ambiance. I'm all for fun, local dives and this delivered on this front. Best in class for this type of restaurant, but just don't think I could have come back here for another dinner (maybe if I was 20 years younger I wouldn't have cared!).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing