We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food even better prices. Authentic Mexican cuisine.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #34 of 1,220 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food even better prices. Authentic Mexican cuisine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of our favourite places for the past several years. Great food, good service. Super prices, great value for your dollar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,686
    1,092
    236
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best mexican food in Playa Del Carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was a great mexican food experience!! The margaritas, the tacos, guacamole etc were amazing ! The service was very friendly, and very nice! Gotta try this restaurant if you are in PDC!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizlapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mexican at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

El Fogon Taquerias was recommended to us by a friend we met in Mexico. We were seated on the second floor, outside on a balcony. The atmosphere was wonderful as was the food. We don't speak Spanish and the staff did their best to explain the menu to us. We ordered the special and we were not disappointed. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it. We are fans of Mexican food but are still a little conservative with the hot sauces - beware of the sauces they bring before the meal. The sauces were tasty but one was mucho hot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel2plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you're looking for a good Mexican restaurant, go to El Fogon in Playa Del Carmen. The food was awesome and the Margueritas were the best I drank in PDC!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I asked one of the staff at our hotel where he goes in Playa del Carmen for good food. He sent us to El Fogon. It is definitely "off the beaten path", five blocks from 5th avenue, but worth the short walk. The place was packed, despite the fact it was raining that evening, but we got lucky and found a lone empty table. My wife and I had beef tacos and they were very good. The waiter was very helpful suggesting what to order, as the menu was entirely in spanish. There were a lot of locals and tourists in the restaurant, a good sign I think. My only regret was that we didn't go back once more to be a little more adventuresome with the menu. You should definitely check this place out if you're looking for authentic local cuisine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing