We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms, Amazing Property, Fantastic Staff”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We spent six wonderful nights at the Rosewood Mayakoba this December and had the best vacation of our lives. The campus and service even beat Las Ventanas, the Rosewood property in Los Cabos, where we took our honeymoon a few years back.

We had a deluxe lagoon suite and although it was not on the ocean, it was incredibly beautiful and serene. The suites are top-of-the-line luxury. The private plunge pool overlooked the lagoon. Inside, there was a living and dining room, beautiful bedroom, changing area and plenty of closets, guest bathroom, enormous bathtub in the master bathroom, along with an indoor shower, a private outdoor shower, and roof deck. I particularly loved the outdoor shower and wish there was some way I could have one in my condo in NYC!

We were a short walk from the Spa and one of my favorite things was the 8:00 a.m. class. It was a FANTASTIC workout and a little different each day (arms, abs, yoga, etc.). The gym and sauna/steam room/showers were also great. I particularly loved the showers that had one side that was glass and looked into what is best described as a tropical courtyard (although 100% private).

We were also a short walk from the main dining room, central pool, tequila bar, game room, lobby and shops. The breakfast was included with our room and it was amazing -- a combination of a buffet and ordering off a menu (you could order as much as you want) -- and anything you could possibly want was there. Try the "green juice," which is so yummy. I miss it already. We also had some great dinners on the resort -- and of course a lot of appetizers and cocktails while at the pool.

The beach and beach pool was a short and fun ride on a golf cart. I thought I would be annoyed by having to get a ride to the beach, but it was so fast (the carts come by every few minutes) and it is fun and a good way to see the campus.

One of the best parts of going to Mayakoba was the service. Nothing short of fantastic! We had two main butler (Russell and Ale) and they were so personable and took great care of us. In fact, all the staff, from maintenance workers and ground staff to the managers, were so friendly and welcoming. We left completely spoiled.

We had dinner one night at the Mandarin next door and the Rosewood staff will drive you there and the Mandarin staff will drive you back. I thought the food was just okay, but it was worth it to check out the resort, which is very beautiful and grand. We also spent an evening in Playa del Carmen, which was a lot of fun. We had drinks at Mosquito Blue and then dinner at Yaxche, a Mayan restaurant.

Great days trips are to the Mayan ruins. Tulum is about 30-45 minutes from the resort and Chichen Itza is about 2.5 hours away. The resort has an arrangement with a rental car company and the car was dropped off for us. We did Tulum one day and Chichen Itza the next. It could not have been easier.

The Riviera Maya is a beautiful place to visit. It was an easy 3 hour flight from New York City to Cancun and then a short drive to the resort (they picked us up). Now is a great time to visit because people are not traveling to Mexico as much because of the Swine flu scare and the drug violence (that's in another part of Mexico and we felt 100% safe in the Riviera Maya, including walking around Playa del Carmen at night).

In short, this new resort has lived up to the Rosewood reputation and we'll definitely be going back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyctrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

2 NYer's were looking for the perfect hideaway for our honeymoon and we found it here. The key was getting a suite ON the beach. The whole place is beautiful but the rooms on the lagoon are facing just that - a man-made lagoon. The 2-tier suites that face the ocean and give you a panoramic view of the ocean - is okay. BUT - to hear the waves all night and to have a HEATED plunge pool AND to be about 10 STEPS from the ocean - you should stay ON the beach in a beach suite. You will not be disappointed. The help is great, like other reviewers said - they DO know your name after a few days. The room service was timely, and delicious. The restaurant had a wider menu and while fairly empty - was awesome. We had the best Thanksgiving meal ever there!
You get around the property by waiting a moment for a golf cart or calling for one to pick you up - and then you get scooted to the spa, restaurant or front for a taxi into town.
The rooms are beautiful. the grounds are as well.
Overall - there was nothing the least bit negative about this place. But remember - for the ultimate - stay ON the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymoonersNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

My husband and I took our 2 young children to the Rosewood Mayakoba for 6 nights over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The property is gorgeous!! The architecture & design are phenomenal! All of the suites are very spacious and well appointed. We stayed in the Oceanview Suite, which was perfect. It was very close to the beach, the pool, and the kid's club. The property, itself is simply stunning. However, the service is several notches below the One & Only Palmilla or a Four Seasons. The employees are unbelievably friendly, and know you by name - there simply are not enough of them. The service at the pool or the beach is non-existent. You have to hunt down a server to get a drink, fresh towel, or order food. As compared to the Palmilla, where the staff constantly anticipates your needs. At the Rosewood, you have to ask 3 to 4 times before they finally meet your request. Other guests at the hotel had the same complaint. It wasn't one big "screw up" per say, but several aggravating "dropped balls" per day.

If you are traveling w/ children, the Kid's Club is the BEST our kids have ever experienced. The staff are nurturing and wonderful. They had a pinata party one evening only for the kids, which was nice b/c my husband and I were able to go to the hotel's sushi bar.

The butler service was great, too. Our butler made bubble baths for our kids w/ balloons. My kids LOVED it.

I rarely write reviews on here, b/c we travel extensively, and most other Trip Advisor members have nailed it. However, in this case, I wanted to write b/c we absolutely loved the property and hope that the management can make the necessary changes to elevate the service to that of a spectacular 5 Star Hotel. The staff constantly talked about the hotel being "Number 1 in Mexico and 18th in the World". I think the staff needs to stay at the One & Only Palmilla to truly experience fantastic service so they can implement it at the Rosewood.

More than likely, we would stay here again, and give it another whirl b/c the property is that spectacular. Further, I've stayed at other Rosewood Resorts were the service was up to speed. I do hope the management can make the proper adjustments b/c this property is worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MizzWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

The service, staff & food was amazing. The rooms were fabulous. The only negative was the mosquitos that came out at 5pm each night. Bring bug spray, although the hotel has plenty on hand.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My daughter and I just returned from Mayakoba right before Thanksgiving. This is our 2nd year in a row of going and we hope to make it an annual trip. The resort is fantastic; everything about it is awesome. I just can't say enough.

Last year we were in room #300 and this year we were in #270 which is very close to last year's location. These are the cheaper priced rooms but are still terrific. Very large rooms with a wonderful deck and plunge pool, an outdoor and an indoor shower, and a huge circular bathing tub if you like baths.

We really enjoy going into Playa del Carmen for dinner but we did eat dinner 2 evenings in our room because we were tired from the day's activities. The food was great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful stay on the Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrkwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I went to Rosewood Mayakoba for a long weekend getaway with friends. We stayed in the lower priced room and it had a huge sunken tub, outside and inside shower, sundeck with plunge pool and a wonderful roof top lounge area. What really stood out was the hospitality and service- EVERY employee speaks or acknowledges you when you pass. Every room has it's own butler. You can even call ahead to have your tub filled. The food is wonderful and we loved trying something new every morning for breakfast. Great location on a lovely beach with a pool on the beach and one near the main building. We enjoyed the spa services and fitness facilties,as well. There were some children there, but it is more adult friendly. We would definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

In preparing for a visit to this resort, we read reviews posted on TripAdvisor. We noted that some others mentioned a mosquito problem at this resort. It is very true. The abundance of water at this resort (the lagoons surrounding the rooms and the main area of this resort) are the perfect breeding ground for a bumper crop of insects. Upon check-in, the staff supplied us with insect repellant cream, spray, and wrist bands. What does that tell you? Before I could use these products, I had been bitten.

We checked in mid-afternoon, and went to our suite, which was spacious and decorated in eco-modern style. After a short while, we heard what sounded like leaf blowers outside. It was by then dark outside, and I looked out to see several groundskeepers, with backpack sprayers, heavily spraying all areas with what was most likely insect repellant.

So the image this resort wishes to create, of being an eco property, is in reality an illusion, because you will be breathing in heavy doses of insect repellant, in order to not be chewed alive by mosquitoes. By the way, we were once at Disney World after closing, and after the guests had left the park, a small army of similar groundskeepers emerged, and in the same fashion, covered every inch of ground with insect repellant, so I guess this should be expected in tropical areas. It's just not usually seen by the guests.

The suite was luxurious, with a living room/dining area with mini bar, bedroom area with swiveling flat screen TV, dressing area with vanity, and spectacular bath with double sinks, huge sunken stone-mosaic tub, and a glass-walled shower with glass door leading to a spacious walled courtyard with an outdoor shower. There was also a curved staircase, leading to a roof-top level with large outdoor couch and a good view of the surrounding area. The back wall of the suite was completely glass and led to a large deck with dining set, lounges, plunge pool, and steps leading to a dock at the lagoon. Everything was immaculate. The air conditioning controls were accurate. The bedding was very comfortable.

The cuisine at the on-premises restaurants was very good to excellent. A few of the menu items were "trendy", and the combination of ingredients seemed incongruous. Portion sizes were more than adequate. Every staff person in all areas of the resort went "above and beyond" to see that we received excellent, pleasant service. There is no nightclub or lounge at this resort. There is a bar, so you can drink all night until you retire to your room.

Getting around at the resort is by foot (remember the insects), by staff-driven golf carts, which during our stay were frequent and abundant, or by small lagoon boat, which picks up guests at the individual docks belonging to each room.

The spa was excellent, complete with hot and cold plunge pools, sauna, stream rooms, and large outdoor pool with lounges. The treatments were luxurious. Treatment rooms are upscale mini-houses in the "jungle" -- again a very natural eco-setting.

There is a golf course at the resort. Those we travelled with did not seem to care for it, and on their second golf outing, chose to golf elsewhere. I am not sure why.

The closest town to the resort, Playa del Carmen, has many streets of restaurants, bars, and shops, with everything from cheap tourist junk to designer label clothes. It was not impressive to us. The purpose of a trip to this area would primarily be to stay at this or other resorts; there are a few cultural attractions (Sac-Be, Xel Ha, Xcaret) nearby, but not much else.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrewsterCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,660 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $819 - $2,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing