We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We want to go back....”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We want to go back....”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This fabulous resort in near Cancun is part of a complex of 4 new hotels called Mayakoba. The rooms can be reached by ferry on the lagoon (shared by all hotels) or by golf cart. Our room came with a personal butler who explained all the amenities that came with our room.
The bathroom had a huge tub and a circular shower but couples also have the option to bathe in the outdoor shower in the back. The room also came with a Nespresso machine, which was a welcome treat after the watered down versions we had in Mexico City.
The resort had 3 restaurants, including a Japanese sushi bar serving pairings of mescal and sushi. We opted to eat at the restaurant near the beach, which served delicious Mexican fare. In the evening we feasted on a wide variety of tacos while being serenaded by some local musicians. The main restaurant serves International fare as well as breakfast. It was the best breakfast spread we had on the trip, with a large selection of cold cuts, cheeses and pastries (must try: citrus glazed cronuts) and made- to-order dishes like lobster omelette and huevos rancheros.

The beach is a stretch of white sand but the strong waves and rocky bottom did not really encourage swimming. We moved to the pool which is heated with bubbling water and covered cabanas for lounging. My daughter loved that the hotel has a cart of snow cones with a variety of sweet syrups like vanilla, coconut and pineapple.

It was a shame that we were there just for 1 night. We would love to come back just to enjoy this hotel for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
419
887
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Slope, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rosewood Mayakoba is undoubtedly the nicest vacation resort our family has visited. We surprised our two children with this 6 night trip to celebrate a year of their hard work in school and all four of us believe this was the best, most peaceful, luxurious experience we have had.

Once you arrive you know you are in for something special. Check-in is quick, informative and courteous and then they transport you to your suite in a electric boat. Our lagoon suite was near the main lobby and pool but they take you the long way (just a few minutes) and by the time you get there you are completely relaxed and at home. Our butler, Nathan, met us at the room and helped to answer any questions we had. He was amazing our entire stay, just checking on us and making sure we had what we needed our that we were enjoying our relaxing time. He arranged for a private boat tour of the extensive lagoon system which really is a great hour event for the family. He even tried to apologize for the one brief spell of rain we had and offered to have popcorn sent to the room.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. Great outdoor shower, spacious tub that both my children enjoyed bubble baths in (arranged by the staff). Relaxing plunge pool overlooking the lagoon with bird calls that are straight out of one of those sounds of nature cds.

The beach is very nice and you can enjoy the ocean (agree that if you bring water shoes its easier as they have had some recent erosion that has uncovered some rocks). Our family spent hours in the ocean and then also spent time in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean.

The restaurants were all terrific. Casa del Lago was our favorite for dinner. Mexican night at the beach was great and the sushi restaurant was very good as well.

What sets the resort apart is the service. I believe you can find great beaches, nice properties and good food at many places around the world. We have. But we've never found a vacation spot that combines each of those with a level of service that just hits the target with every single interaction, And we're an easy family as all we wanted to do was relax and sit at the beach or in our plunge pool, visit the spa/gym a few times and eat our meals. But every single person we interacted with made our vacation the best one possible. They made us feel welcome and extremely comfortable. Thank you to the entire staff for making this trip such a great experience for our family. We will be back and we will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Rosewood. I cannot say enough great things about the staff, service, food and our overall experience at this resort. The car service/driver was waiting right outside the airport - had cold towels and bottled water waiting. Short drive to the resort and there was not a single disappointing moment during the entire stay. Easy check in and lovely boat/eco tour on our way to the room. We stayed in a Beachfront Studio Suite and it was gorgeous. Reserved bikes and rode all around the beautiful property. Ate at all of the restaurants - food was delicious. Had a blast on the golf cart rides - never had to wait more than a few minutes for one to go by our room. Johana (our butler) was so thoughtful and helped us with various reservations, recommendations and whatever things we needed during our stay. I absolutely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic escape!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are directly on the beach and are a short walk to the beachfront restaurant/bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleyM968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Truly amazing resort. My gf & I had the most relaxing 6 nights after a long year of working too hard - well worth it. It's expensive but worth it in my books - the rooms are incredible, the privacy is appreciated, the staff is extremely pleasant/awesome, and I could go on forever so I'll stop there. We stayed in the deluxe overwater lagoon suite and we decided we loved it way more than we would have the oceanfront suite. It's a really unique room, every beach resort has beach front rooms - never do you get a beautiful room overlooking a lagoon that is 5 minutes away from an awesome beach. Food was excellent as well, really enjoyed Agaze Avul (sushi/thai). Also, only 15 mins away from Playa Del Carmen and 45 minutes from Tulum. I'm sure I'll find my way back there again in the near future.

Biggest tip I have is that the beach is rocky, bring water shoes and you'll be generally unaffected by them. The rocks may have been part of the reason why no one was typically in the water - seemed like we were enjoying it all by ourselves!

Room Tip: Love the overwater lagoon suite - we thought about switching to an ocean front and decided we just l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fehzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my second time at this hotel. We have came back and it is excellent as my first visit. The staff is very nice, the room is big and everything is clean and good. All restaurants served great food. I'm sure we are coming back, my family and I loved it....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ACJI97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sextons Creek, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I had one of the most amazing trips at the Rosewood. The location is beautiful, accommodations are amazing and the staff is wonderful. All and all we couldn't have asked for a better anniversary gift. We want to thank our truly wonderful kids for sending us on this once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WIlliam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This resort is a giant step up in service and catering than almost any other resort I've stayed. The staff here "get it" and will always go above and beyond to make your stay the best anywhere. The ambiance of this property is very exclusive but without being stuck-up or snotty. The loaner beach cruiser bicycles were one of the highlights for me, I loved riding in the fresh breeze to the restaurants and spa. The rooms are unbelievable! They are practically homes and each features a private plunge pool which is so refreshing. The pools were luxurious and the restaurants had good food. The breakfast buffet was the best food, in my opinion. It was European style complete with fresh cheeses and fruits but full American style breakfast could also be ordered. The beach at this property is not the best I've seen but I hardly noticed with all the other wonderful perks of this property. This is in the jungle so don't forget bug spray. There were a few families that checked in toward the end of our stay which I found a little odd because I think children would be bored out of their minds at this property. I think it is more appropriate for couples or perhaps a girls' spa getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,723 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,579 reviews
10.9 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing