We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$347
$237
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$495
$365
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun(Playa del Carmen)
$524
$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,000
$534
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$241
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Playa Maroma(Playa Maroma)
$480
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,205)
Filter reviews
9,205 results
Traveler rating
3,982
2,886
1,326
562
449
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,982
2,886
1,326
562
449
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantssports barfondueplatinum suitemama miaplatinum areale fleurplatinum conciergechill out barla vaqueriaplatinum poolthe grilllas olaswater shoesprivate pooldays in advanceseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,707 - 4,712 of 9,205 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The resort was beautiful. They kept it spotless. I would definitely go back. We loved the rooms. The food was good. We really liked the all inclusive part. It was nice relaxing on the beach and have a waitress bring your drinks to you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familyvacation423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We feel lucky to have had the opportunity to serve you.
We are happy you enjoyed the beach and of course the service provided by our hard-working, wonderful staff.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future to show you again our outstanding service.

Best Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently took a trip to the Grand Princess on July 23rd through July 29th. We stayed in the villa suites. The villas are really nice and are big rooms. This was our 3rd trip to Mexico on an all-inclusive vacation.
The Good:
-Beautiful large resort. We loved that it was huge because it really had more to do than stay at the same pool for a week. It was always cleaned and you have to credit the workers who work their butts off
-Variety of pools has something for everyone. We loved the party pool and the entertainment. The entertainment staff was amazing. Beer drinking contest, water aerobics, dancing lessons, etc. The villa pool was kind of boring for us, but would be nice for older couples who wanted peace and quiet.
-The service at the restaurants was always good. Bartenders, waiters, and waitresses take no short cuts to make sure you are taken care of.
-The spa. Our free massage was nothing short of amazing
And the Bad....
-We ordered room service and the next day the cleaning staff came and put our trays on the outside steps by our door. No one picked them up for two days even though we called numerous times. It had attracted all sorts of animals and bugs. Disgusting!
-The photography people at the store were horrible at customer service. We went to the place five times and were never waited on. When we finally were, they said they lost our photo folder. The one lady took such amazing pictures and it was a shame that the people in the store ruin sales by being so unfriendly and unhelpful. We didn't buy any.
-Children should not be allowed in the bar pool. There are a million other pools so I don't understand why they wouldn't monitor this. You try and relax and get hit by a ball in the face.
-The concierge service. As a perk of the villas you got to have your own concierge. It was a plus that we were able to book al a cartes for every night. However, he never explained the restaurants to us and we missed out on the best ones. They booked them for us and said we couldn't change. DON'T fall for the gimmick of the "platinum dinner". It was the horrible buffet food. They just try and clear the restaurants one night for the others.
-The deal breaker for this resort was the food. Breakfast was passable. Lunch was horrible. It was the same bad food for a week straight. I understand it is a large resort that needs to feed a large
amount of people, but it still could have been better. Dinner was OK.. nothing special. The only restaurant we really enjoyed was the sushi.
-The beach was ok.. not clear like Cancun. It's not that rocky however. It was hard to find chairs even as a platinum member.

Mostly due to the food, we would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at Grand Riviera Princess.
We are however disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectatives. We are working in each comment that you said for the hotel.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the future to show you how we are improve our service.

Best Regards,
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have looked at most of the photo's on trip advisor for this hotel, it doesn't do the hotel justice. Huge resort, always clean.
Check In: luggage taken to our room within 10minutes. Glass of champagne on arrival. Check In was pretty fast and simple, staff were more than helpful, giving you a brief overview of the hotel grounds etc.
We booked a Junior Deluxe room, jacuzzi was just in the shower room, we were expecting it to be on the balcony from the pictures we saw when we booked but still as enjoyable.
The grounds seem to be constantly looked after with staff members always seen, cleaning windows/gardening/cleaning the pool on a daily basis. Extremely well looked after.
Staff always said hello and very friendly always there to help.
Mosquito spray is a MUST!!
I was worried about the food after reading some of the very mixed reviews on here, but have no complaints. The buffets are huge, there has to be something for everybody. Massive salad bars, fruit bars, chips, burgers, hot dogs, stir frys, chilli & rice, pasta dishes made there and then to your specification, fillet steak, several sea food dishes, constantly stocked up and staff members checking the food area.
The a la carte restaurants were great, would definitely recommend the Italian restaurant.
We loved this resort and would definitely come back.
We travelled as a couple, but there were a variety of different groups in this resort, from familys, couples and groups of friends. Seemed a great place for everything and everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on this website. We value all guest feedback as an opportunity to continue improving our services and products for our guests.
We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the future to show you our outstanding service

Best Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This review is a bit late but I have never written a review before about a place. This hotel is the best place myself and the wife have ever stayed. It was paradise. Loved the food, the drinks and the nice surroundings. The entertainment was brilliant. Live Band,Musicals and club. Food and drinks served on the beach too.
Lots to do around the area. Went on excursions and Dolphin park is down the road.
We decided we would go back for our 10 year anniversary.

Go and book it now. Bargain prices compared to other hotels too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visit us and for providing the feedback. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay at Grand Riviera Princess.
I am glad that our hotel, services and the attention from our staff, met your overall expectations.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more comfortable. Our entire team stands at your service.

.Best Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just returned from a week-long stay (July 21 - 28, 2013) at the Grand Riviera Princess. What a wonderful place. We usually rent a condo on the beach in Florida and decided to try an all-inclusive for the first time. This is the first vacation where we got to relax and didn't have to deal with all the cooking. We upgraded to Platinum level as it was suggested by many reviewers here and they were right. By upgrading to Platinum, which didn't cost too much extra, we got free WiFi, our own private lounge with concierge, bar, barender/waitress, free room service, which is not included if you do not upgrade to Platinum, and a private area at the beach which was so close to walk to. The Platinum rooms are right by the beach. The private beach area had waiters to serve drinks and kept the local vendors from coming in as it was roped of. There was a buffet of hamburgers/hotdogs/tacos everyday right in that area for everyone, not just Platinum level. The rooms were gorgeous and always kept clean. We tipped our maid $5 every day and were never disappointed that we did so. If we were in our room when the bar service came around, then we got our fridge stocked up. If we were not, then apparently you don't. But bottled water was plentiful at the lounge and beach for Platinum level. There was also a restaurant that was open for breakfast and lunch right next to the Platinum level rooms, which saved us from taking the trolley to the front. We took the trolley every day, twice a day at least. My in-laws are late 70s/early 80s and they needed it. It came every 15 minutes and always on-time. You might need to plan ahead for the trolley and not wait til 15 minutes before dinner reservations to get one. So plan at least 30 minutes ahead at he busy times so if the first trolley is full, then in 15 minutes you can catch the next one. The walk is not bad from the lobby to the Platinum rooms early morning or at night. During the afternoons, it can be a hot walk. Our concierge made us reservations anytime we wanted for the restaurants. It was so easy. They had reservations for us the first two days when we arrived. We made all the rest the next day. I will say the Mexican restaurant was not very good. The Italian was the best. The steakhouse was better than the Mexican. We didn't get a chance to do the others as we liked the buffet flexibility. Food was always good at the buffet. No complaints. We did not have a problem with bugs nor mosquitoes at all. We brought a whole bag of repellent for the room and the beach and only used one can when we went to Tulum. I would suggest to upgrade to the Platinum level for sure because of free WiFi, free room service, the private beach area, the location, private lounge, any kind of liquor you wanted, champagne, wine, anything, and private concierge. Also, you do not want a first floor room due to the possible bugs and the Coaties (like racoons) creatures that are all around the property. We saw the little critters scavenging the first floor balcony under our room every morning. Our boys are 15 and 12 and could easily navigate the property, especially from beach to pools (which there are so many choices of). They loved going back to the room when they had enough of the beach and ordering room service. Plenty of things on the beach to do and a big property to explore. My in-laws loved everything being so close for them to walk and using the trolley service when they needed to. They clean this property constantly. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and never expected to be tipped. We will be going back for sure and upgrading to Platinum again. My husband didn't want to leave and almost cried when we left. :-)

Room Tip: Upgrade to Platinum level, 2nd or 3rd floor. Don't waste your time going to downtown to shop. Same stuff is on the beach at the same prices. Xelha scuba park was just okay. Definitely do private transportation if you do an excursion. Most of our time was spent switching buses or delivering other people to their hotels afterwards. Would have saved 4 hours at least. Gift shops are overpriced, but that's typical. Hire your own transportation from airport to hotel. We used cancun-cab.com and they were great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lestersgirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel.
We appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding to our rooms and the Restaurants and especially we are happy to hear that you could be relax.
Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us. Please rest assured that we will extend your compliments to the entire staff.

It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Grand Riviera Princess and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews