We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find off the beaten path”
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #32 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great find off the beaten path”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found this authentic restaurant off the beaten path. It is located in a few blocks off of Fifth. The food was to die for. Lots of locals, but as good as anywhere you can go to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbdrake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,845
    1,146
    254
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The food we didn't even know we wanted”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Background: We have been coming to the Riveria Maya every year for the past 9 years and only come into Playa twice. Usually we stick around Puerto Aventuras and have always been disappointed in the food quality.

Since it was Independence day we decided to travel into Playa to go to a restaurant a friend recommended when the taxi pulled up we realized it was closed. Our nothing short of awesome taxi driver told us about El Fogon saying he went there with his own family and that the food was cheap as well as authentic. We agreed and he dropped us off at a restaurant with a large open front. There was one table in the very front open and we sat down right away, it was early around 5:30pm.

To the left of the restaurant there is a large rotisserie with a huge slab of pork/beef (?) and hot coals. You could feel the heat radiating off of it and smell the smoking meat. Yes this place could have air conditioning but personally I thin it would take away from the whole atmosphere. We were right next to the sidewalk and could people watch as well as listen to the live singers/bands that sand on the street and around tables.

We ordered drinks, the sangria and pina colado were good but nothing spectacular. The menu is all in Spanish and the waiter spoke limited english. We ended up just telling him the meats we wanted and he brought us dishes. We also ordered the melted cheese (fundido) with chorizo to start. To be honest we are Americans, we love our cheese, and this was a welcome treat after being in the Yucatan since September 1st.

The fundido with chorizo was OUT of this world! It was honestly the food we had been craving for the past two weeks and never knew it until it hit our tongue. I have never had chorizo that tasted like your mouth was having a party. The atmosphere was authentic with no one around us speaking a word of English! Lot's of small children around. They waiter also brought three kinds of salsa. The green one was EXTREMELY spicy, the red one was spicy but enough to handle and the pico de gallo looked shockingly pleasant for how spicy it actually was. Just taste carefully! All our meats were amazing and well seasoned even the simple grilled chicken.

A fair warning that the bathrooms had no toilet seats so work on those thigh muscles!

The food was cheap and worth every peso or more! For 4 people, two rounds of drinks, 1 appetizer and four entrees the bill was 670 pesos. About 60 dollars US which is unheard of in Seattle! VERY impressed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“excellent value and authentic food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ate here as it came recommended for a typical Mexican restaurant / café.
It certainly was authentic, and we ate like kings (i.e. – ordered far too much food, and could barely walk afterwards).
We ordered some specials, which included steak, chorizo (minced?) guacamole, jacket potato, chilli’s in cheese and various other accompaniments / sauces. The specials also came with a bean soup. The pico de gallo was lovely and spicey, and all the dishes came with a huge stack of tortillas.
Our table was barely big enough for all the food to fit on, but what we managed to eat was really nice.
In Summary, fast friendly service, unpretentious, traditional, well cooked, flavoursome food at fantastically reasonable process!
Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomper_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Now, THIS is real Mexican food!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Freshly prepared BBQ meats & fondued cheeses, gigantic super-tacos & burritos, delicious nachos & frijoles charros, and the best pastor in town, there are several El Fogon restaurants but all are equally good... there's a reason they're always so busy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSuzyDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved the food. Kept on going back. Inexpensive and extremely helpful waitstaff. Everything is freshly made and quick. No English menus but I think it makes it a more fun adventurous experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonacoNewmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing