We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco resort? Maybe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brewster, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eco resort? Maybe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

In preparing for a visit to this resort, we read reviews posted on TripAdvisor. We noted that some others mentioned a mosquito problem at this resort. It is very true. The abundance of water at this resort (the lagoons surrounding the rooms and the main area of this resort) are the perfect breeding ground for a bumper crop of insects. Upon check-in, the staff supplied us with insect repellant cream, spray, and wrist bands. What does that tell you? Before I could use these products, I had been bitten.

We checked in mid-afternoon, and went to our suite, which was spacious and decorated in eco-modern style. After a short while, we heard what sounded like leaf blowers outside. It was by then dark outside, and I looked out to see several groundskeepers, with backpack sprayers, heavily spraying all areas with what was most likely insect repellant.

So the image this resort wishes to create, of being an eco property, is in reality an illusion, because you will be breathing in heavy doses of insect repellant, in order to not be chewed alive by mosquitoes. By the way, we were once at Disney World after closing, and after the guests had left the park, a small army of similar groundskeepers emerged, and in the same fashion, covered every inch of ground with insect repellant, so I guess this should be expected in tropical areas. It's just not usually seen by the guests.

The suite was luxurious, with a living room/dining area with mini bar, bedroom area with swiveling flat screen TV, dressing area with vanity, and spectacular bath with double sinks, huge sunken stone-mosaic tub, and a glass-walled shower with glass door leading to a spacious walled courtyard with an outdoor shower. There was also a curved staircase, leading to a roof-top level with large outdoor couch and a good view of the surrounding area. The back wall of the suite was completely glass and led to a large deck with dining set, lounges, plunge pool, and steps leading to a dock at the lagoon. Everything was immaculate. The air conditioning controls were accurate. The bedding was very comfortable.

The cuisine at the on-premises restaurants was very good to excellent. A few of the menu items were "trendy", and the combination of ingredients seemed incongruous. Portion sizes were more than adequate. Every staff person in all areas of the resort went "above and beyond" to see that we received excellent, pleasant service. There is no nightclub or lounge at this resort. There is a bar, so you can drink all night until you retire to your room.

Getting around at the resort is by foot (remember the insects), by staff-driven golf carts, which during our stay were frequent and abundant, or by small lagoon boat, which picks up guests at the individual docks belonging to each room.

The spa was excellent, complete with hot and cold plunge pools, sauna, stream rooms, and large outdoor pool with lounges. The treatments were luxurious. Treatment rooms are upscale mini-houses in the "jungle" -- again a very natural eco-setting.

There is a golf course at the resort. Those we travelled with did not seem to care for it, and on their second golf outing, chose to golf elsewhere. I am not sure why.

The closest town to the resort, Playa del Carmen, has many streets of restaurants, bars, and shops, with everything from cheap tourist junk to designer label clothes. It was not impressive to us. The purpose of a trip to this area would primarily be to stay at this or other resorts; there are a few cultural attractions (Sac-Be, Xel Ha, Xcaret) nearby, but not much else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrewsterCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
412
877
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

An absolutely lovely resort if you spend most of your time on the beach. We were so distracted by the overwhelming number of mosquitoes!! The resort is in the middle of a mangrove swamp. This produced an inordinate amount of mosquitoes especially after a rain. It's very difficult to remember the beautiful setting when you are fighting off mosquitoes with spray and lotions. The resort is very good about providing these products. The mosquitoes are my main criticism. If one can get beyond the misery of constantly itching, the resort is an exceptional place to relax and enjoy. The pool by the ocean is magnificent! The service and staff is exceptional, even for a five star resort!! The food is very mediocre...however, the ambience of all of the restaurants is quite nice. The setting is very romantic and the Sense Spa is not to be missed!! The Rosewood Mayakoba REALLY is a five star resort--but in the wrong place. We would love to visit again, if we were guaranteed "no mosquitoes"!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nytraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bokeeffe, Director of Marketing at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Rosewood Mayakoba. We are most pleased you liked your overall experience with our special resort.

As there were several comments from guests the same week we wanted address your concerns about mosquitoes. During the first several days of November the resort experienced abnormal and extreme rain events. This being the case the resort was not able to maintain it's typical pest control regimen.

In it's quest to maintain it's award winning sustainable development awards, The Mayakoba group of resorts retains a staff Biologist and team for preservation of the enviornment. The team has a consistant, safe, eco friendly mosquito control program in place that could not be maintained during this weather pattern.

We can assure you that this was truly an abberation to a typical guest experience written about so proudly many times over on this site. We look forward to having you back
and experience the resort in it's normal light and see why the readers of Travel & Leisure have voted the Rosewood Mayakoba as the #1 Resort in Mexico and #18 In the World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We just returned home from Mayakoba and all I can say is magical. From the natural beauty of Riviera Maya, to the attentiveness of the staff to the food to the weather...all is perfection. We were given a triple upgrade with proximity to the beach, beach pool and lagoons. My husband and I were celebrating our 10th and it was perfect. Everyone knew our names and the staff seemed to be on some type of happy pill, which i want. A few tips- request a room by the beach because the property is very spread out and it saves you time waiting for the golf cart or boat as the grounds really are not walkable. Make sure you eat at Saffron at Banyan Tree in Mayakoba (even though Rosewood blows the resort away ), the restaurant is a sight to see with top notch Thai food. Finally, visit the spa- it is truly special. If you have the opportunity to go into Playa, it is worth the trip. You only need two hours there and take the recommendations of the concierge for lunch or dinner, they are spot on. Also, don't pay attention to the violence rumors, they are just that. Enjoy, there is no better place to stay in Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lip125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

WOW!! This place is fantastic. The rooms, food, service and spa are the best I have ever experienced. Our last trip to Point Grace in Turks & Caicos does not compare service wise. Mexico has service with a smile that you will not find in the carribean. The hotel was full of honeymooners and couples. There were a few families, but not many. It is not set up for children. Every aspect of the place was top notch, from breakfast to cocktail hour to dinner. Town is a 15 min $20 cab ride away. Do not miss the great bars and restaurants in town. The beach isn't as great as Turks, but the other aspects of the hotel outweigh this. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl5418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Okay, if you're reading this review and have never been to the Rosewood Mayakoba...two words. GO NOW!! My wife and I knew from the moment we were picked up at the airport in Cancun that this vacation was going to be superb. Upon arrival we were upgraded 5x to a Lagoon Suite. I think for the first hour as our butler was showing us around we were speechless. Everyone at the hotel knew our names, and were ever so friendly. The food was good, not excellent. Although if you eat dinner at the resort go to Punta Bonita. Very nice. The breakfast is excellent also quite yummy. Between the beaches, wildlife, and friendly staff we had one of the most memorable vacations since our honeymoon. The spa (Sense) was very nice. So what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pax30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Rosewood Mayakoba in September 2009 for our 10th anniversary. The resort is very spread out and never felt crowded. Because the rooms are so spread out, you either have to do a lot of walking or wait for golf carts to drive you around. As an example, from our room to the spa was about an 15 minute walk.

The rooms are incredible - spacious, excellent quality of construction, HD television, fast wireless Internet, personal plunge pool, etc.

The food is a little inconsistent. Most of the food is good and a few items were outstanding. Some items like the steak were very average. We did a wine tasting one night that was $50 per person and the featured red was Sutter Home - this was an example of how in a few cases they tried to pull of an event that never made the leap from concept to execution.

The service is very good overall and the employees were very attentive. It could have been a little better in a few instances, but nothing serious enough to ever ruin my enjoyment of the resort. The spa is outstanding and an excellent golf course is nearby.

If you want to relax and unwind this is a great resort. If you want to do lots of activities and party then you might be disappointed.

We went with another couple - at the end we weren't ready to leave and felt incredibly refreshed from our 7 day vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

This was the best Mexican or island vacation my husband and I have evern been to! The last vacation has been to Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman half a year ago. This is a different kind of place all together. It is extremely pricey, even at the off season rates. But it's worth every penny!

Transfer:

Some of the reviews on Trip Advisor mentioned private car pickup with drinks and cool towels; I still don't know if we had to order it separately through the travel agent. Our package included "American Express" transfer which was OK (van with another couple). Had I not had the expectations of the private driver, it would have been fine. The drive from the airport is short (around 30-35 minutes).

Hotel:

This is an ecologically friendly place built in 2008. I would classify it as "understated elegance", not too over the board (like Mandarin Oriental that we ate at once). The finishes are extremely high end, very tasteful, not tacky, just perfect. This is a larger resort, but with a boutique hotel service. Almost all the staff learn your name and address you as such. Each suite has their own butler who is extremely accomodating. There was a bottle of Don Julio Tequila waiting for us upon arrival. There is a fruit basket that they refill every day and upon request get you fruits that you like (we requested mangos, peaches, etc.). Cleaning service was never late and started cleaning as soon as we would leave for breakfast. Turn down was also very good, never missed any service or made any mistakes. They would make sure that you are not in the room and check with butler to make sure it's convenient to get service.

Rooms:

We originally booked a "lagoon suite" with the offer to be upgraded upon arrival. They upgraded us to a highest level "lagoon" suite (with in suite spa treatment room), but not water front. To get to the beach, it's like a 5 minute golf cart ride from the lagoon. The suite that was originally offered to us was a huge duplex, leading directly to a spa with a private spa treatment room (in suite). Again, we just wanted to be waterfront, otherwise this suite was great. We upgraded ourselves to a beachfront suite, which was to die for! We did have to pay an additional fee, but never regretted it.

Food:

There are two restaurants at the hotel: main restaurant where they serve breakfast in AM and mexican beach front place. Now, when we were there they would open them on alternating schedule, but I would imagine that during high season both of them should be open at night. Also, I don't know if the mexican place also serves breakfast during high season.

The food at both places was EXCEPTIONAL!!! We are from NYC, eat out all the time, have several Zagats in every bag. They really know what they are doing. We were told they chef is from Spain, so it's like taking a vacation to Europe. Again, every time we travel to Europe, the food is so different than here. That's what is felt like. The breakfast is not your traditional "all inclusive" buffet. You order main dish off the menu, but fruits, cold cuts, cereals, etc. you get at the buffet. They offer excellent service, pour your freshly squeezed orange, grapefruit, etc. juices, tea, coffee, etc. Overall, I loved it.

For lunch you have an option of the mexican place, I'm not sure if the main restaurant offers lunch also (we don't eat lunch).

For dinner, we didn't need to reserve a spot, but always called ahead for them to anticipate.

Room service serves food similar in menu to Mexican place. Service was impeccable to say the least! Just top service all the way.

In room romantic dinner my husband ordered for us: the set up was amazing, candles everywhere, 3-4 people serving you, the most romantic beach setting, etc. It's extremely expesive, the food was good, but not exceptional like at the restaurants (don't know why, maybe my menu pick wasn't the best).

Beach:

Excellent condition; right in front of the suite, the bottom wasn't ideal. If you walk to the side, it's just perfect, shallow, clear water. We swam at both locations as well as your own plunge pool overlooking the beach.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. There are kids there, but were all very well behaved. This is a very quite place with night life; perfect for romantic getaway and vacations with kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RenaRena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,633 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,336 reviews
10.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing