We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our 2nd visit 2 Mexico and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. As other reviews state it is a big resort. Basically 2 mirrored hotels and the platinum suites.

The hotel it's self was kept spotless, continually cleaning all the communal areas. Grounds are also kept well, continually maintaining and replacing.

The pools were also cleaned daily, we tended to stay away from the main pools as we found it too busy, very loud however people seemed to be enjoying the whole party atmosphere. The down side to the quieter pool areas where the lack of near by bars, yes they did come round to serve you but this was a bit spasmodic and took a while for you to get a drink. A couple of day a "roll up bar" was set up near the area which was great.

Sun beds did tend to get taken up early in the day - on saying that you could be out and sun bathing at 9. I would imagine at peak times it would become difficulty to get a bed, also there were no umbrellas, there was some platform areas that wee covered - however these were always taken early on in the day.

It could become very slippy in certain areas, wooden bridges/pool area and some of the marble flooring, no worse than other hotels we have been to, but caution is required.

Room, yes they did have a slight musty smell, again this is something you do tend to get in the humid conditions. AC worked well, cleaned daily and fridge restocked. 3 days before we were due to left we kept being asked when were we leaving and on the day when would we vacate the room, which did become a little tiresome.

Food, typically buffet with plenty of fresh salad and fruit. Hot food was a little bland, lots of chicken but was of a good quality. We used the al a carte a few times, yes book early, apparently the show cooking was a good experience, it was nice to be served and be in a different environment and would recommend you try to utilise these.

There is extensive bldg work next door, be careful if you book the platinum suites as some of these are looking out onto the bldg site! They worked late some nights, we only heard the noise once during the day round the pools, at night we didn't hear anything as our room was facing away from the area, however some rooms faced the works and would have been effected by the noise.

We used the shuttle bus to go to the local town, got a taxi back. The town is becoming more and more touristy but you can find some local culture.

Bars, the sport bar got very busy and noisey, but was really open 24hrs and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Some branded spirits, lovely cocktails.

Some live bands and entertainment in the main plaza. The shows were a little repetitive but worthwhile catching a few of them.

One of the things that stood out at this hotel was the fact that everyone members of staff spoke or acknowledged you and seemed genuinely pleased to see you.


Downsides - wifi is expensive. Not a lot around the hotel .

We would go back.

Not to do with the hotel, however we were expecting to fly on the Dream Liner from Manchester but where told that it did fly from the airport in the winter, which considering we had severely phones calls seeing if we wanted to upgrade and had the conversation around why would we when it's the DL and at no point was this questioned. We are still waiting for Thompson to get back to us.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Flyingfresian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for sharing your experience with us and with other TripAdvisor Travelers.
I am pleased to read your comments about your stay with us; Our property and staff work every day to make our guests’ stay a special and a memorable one and can share their experience with their friends and family.

Thank you for all your comments it is thank you to valuable feedback like yours we continue to improve and provide an excellent service.
I hope to have the opportunity to host your holidays once again and provide you another incredible experience.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,899 - 3,905 of 8,544 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been to this resort three times and it is amazing! It's so incredibly beautiful, so clean, and there is so much to do. The staff was very helpful and very kind. The food is outstanding and there are so many restaurants to choose from. My personal favorites were the Italian and the Mexican.. make sure you book them the day before so you can get reservations. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and spacious. The resort may be too huge for some people, but I didn't mind, as it was nice to walk around at night and admire the beauty. Did a few excursions, but my personal favorite was the excursion to the island Gurrafon-we swam with dolphins, ziplined, and had a little siesta in the hammocks in the shade from the palm trees.. this place was postcard pretty and so beautiful! Have been to many other resorts before, but I continue to compare every trip to this resort and nothing compares honestly. Def worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. It is always an honor to read such complementary review like yours. Our mission is to make every stay as close as perfection as possible and I am glad our staff continues to accomplish this goal day by day.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort and provide you many more memorable experiences.
Best Regards,

Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this resort....Unfortunately, the weather didn't co-operate...but the food...service and staff were great...I would leave again next month, if i could....Don't want to stay ANYWHERE else....:)

Room Tip: We were on top of the swim up section...it was beautiful...and close to the restaurants on the way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Riviera Princess as host of your recent visit to Playa Del Carmen.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Resort and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just got back from the Riveria Princess, overall review was 4 of us travelled and we had no trouble with anything. Check in was great , the staff were all very courteous and accomodating. The place is huge but I personally like the distance from place to place because the grounds are beautiful. The food was average, Some places better than others but overall pretty good and a lot to choose from. The pools were great and the beach was nice. Ive seen a lot of negative reviews and can't understand why because our experiance was great.

Room Tip: We were in 8000 rooms , nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for having chosen Grand Riviera Princess for your latest vacation, and for writing such a kind review!

We are happy to know you enjoyed our facilities, and of course the service provided by our hard-working staff.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future to show you again our outstanding service.

Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a beautiful hotel and surrounding gardens.Very clean and well kept.Nice spacious rooms.
Some construction next door can be disturbing but go to the beach and it won't bother you.
The beach is rocky and a little weedy.
Drinks were good as well and most of the food.It was worth it to buy the platinum package.
Wonderful service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 6567kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Grand Sunset Princess. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore, your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve every day and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just got back from a great vacation. Spent 11 days at this resort from Jan. 8 to Jan. 19th with our son and daughter-in-law. We stayed in the Grand Yucatan Princess Platinum Suites. Close to most of the facilities there which was great. Long way from the beach but was able to take the shuttle which runs every 15 mins. Beautiful kept grounds and facilities. Staff was always very friendly and helpful. The food was better than some of the other resorts we had stayed at.
The ocean was very rocky but if you take river shoes it was alright. We didn't spend much time there as it was always very crowded although we did have a private section with bar service which was great.
I would recommend this resort, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for invert your time in this amazing review. Your constructive words are greatly appreciated as we are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you.

On behalf of all our staff we give the most sincere thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future to show you again our outstanding service.

Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited Mexico twice during 2012 and 2013 and stayed at the Grand Riviera Princess hotel in Playa del Carmen both times. We were concerned when returning to the hotel for the second time as we had such a great time the first but we wasn't disappointed. The hotel is extremely comfortable and well maintained and the staff take pride in their work to make sure the hotel is always kept clean and tidy. I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my family or friends and will struggle to find hotels around the world that can offer such quality for the same price.

If your looking for a holiday that has great weather, clean sandy beaches, day and night entertainment (which is excellent) and great food and drink then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: When choosing a room I would recommend the Junior Suite Deluxe, these rooms are located nearer the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your loyalty and for choosing Grand Riviera Princess for the last two years. It is a pleasure to read we were able to make of this vacation a relaxing and pampering experience. I am glad to know you will recommend us with your friends and family.

Also it is awesome read how much you enjoyed the facilities and amenities that you received and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing us.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back for another incredible experience.

Best Regards,

Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#62 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,761 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess
Family Club at Grand Riviera Pri...
#66 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,823 reviews
8.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $181 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll. Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon). A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing