We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yes please do disregard the negative reviews as this hotel is so lovely and as in many of its many reviews its absolutely very well cared for. The amount of staff just looking after the grounds would be hard to calculate and they do a magnificent job on maintaining the surrounding beauty. I didn't realise this and other nearby hotels had been simply built into the jungles they sit in. This does give rise to many creatures that lurk in the grounds and i say lurk as there are crocodiles that cause amazement and a good talking point amongst holiday makers. (dont worry they are fenced off and only one had managed to go walkies lol). Coaties/snakes/iguanas/ghekos frogs etc are common and its both lovely and fun to watch their antics. The hotel has over 1400 bedrooms so you will have an idea as to the size of this place its simply huge. Our bedroom was the junior suite deluxe (free upgrade) and after seeing the further upgrades im glad i didn't spend the extra which is really for extra perks such as service and quiet areas free wifi etc and not room quality but beware the beds are very hard and uncomfortable as are the pool and beach sun loungers. Twelve restaurants and a further dining area on the beach known as the chill out area which is additional to the all inclusive fare. The meals are quite good and i give no criticism as there is such a varied amount on offer with t bone steaks, pork chops, lamb, chicken curries just to mention a few and also where would you be served lobster and steak in other hotels. Yes there are many other hotels that serve this but you will pay much more. The staff are superb and look after your needs without you realising they are watching and eager to make sure your stay will be a nice one. I will admit one morning i was having a lovely fresh omellette and went for a fresh juice only to return to see my brekky had been taken away which does put me off a bit as they do seem to be too alert and im not one for eyes on my food or being asked questions as i'm eating. I won't go into further detail as to the hotel as after reading other reviews i think everything has been covered but i will say please do try this hotel if you want a nice relaxing stay i'm sure you will return home most pleased. My only downside is that once your'e in the hotel it pretty isolated and a long walk to the highway outside with no local amenities unless you book to venture into playa de carmen or cancun. Lastly beware when you book the free hotel bus into playa car as if you wish to return early you will be charged a small sum which is fair enough but after overspending we were short of 50p and were flatly refused entry onto the bus and told if we have no more money on us we would have to wait four hours for the free passage back even though we offered to pay back at the hotel so he left us standing and drove off with empty seats. I did not like this attitude of the driver and pity help if this happens to any young girls as it could lead to trouble. All in all very good holiday and if we go back to mexico i'd have no hesitation returning here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pebs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that you had an excellent experience visiting at Grand Riviera Princess.

All the staff of our Resort feels so glad when we receive review as yours. The Guest’s feedback is very important for us, because is the only way to know that we are doing well our job and serve to motive us even more.

Regarding your comments about the opportunities to improve, without hesitation we will put your suggestions in practice.


It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the superb service for which we are known.

Kind Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,593 - 4,599 of 8,968 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

After countless hours of my girlfriend and I researching prices and reviews for the perfect resort, we ended up choosing the Princess. I was completely blown away by the value and service provided. Special thanks to the Laguna Villa concierge Alejandro who called regularly to make sure everything was perfect. The upgrade to the Laguna Villas was a no brainer for a more private kid free and relaxing time versus the more crowded pools. The optional Romantic Dinner on the beach at the Chill Out bar was AMAZING. 6 perfectly served courses. Security was very good and our safety was never in question. Thank you Princess!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: upgrade to Laguna Villa for a more private and intimate experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0n321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 5 day stay at the resort. We stayed from June 27-July 1. We had a great time!! I would recommend booking the platinum upgrdes-the extra perks are worth the money. This was our second time to stay at this resort and there were tons more families here this time. The food was good, there was always something good to eat on the buffets. We did make reservations at 2 of the restaurants-Mama Mia and La Vaqueria. They were both very good!! There is entertainment all day and the shows at night are good and the music at the main plaza every night was very enjoyable. I was a little disappointed in the beach-the platinum only side was dirty and it did smell really bad. If you move more down to the right the water was beautiful. The beaches in Playa Del Carmen were beautiful as well. I would recommend taking the free shuttle into town to shop on 5th avenue and take swim clothes to swim on the beaches there. We did the snorkeling through the Pro Divers that were at the resort and it was awesome!! The beds/pillows were not very comfortable so needless to say we didn't sleep to well but all in all we had a great vacation. The resort is very huge and it is a lot of walking but we didn't mind-it was enjoyable to see the beautiful landscape especially at night. I would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your loyalty and sharing your nice review with TripAdvisor’s Travelers, we are grateful for your visit at Grand Riviera Princess.
Your feedback is very motivating and helps us to keep on working so hard every day.

We are so glad that our hotel, services and the attention from our staff, met your overall expectations.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for your 3th time to the Resort in the near future to show you how we are improve our services.


Best Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from a two week stay at this hotel and it blew our minds, never stop cleaning and maintaining the grounds, the bars and restaurants are excellent.rooms are amazing. We stayed in junior suite and that was all we needed. All the staff are very friendly. If you are with first choice your rep lee is a top bloke helps you when ever needed.entertainment was good always something going on.
If your going to buy anything from shops in hotel use the shop by the beach entrance a little cheaper.
Chill out bar/restaurant... Was a must booked it for my Gfs bday and was the most romantic and great tasting six course meal ever. Well worth the money.
Beach was lovely. First week a bit seaweedy due to storm. But second week crystal clear.
I like to party but stay away from party pool if Americans are a bit to much for you. Majority are lovely people but some have no respect for anyone. The two pools near the beach are amazing. Friendly and a lot cleaner.
Buffet was great. Always lots to choice from including lobster. Not baking hot but come on guys it's a buffet not an ala carte.
Do not listen to any bad reviews people will moan about anything. I have travelled all over and this is the only hotel I'm looking at booking a second year in a row fantastic place.

Dolphin swim is a must and coco bongos was amazing. All over excursions looked great also.
IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A CLEAN, FRIENDLY HOTEL THEN BOOK THIS UP.

I want to go back now :-(

Take mosquito spray

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit with us and for providing the feedback. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay at Grand Riviera Princess.
I am glad that our hotel, services and the attention from our staff, met your overall expectations.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more comfortable. Our entire team stands at your service.

Best Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First impressions were not great after turning of the main road, it looked like a building site with 10foot high walls either side running down to the lobby. However initial impressions once you reached the hotel was good. The area was clean and smart, there was a small delay to get checked in and the staff were polite. Hotel room was clean and tidy, but we did have to wait longer than expected for our bags to turn up from the bellhop.

Unfortunately as we settled in the cracks began to show, the food was mediocre I found the buffet food was cold despite begin there when the doors opened, it was incredibly salty all the time, the restaurant were not of a standard we expected. our orders were regularly incorrect the only restaurant I enjoyed was the oriental. The tapas opened during our stay and was a big disappointment, certainly not a tapas restaurant. also to book the restaurant's involved walking all the way back up to the main lobby which is a 10min walk.

During the night it was noisy with people shouting down the corridor and banging on the doors, then early in the morning children were regularly heard outside our room. The fact there would be a considerable amount of children there was not even mentioned whilst booking and I feel this should of been highlighted during the initial phase. We also had the smell of cigarette smoke come into the room through the AC unit which resulted in us turning it off for periods of time. Down on the beach you would be regularly disturbed with the spa staff selling the massages, the water sports staff selling the locals selling there souvenirs also. As all inclusive holidays go this was certainly not all inclusive as you had to pay for the extra restraints unless you were platinum. We also found the maid service was hit and miss as well.

On a positive note the grounds were fantastic, the staff were friendly and polite and the excursions were top notch. I would recommend if you go here to check out the on site Grease performance fir pure cheese value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choose Grand Riviera Princess for your holidays. We are very much regret that we could not meet all of your expectations, our property and staff work every day to make our guests’ stay a special and a memorable one, and we are sorry that it was not the case this time.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, so I personally will inform about your comments to the manager.
We do hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went on our honeymoon 5 years ago and it was fantastic...went back for our aniversary and was even better. I recommend the platinum upgrades if you can... well worth the cost! What we love about this resort is that it has something for every type of traveller! If you are a party hard type person than there is the party pool, if you like butler service than there is the hoity-toity pool, if you like lounging around the pool with a chill atmostphere than there is a place for that.

My spouse and I have travelled to Panama, Cuba, Los Cabos, Bahamas, Los Angelos and Vegas in the past 5 years and we always compare our all inclusive to this one. It truly is the best bang for your buck.

What I would recomend to hotel staff for improvements is to change the swim out pools by the party pool to include platinum level as an option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcpcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience visiting at Grand Riviera Princess.

All the staff of our Resort feels so glad when we receive review as yours. The Guest’s feedback is very important for us, because is the only way to know that we are doing well our job and serve to motive us even more.

It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the superb service for which we are known.

Kind Regards
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My bf & I stayed 5days/4nights at this hotel and we had such an amazing time. It was our first time in Playa del Carmen area and we were looking to relax and enjoy all the perks of an all-inclusive hotel, and that we did! Because we arrived at the hotel before check-in (3pm), we could not get to our room right away. In the meantime, we were given our wrist bands which allowed us to walk around the facility and enjoy the free drinks and we had access to the pool and beach while we waited. Drinks are watered down as we all know, but if you tip the servers, they can make your drinks stronger. Our room was the deluxe junior suite with a balcony view of the backside of the hotel and a jacuzzi, which was amazing. There are shuttles available every so often that bring you to your room from the lobby and vice versa, if needed. The room was a 5min walk from the lobby and about the same to the beach. It can get annoying to walk that distance in the heat to get to your room or the beach, but once you cool off at the beach/pool, you forget all about it. The pool grounds can get very slippery, so be careful walking with flip-flops--I was slipping and sliding quite a few times. We only were able to make dinner reservations for two restaurants:Tapas-Spanish cuisine and La Vaqueria- Argentinean steakhouse. Portions are small but you get appetizer, salad, soup, entree, and dessert included, as well as drinks. Food was delicious at these restaurants and for the buffet breakfast, there is such a variety to choose from! If you are unable to make dinner reservations for a restaurant, there is always the buffet dinner or the 24/7 sports bar, serving hot dogs and burgers. Just a reminder--you can make dinner reservations all in one sitting for the remainder of your stay, instead of having to go back there every day. It would be even better if the hotel had free wireless internet in the main lobby at least, but if you do need the internet, there is a room by the lobby with computers you can use for a fee--$10 usd for 30 minutes of internet. Overall, awesome experience! I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples on a romantic getaway and those who just want to relax in paradise. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Deluxe junior suite is beautiful and has all the amenities you would need. If you want to pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jperal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Grand Riviera Princess.
Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore, your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve every day and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known.

Best Regards,
Grand Riviera Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#61 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,993 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess
Family Club at Grand Riviera Pri...
#69 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $189 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll. Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon). A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing