We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars”
Review of Sur Steakhouse

Sur Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sur Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Calle 12 & 14
LEEDS UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“3 stars”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice place on central 5th avenue.
Cold Bohemia beer, good steak and menu choice.
Waiters were attentive and quick.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MANINAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    238
    103
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A yummy alternative.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Imagine 10 adults and 9 kids looking for a restaurant. How lucky were we to hit this spot. Overall a very good place to eat right in the middle to busy 5th Street in downtown Playa del Carmen. What was THE BOMB? All 10 adults voted my "inside skirt steak" to be the best item on the menu. Others had lobster, ribeye, flank steak etc. The inside skirt steak was so juicy, I'm salivating while I'm typing this. For the appetizer, we picked the grilled octopus as the best one there. Order those two and you are good to go. They have dessert too. Some of our kids just walked 20 steps and got some ice cream at Bed and Jerry's. We shopped a little while we waited for the food. Don't go eat upstairs. Too stinkin' hot up there. Very attentive waiters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBATustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good for Playa del Carmen”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As I do not like people going around me while I have dinner, I recommend the second floor of this restaurant where you see Fifth Avenue smoothly.
The service is nice and the meat is very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RITAFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner at Sur Steakhouse”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Sur Steakhouse in Playa on Friday, July 19th. My wife ordered grilled shrimp, and I ordered grilled salmon with a dill sauce. We each had grilled vegetables with our entrees, along with a glass of the house white wine, a Chilean chardonnay, as I recall. We were satisfied with the quality of the food and the service. Note that the restaurant is open air, so we were warm during dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our favorite waiter on 5th. ave now works there, Hector, ask for him. Both of our meals were outstanding. Hector had the kitchen make me a dish not on the menu, Shrimp diablo, very spicey and great. We were flying home the next day and we were given a dessert that said have a safe flight home. Very nice touch. My friend had chicken stuffed with goat chesse and it was outstanding. Oh, they are moving in August or Sept. down the street

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur Steakhouse also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sur Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing