We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$387
$191
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$338
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$480
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$701
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,343)
Filter reviews
9,343 results
Traveler rating
4,056
2,932
1,332
568
455
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,056
2,932
1,332
568
455
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantssports barfondueplatinum suitemama miaplatinum areale fleurplatinum conciergechill out barla vaqueriaplatinum poolthe grilllas olaswater shoesprivate pooldays in advanceseafood
Filter
Updating list...
4,080 - 4,085 of 9,343 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived to the Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa on August 6th, let me start by saying the minute we arrived they pushed us to purchase the upgrade to the platinum adults only area which was an extra $270 USD. We thought based on what they said this would allow us to make it easier during our stay for concierge services as well as restaurant reservations.
Our group was 14 total and 7 rooms, we all ended up paying extra to be on this area we paid extra. What we didn’t realize if that this area was missed advertised, we didn’t get no special services, no priority on any of the restaurant reservations.. Actually when we would go see in reality if the restaurants where booked completely to our surprise we realized they were empty. One of the couples traveling with us also got $200 USD stolen from their room, when they called to report the issue they claimed they would send some one, who never showed up. They don’t take their customer serious
We went to complaint twice about this to the concierge who kept telling us there was nothing they could do. The hotel seemed busy however the hotel seemed way understaffed, they were very unfriendly and angry most of the times. They claimed they had 21 bars however most of them would close by 5pm.The food quality was terrible, they made no effort to make our stay a pleasant one, and at the end of the day had no benefits what so ever from the so called “upgrade” to platinum they charged $270 USD to each couple.
I would like to call out however the following employees who truly tried to go beyond their surroundings and the hotel terrible customer service to provide good service… Yara (beach bar), Lidia and Sergio.
I do not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank angelaramirezus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Angela,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration.

We are very concerned for the fact that your stay with us was not up what you expected; so we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest regret for the situations described.

I would like to explain that our platinum guests can take advantage and book in advance the ala carte restaurants before their arrival, however when our guests pay the upgrade in the hotel, their dinner reservations are subject to availability.

Concerning about the 200 Dollars we do not have any report about this situation.

We sincerely hope to get an opportunity from you and be able to totally change your perception by making you enjoy of our various restaurants and different facilities and services which complies with the highest standards of service.

Do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to choose us once more for a future vacation and we will be more than pleased to change your experience.

Sincerely,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family and I stayed at this resort from August 2-9, 2014. We stayed in the Platinum suites and the service was excellent with the exception of the check-in and check-out as the lines did not go quickly. The alcohol/bar provided in the Platinum suite was terrible, definitely not "top shelf" and the drinks were nothing spectacular! Platinum suite guests are entitled to top shelf alcohol however you must point out this fact to the bar tenders or you end up with the cheap stuff. The staff are very friendly and try hard to please you, although many of them do not speak much English. The grounds at this hotel are beautiful and well maintained! The resort is huge, however the Platinum suites did have a shuttle that ran every 15 minutes up to the main lobby if you chose not to walk. The food in the a'la cart restaurants was somewhat disappointing with the exception of Mama Mia and Miso. The main buffet was excellent. One word of caution...the floors are very slippery, especially when they are wet! Despite the numerous signs warning of same, both my husband and I took more than our share of falls in the pool area as well as the hallways leading to our room. While the highly glossed floors look beautiful, I can't for the life of me understand why a resort would not install some kind of non-slip surface to avoid slip & fall injuries. The ocean was lovely but there was quite a bit of seaweed to contend with. The staff did their best to rake it up each morning. There are some rocks/coral on the bottom but it is not sharp and we did not require swim shoes, you just have to be careful where you step. The many cats on the property were friendly and we enjoyed our daily visits. The Coaties are also a very interesting site.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Platinum suites, the extra cost was well worth it. The outdoor jetted tub was very enjoyable and the private concierge, bar and pool was a great bonus.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Danad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Danad123

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your platinum suite, and appreciate you pointing out several areas for improvement. Your feedback will be reviewed by our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Recently returned from a vacation at the Grand riviera princess. The resort is nice but it's too big, it's about a 10 min walk from the beach to the front of the resort. The service isn't good due there not being enough staff to tend to all the guests, not to mention the front desk staff tried to cheat us out of a room so make sure u have your reservation handy. This place gets good reviews here on trip advisor but I think it's from people that haven't visited other resorts where they offer awesome service. Another thing is if your going to visit the riviera Maya know that nothing is walking distance outside the resort, everything (like 5th st)is a $20 cab ride away. It's a 2 mile ride just to get to the street. I don't mean to knock on the servers,most of them we're very curious but they need to hire a whole lot more of them. One more thing. Good luck getting a reservation at one of the specialty restaurants, they we're booked for a week when I was there. Would I go back? No

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthetravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Playa del Carmen. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback and comments; we take very serious every review received from our guests as this helps us identify the areas of improvement, in order to provide excellent service to all our guests.

We are very trilled to read that we could not meet your expectation, excellent services is our mail goal, we thank you again for your comments about the resorts which help us a lot to improve our service,

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We returned today from a 4 night stay at the Grand Riviera Princess. It is a very large resort located about 15 minutes north of Playa Del Carmen. It has a large beach and multiple pools. The grounds are pristine and the resort is generally very clean. When we checked in we were "upgraded" to the Laguna Suites as they were out of the Platinum Suites we had originally booked. I don't feel we were upgraded as the Laguna Suites are a long way from the beach, whereas the Platinum Suites are the closest rooms to the beach and look a lot newer. The Laguna Suite is a pretty decent size but nothing special. The "Lagoon" that the Laguna Suites are nestled around looks terrible - there is almost no water in it. Once we had checked into our room we decided to go hang out at the beach, it was shortly before 3pm. We stopped by the towel hut but they were out of towels and we were told they wouldn't have any towels for an hour. How an earth do you run out of towels at a beach resort? Especially when you only allow each guest one towel via the towel card system and you know exactly how many guests you have? The next day the same thing happened at noon with a 20 minute wait. Pretty bad in my opinion. One of the supposed benefits of paying the extra for Platinum is that you can book dinner at the a la carte restaurants. We were told that we arrived too late to book for our first night. We again tried the next day and after a long, drawn out affair we were offered a la carte reservations at 6.15 and 9 on our 3rd and 4th nights. We were traveling with a group but they would simply not accommodate us together if we wanted to eat a la carte. We spent a considerable amount of time on this but to no avail. So we ate at the buffet. It was terrible. Poor quality food, long lines, luke warm, dirty, etc. Just a very poor experience. Oh, and by the way if you do get into an a la carte restaurant the guys have to wear long pants! Why and earth on a Caribbean vacation would you want to wear long trousers? I guess at a 5 star MAYBE but at this 3 star joint? The beach is large with plenty of loungers but it has rocks. A lot of rocks to the left and less rocks to the right. The food and drinks at the beach are pretty good. Our beach waitress Yara was awesome. We wanted to play Volleyball one day so we went to find someone from the entertainment team to get a volleyball. No such luck. We were told we were "not allowed" to have a volleyball until 3pm and then it would be "supervised" by a member of the entertainment team - what a joke! This resort is a vacation mill. They shuffle people in and shuffle people out. They have no interest in resolving problems and customer service is severely lacking, from the moment you check-in until the moment you check out. Never once was I asked by ANY member of staff if I was enjoying my stay. This resort is cheap at around $100 per person per night but the upgrade to the Platinum/Laguna is not worth a penny. The level of service is extremely poor - the worst I have experienced at a Riviera Maya resort. You will get a much better beach (no rocks), access to a la carte, and FAR better service at Sandos Playacar for about the same price. Lillian, Sergio, and Yara do need to be commended for going above and beyond - the only staff that did so. We definitely won't be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank dlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

We have shared your comments with all the deparments involved and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you have experienced. If you decide to return to Playa del Carmen in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile


Stay: 29th July - 8th August

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at Grand Riviera Princess and we had the best honeymoon! It's very surprising to read some of the views that claim bad service etc, as we had nothing but a positive experience; staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Our suite had everything we needed and was spotless every day. A spacious powerful shower, huge, comfortable bed and large balcony area.

As mentioned in previous posts, it is a large resort with lots on offer; a range of pools depending on whether you want something quiet or more lively, a beautiful beach and a range of restaurants for all tastes.
We enjoyed the walk between all of these facilities to work off all the food we had eaten!

A lovely honeymoon night was arranged for us as well as thoughtful touches in the rooms like champagne, desserts and towel decorations.

We loved the Chill Out beach area, which was definitely worth the $13 a person. Lovely comfy lounge beds, a beautiful setting and free wifi!

All in all, it was the most perfect 10 days and we definitely hope to return in the future. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sam_250187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

I really appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as your Honeymoon destination and it is great to know that you were very satisfied with your choice. It is nice to know that you are grateful with the staff working here, which motivate us to work hard every day and thank you very much for recommending us.

I wish to have the honor to see you when you come back to this paradise.

Best Regards
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews