We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican food in Playa Del Carmen”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #36 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best mexican food in Playa Del Carmen”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was a great mexican food experience!! The margaritas, the tacos, guacamole etc were amazing ! The service was very friendly, and very nice! Gotta try this restaurant if you are in PDC!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizlapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,925
    1,166
    260
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mexican at it's best”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

El Fogon Taquerias was recommended to us by a friend we met in Mexico. We were seated on the second floor, outside on a balcony. The atmosphere was wonderful as was the food. We don't speak Spanish and the staff did their best to explain the menu to us. We ordered the special and we were not disappointed. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it. We are fans of Mexican food but are still a little conservative with the hot sauces - beware of the sauces they bring before the meal. The sauces were tasty but one was mucho hot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel2plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you're looking for a good Mexican restaurant, go to El Fogon in Playa Del Carmen. The food was awesome and the Margueritas were the best I drank in PDC!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I asked one of the staff at our hotel where he goes in Playa del Carmen for good food. He sent us to El Fogon. It is definitely "off the beaten path", five blocks from 5th avenue, but worth the short walk. The place was packed, despite the fact it was raining that evening, but we got lucky and found a lone empty table. My wife and I had beef tacos and they were very good. The waiter was very helpful suggesting what to order, as the menu was entirely in spanish. There were a lot of locals and tourists in the restaurant, a good sign I think. My only regret was that we didn't go back once more to be a little more adventuresome with the menu. You should definitely check this place out if you're looking for authentic local cuisine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is good but be prepared to be there for 2 hours without waiting in line to get seated”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We walked right in to seats but later there was a wait. We placed our order about 30 mins after arrival. However several people that came in after us got their food and one couple even ate and left before we got our food. Waiter was apologetic but we had already invested 2 hrs. We were going to eat there another evening prior but glad we didn't wait in the line it extends down the side walk. Not that we were in a hurry we just didn't want to be there that long without even having the outdoor line. So if u are in a hurry I don't recommend. But food was good and you could easily share the fajitas.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaFfromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing