We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday in November 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Holiday in November 2012”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sorry in my delay in posting this review. I just really wanted to write a quick review as the reviews online had terrified me before mine and my bf's trip. Anyway simple review is great holiday. Great trips, great weather, great staff, great hotel. Lovely beach, not sure why other reviews complained about the beach! The only thing that stops me giving this a 5 star was the food. That does not mean it was bad just not 5 star in my opnion.

Having said that this resort is excellent value for money!

Would return tomorrow!

ps. coco bonga was fun

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,281
    2,473
    1,149
    490
    383
See reviews for
2,426
3,565
120
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,845)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great good, great pools, great staff and a wonderful location. Not sure where the negative review people were staying but clearly it was not here! Can highly recommend this beautiful resort for an all-inclusive relaxing getaway in a beautiful destination.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WellheeledScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here with our children, ages 7, 17 and 16 last year in July. Although this Hotel is beautiful, the food was tasteless. When my daughter got sick one evening and we tried to order room service, we were told it was not part of our all inclusive plan. I have never heard of anything so ridiculous. We have been going to Mexico for over 17 years and that has never happened. When I explained I would just like a cup of soup, I was told I would have to pay for it. The service was not exceptional for a restaurant of this caliber. I was extremely disppointed with the food in all the restaurants. It took at least 10 min to walk to any of the restaurants and pools. There weren't many children in the kids club. I wouldn't go back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Absolutely amazing 10 days; 12 to 22 December 2012. The resort was fabulous. We conversed with the staff every day and that made it an even better experience; we treated them like people and they were even nicer to us. Lots to do in the resort. We went on a couple of excursions and loved them. Spent a day on Cozumel and a couple of days in Playa del Carmen and had just as much fun there. We're not room service type and found that the buffet was better than reserving restaurants. Nightly entertainment was fabulous and if you grew tired of it, the odds were good you wouldn't be able to hear it from your room balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daddyman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Laguna Villas and the room was absolutely beautiful! would never stay in any of the other rooms except for this. The food was OK, nothing to write home about but we never went hungry while we were there. We didn't do much of the activities but they had a lot listed for everyone to do. The "private" area on the beach is not really private. Although having the chairs with the big umbrella's was nice since it got to be so hot during the day. The beach is nice but other parts around playa have nicer beaches. The hotel staff was very friendly and if you tip it really does go a long way. It is a large place but it is not a large that you cannot get anywhere after a short walk. I would stay here again if we had to. The best part was the private pool for the Villas area...we were glad to be away from all the kids at the other pools.

Room Tip: Villas or Platimum only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enbrid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just finished up an incredible week at the Grand Riviera Princess! I honestly cannot understand the bad reviews I read before booking - it was fantastic!
We are a well travelled couple in our mid twenties and were so impressed with our first time at an all inclusive resort.
Highlights were the amazing pools and beach access, lovely staff, range of restaurants, night time entertainment and the overall pride the staff have in the resort. Every single staff member we passed would greet us with a smile and a hello which was just lovely. They really were keen to make sure of a memorable stay.
There were heaps of bars too which we loved! Pool bars, outdoor bars, indoor bars, themed bars etc.
Food wise we are healthy eaters and found no issue in fresh meals and range of options. The buffet we only had dinner at once and it was fine. Best restaurants were the Tapas, Miso the asian one and the Italian one.
We were celebrating a special occasion and received an upgrade to the platinum adults only area which was great however our friends who were also traveling with us were in junior suite which was great too.
In summary, book this place for a great holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucylindabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here from Dec 27th 2012 - Dec 31st 2012. We were upgraded to platinum which was a great surprise!! I was really nervous about my choice of resort because of the poor reviews regarding the staff and food, but everything turned out great!!

Pros:

- LOTS of food selection - decent food
- Lots and lots of pools (we didn't even go in any of them, haha)
- Staff was amazing and very accommodating
- Room was big and beautiful! Great tree top view
- LARGE and very clean property

Cons:

- NASTY room service food. Soooo terrible, the worst I've ever had.
- REALLY big property (15-20 min walk from one side to the other)
- Pools are really cold
- Making reservations for dinner. You cannot make more than 1 "dinner" reservation a day, so lunch was buffet every day, same for breakfast.
- The resort is much further north of the most popular excursions...so you tend to get picked up last and dropped off last.

All in all, great experience! I never liked the making the reservations for dinner. Especially for your first night, everything is typically booked so you end up having to order room service or going to the buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jinnakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
18.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
16.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,367 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the Hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll.Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon).A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing